6/5 Lucy PMPS=216;+2.5=173

Status
Not open for further replies.

mariko

Member Since 2011
Good morning,

Yesterday's condo

Yesterday
AMPS=209 (0.75u); +2=248; +8.5=203
PMPS=279 (0.75u); +2=247; +4.5=196; +6=200; +8.5=202; +10.5=175

Today
AMPS=151 (0.75u); +2=139; +3=130; +8.5=148; +10.75=200
PMPS=216 (0.75u); +1.5=200; +2.5=173

So, I didn't get my yesterday's question answered, but that's fine.
Maybe I was asking unreasonable questions.
If anyone can tell me, I thought here is my best shot.
The vet may know the feline physiology, but I bet you know way more about FD.
Anyway, I am going to assume that ANYTHING is possible unless proven otherwise.

Last night's & this morning's blues could be because she didn't eat the full meal yesterday.
I lost track of how much she really ate because I was trying different flavors, but I think she ate a little more than half.
She's eating better this morning, so we'll see how today's cycles go.

Sending vines to all in need.
 
Re: 6/5 Lucy AMPS=151

Great way to start the day. The lower numbers may or may not be due to less food. Max ate less yesterday and still shot up sky high for him. As you say, anything is possible. These cats keep us on our toes. Whatever the cause I hope this becomes a trend, blue leading to some green.
 
Re: 6/5 Lucy AMPS=151

Hi Mariko-

I would not only use the question mark icon, but also post the general idea of your question in your subject line - that might get your question more attention.

I'm glad she's eating better today!
 
Re: 6/5 Lucy AMPS=151

Hi guys .. fingers crossed this blue is just a start of surfing today! I hope you do get your questions answered soon .. have a great day!
 
Re: 6/5 Lucy AMPS=151;+2=139

She ate the 1st and 2nd breakfast fine, but doesn't want the 3rd.
I'll stay another hour to make sure she doesn't keep falling.
 
Re: 6/5 Lucy AMPS=151;+2=139;+3=130

Nice to see her numbers coming down today! I read back through your condos. It seems she's been feeling a little better since starting the Azodyl but she also might be feeling better in general now that her infection/inflammation is resolved.

Is it even theoretically possible that her liver is now constantly releasing the stored glucose in order to protect her from hypo, even without dropping low?
Is it possible she has some weird condition like that?
Or is it possible that she's dropping sharply somewhere and bouncing back so quickly that I'm just not catching it?

I like to be an "out-of-the-box" thinker like you. But I don't think that this is what is happening with Lucy. Unfortunately, for some reason, I can't get her SS open and I've tried several times. My guess is that it is a google issue. I will try to get back on later and look at her SS and see what you are looking at. I don't know that I will have any suggestions but I'll give it a try. BBL :-D

You know I'm not a big fan of rebound checks because you can lose a lot of ground. When we are raising and lowering in such small amounts, it's hard to believe you could have overdosed her and would need to do a rebound check. I know you need to do it for your peace of mind and I understand. I've done the same thing a couple times but I don't anymore because I've found I get better results by increasing the dose because we, like you, test a lot and I know low numbers were not missed.
 
Re: 6/5 Lucy AMPS=151;+2=139;+3=130

Very nice blue surf today! :-D :-D That's what we like to see, Lucy. And eat yer fuds.
Liz
 
Re: 6/5 Lucy AMPS=151;+2=139;+3=130

Thank you everyone for checking in on Lucy.

Marje:
Thank you for taking your time to look back at my questions. :smile:
When we are raising and lowering in such small amounts, it's hard to believe you could have overdosed her and would need to do a rebound check.
What I am trying to say is, overdose NOT because of my dosing... but because of changes in Lucy's condition.
Like the opposite effect of how bad teeth or infection raises BG.
She got her dental done and infection/inflammation treated in a relatively short amount of time.
Maybe what I was shooting suddenly became too much, even without a dosecrease.

ETA: And again, my question was ... if such a thing I described could occur, if it's at all even possible.
Should I completely delete it from my list of things that might be happening, or can I still leave it as an unlikely possibility at the end of the list?

I've found I get better results by increasing the dose because we, like you, test a lot and I know low numbers were not missed.
This is related to my 2nd question. I've always wondered about this, not only this time.
If a cat can drop really sharply, and come back up also really sharply, for example in a matter of 30 minutes or even an hour, I could easily miss a low number.
The past couple of weeks, I've mostly only tested 3 times each cycle, just assuming she's just flat yellow.
If it takes 4 hours, for example, for a cat to bounce from a low, then I would have seen it, but if a quick drop then back up within an hour or two is possible, then I could have easily missed a low.....
I don't test nearly as much as you do unless she's already low.
What would you say a minimum amount of time that a cat needs to come back up from a low without carbs, if they come back up on their own.
In other words, how long would it take minimum for a liver to react? These are the same question, aren't they? I'm not even sure.
It's probably a ECID thing, but can they even pull this act in 30 minutes?

