5/27 Jenks PMPS 309 +7 68 +9 46 +9.5 50 +10 53 +11 56

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 5/27 Jenks AMPS 191 +7 287

I think you're doing fine in the dosing. More blues are looking good.
 
Re: 5/27 Jenks AMPS 191 +7 287 PMPS 309 +7 68

Jenks is becoming the king of surprises. For tonight's show, he gives us a 68 (double checked) after a 309 PMPS reading. Don't get me wrong, green numbers are excellent news. There's just no warning with this cat. Last night at the same time he was nearly 300. I'm just so confused at the wild variability that he exhibits sometimes.
 
Re: 5/27 Jenks AMPS 191 +7 287 PMPS 309 +7 68

Hello Mr. Jenks and his caregiver,

Looks like Jenks likes to keep you on your toes - beautiful nadir yesterday evening if that was his lowest point. Too bad it's so challenging to get BG tests with Jenks but at least he's letting you get several through the day. I'm grateful, in some respects, that it's Pixie who developed diabetes and not Pepe - it would have been a nightmare trying to get tests and giving him meds. Thank-you Lord for small mercies.

I got your message and many, many thanks for your thoughtful and kind words - your message lifted my spirits yesterday evening.

Have a great day and continue to dip your toes in the lagoon, Jenks. I'll be watching for you :-D . Anne
 
Re: 5/27 Jenks AMPS 191 +7 287 PMPS 309 +7 68 +9 46

Good grief, down to 46. Guess he'll be getting a 0.25U reduction on this morning's dose.

Do I need to start steering this number with some HC? He ate Turkey & Gibs 2 hours ago. I'm not detecting any food bump at all.
 
Re: 5/27 Jenks AMPS 191 +7 287 PMPS 309 +7 68 +9 46

+9.5 50

Haven't intervened with food yet.
 
Re: 5/27 Jenks AMPS 191 +7 287 PMPS 309 +7 68 +9 46

Typically you'd want to "feed the forties". Since he's just hovering at that 50 number, I'd give him a tsp or two of LC food and see if he'll just keep surfing without dropping. I'm not sure you need HC at this point since it's so late in his cycle, unless he drops below 50 again.
 
Re: 5/27 Jenks AMPS 191 +7 287 PMPS 309 +7 68 +9 46 +9.5 50

Thanks Nikki! "Feed the Forties" is an excellent mnemonic device. I'll check him again shortly. My guess is that he should be on his way up from here. I expect an ugly daytime bounce from this. And I still have to conference with other human on the pre-shot possibilities.
 
Re: 5/27 Jenks AMPS 191 +7 287 PMPS 309 +7 68 +9 46 +9.5 50

I wish I'd come up with it, but I can't take the credit. :-D You may want to take a look at the sticky for Shooting and Handling Low Numbers when you talk to Jenk's other human. I'm at work, so I can only be on the board sporadically but there is good info there on bringing numbers up (should Jenks go below 50 again) and also on what to do if the need to stall his shot arises.

Hopefully one of the more experienced folks will be on shortly if you need help. Great catch on that 46! Congrats on the reduction.
 
Re: 5/27 Jenks AMPS 191 +7 287 PMPS 309 +7 68 +9 46 +9.5 50

+10 53

Still hovering just above 50.
 
Re: 5/27 Jenks PMPS 309 +7 68 +9 46 +9.5 50 +10 53

Looking good! Will someone be around to monitor today? It would be great if you can take advantage of the low pre-shot, if he hasn't jumped up by shot time.
 
Re: 5/27 Jenks PMPS 309 +7 68 +9 46 +9.5 50 +10 53

53 is basically the same number.... because of meter variance.....

The surfing is good.......
usually you try not to feed the two hours before shot time....
I'd give the tablespoon of food now..... so there can be a time gap before shot time.....
 
Re: 5/27 Jenks PMPS 309 +7 68 +9 46 +9.5 50 +10 53

Yes, other human is able to monitor him all day. I may have to stick around until AMPS unless he starts zooming here shortly, though we did successfully shoot a 62 on 5/6. So we're not far off from that mark.
 
Re: 5/27 Jenks PMPS 309 +7 68 +9 46 +9.5 50 +10 53

Jenks, how about coming up just a few digits and then surfing there?

Jenks sure is riding the "safe" line.

You are doing a great job with tests and nice catch on that 46! Congrats on reduction!
 
Re: 5/27 Jenks PMPS 309 +7 68 +9 46 +9.5 50 +10 53

Wow, beautiful work surfing those numbers - I guess the 46 automatically qualifies Jenk for a reduction. :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: Keep it up, Jenks!
 
+11 56

Staying pretty flat. Also making me nervous for AMPS time if he's not rising noticeably.
 
You pretty much have 3 options:

Stall - if your schedule allows, you can wait without feeding to see if he starts rising
Skip
Shoot full dose - if you feel comfortable that he's being monitored and you have HC food and enough testing supplies
Shoot reduced dose - give maybe half his normal dose although this doesn't guarantee he won't have an active cycle

If you stall you can follow the following from the sticky:

Some general rules when stalling (ECID):

** 50s or higher – don’t feed. The number will bump up on its own soon due to the insulin wearing off.
** 40s or lower – you have a couple of choices.

When 40’s occur at the end of the cycle, it can be beneficial to withhold food and test in 15-20 minutes to determine if kitty is on the rise or hasn’t reached nadir yet.
If they are hanging in the 40s for a while, or if they are still dropping, it is ok to feed a tsp or two of LC and retest. This is very tricky. You want to avoid feeding too much while you’re waiting for them to go over 50, because you don’t want to artificially inflate the number with food.
--- Example: if kitty is 43 and you feed a whole meal, or feed some HC, and the number bumps up to 52, is that the cat’s natural end-of-cycle rise, or is it food spike? What if it is food spike? Then if you shoot the 52, when the food wears off he might drop back to the 40’s (and when insulin kicks in a couple of hours later, you might have a problem). If the 52 is the cat’s natural rise, then he will probably keep rising for the next few hours until insulin kicks in. If you can’t tell whether the number is food spike or natural rise, it’s safest to wait. Your data will help you here. Study the spreadsheet. How much food spike does the cat usually get? How many hours after the shot does the insulin’s onset usually occur in this cat? At what number is the cat likely to be when onset occurs? If the cat does drop, how easy/hard is it to regain control of the numbers? How carb sensitive is he?

** Test often (every 15-20 minutes, or at most every 30 minutes). You want to catch the rise the minute it starts. With most of our cats, once they start to rise they will really zoom. You want to get the insulin in as soon as possible, because it will be another 2-3 hours before the insulin kicks in and you don’t want to let the cycle get too far ahead of you.

If you shoot, even a reduced dose, I'd recommend getting at +1 and +2.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top