Also, her BGs up & down are NOT in sync with her mood's up & down.
For example, she's not been feeling too good since yesterday, but her numbers are much better.

So I really don't know what's what.
But maybe reducing was a good idea.
I do agree that rebound checks lose too much time and could cause a huge setback, but it seems to be working for Lucy.... because Lucy is weird.

Thank you, Marje, for taking a look at this.
I hope you can open her SS, if you get a chance to try again later.
 
Re: 6/5 Lucy AMPS=151;+2=139;+3=130

It took a long time, but your ss did finally load for me. I have been having more problems with Google docs lately, too :sad: I'll type a bunch of stuff in the comments or add a bunch of numbers and minutes later it will display an uncopiable message that there was an error and I guess you just have to memorize what you wrote and re-do it all.

Her numbers are looking pretty good today.
 
Re: 6/5 Lucy AMPS=151;+2=139;+3=130;+8.5=148

Lucy's numbers look nice today. I hope she's feeling better this evening.
 
Re: 6/5 Lucy AMPS=151;+2=139;+3=130;+8.5=148

Finally got the SS open. Wow...it took a very long time. I just finally opened it, left it open, and came back much later and it had come up.

Sorry to have misunderstood what you said. So, now if I have this correct, you think the dose might be too high because her infection/inflammation is resolved.

Her SS just doesn't look to me like she's getting into low numbers fast and coming back up fast. Look, for example, at the a.m. cycle on 6/3. She came up at +2 to 270, then down again late in the cycle, and even lower at PMPS. So i don't think she came down further into green and then popped back up. Lucy rarely has cycles where she comes down and goes right back up again. I had to go back to Feb to a cycle where she did that. It just doesn't seem to be her habit. Some cats can come down and go back up fast. It is ECID. And even cats that normally don't do it, might do it occasionally. But I'm just not seeing it recently in Lucy's cycles.

She's had quite a bit of yellow (more than we are used to her seeing) since March and the only real difference I"m seeing in her numbers from the f0.75u to the 1u was the yellow AMPS where they had been blue. But even those yellow AMPS are in meter variance from most of the blue ones (e.g. 239 on 5/28 and 189 on 5/29 are pretty close to meter variance from each other).

I'm not sure the Azodyl or the Viralys is responsible for the numbers but it is coincidental that she's coming down today with no Viralyis in the mix. But if your hypothesis is correct about the liver still releasing extra glucose for whatever reason or because she was overdose once the infection/inflammation resolved, then that would also make sense why you are seeing some blue after reducing the dose.

I'd give her a few more cycles at 0.75u and see if she stays in blue. I'd change only one thing at a time so if you decide to restart the Viralys, don't do it at the same time as a dose change. Let's see if all other things are the same, what does the Viralys do to her numbers? I'm not sure if anyone would have the answer so it might take a bit of sleuthing.
 
Re: 6/5 Lucy PMPS=216

Thank you so very much, Marje.
I really appreciate your input.

Sadly, Lucy is back in yellow. :YMSIGH:
I am disappointed, but not discouraged.
She could be bouncing from the blue... She hadn't been in blue for a while.

Her appy this evening is still poor.
I don't think she's feeling sick.
Just before the dinner, she was meowing for attention, and jumping on the chair and sitting on the windowsill and meowing at me again.
I was doing a "no chicken" experiment to see if her tummy gets better, just because many cats seem to be allergic to chicken as well as beef.
But she wasn't at all interested in Wellness Turkey or Turkey&Salmon, so I had to open a can of Chicken.
She ate that better.
 
Really nice numbers for Lucy today. :-D

Mariko, I know you're stressed about whether or not she's getting the right dose, but the fact that she is hitting some blue numbers should be encouraging. She hasn't had blue in a week before last night.

I'm sorry she's not feeling well, but I'm glad she ate the chicken.

Sending good appy vines to Lucy and calming vines for the bean. :YMHUG:
 
I forgot to mention one thing. Gracie had been on clavamox for her bile duct infection. When I took her off of it, she started doing these crazy dives and the lunching back up but not getting really low. So we lowered her dose because we thought as the infection had cleared, her dose was too much. Nope....she went right up into yellow and we had to take her dose back up twice.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top