6/10 - Oliver - AM BG dropping. Skipped shot.

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 6/10 - Oliver. +11 - 173, AMPS - 157 , + 20 min -148

I'm not sure what to do. I have delayed 20 minutes since his AMPS and his BG continues to drop. I am afraid to shoot since he is below 150. But he has been doing so well, I hate to miss a shot. Why is he dropping like this? Can I delay his shot by as much as an hour?
 
Re: 6/10 - Oliver. +11 - 173, AMPS - 157 , + 20 min -148

Don't panic....I just got here and will check out your ss to see if I can give you any advice.
 
Re: 6/10 - Oliver. +11 - 173, AMPS - 157 , + 20 min -148

Wish I could give advice but I'm new to this as well. I know exactly how you feel though because I was there just the other day. I can tell you I was told not to shoot if under 200, for now. I try to rember the motto "better too high for a day than too low for a moment". Hang in there! You are doing everything right. Someone with more experience will be with you soon.
Julie
 
Re: 6/10 - Oliver. +11 - 173, AMPS - 157 , + 20 min -148

Looks like you shot the .5. Just keep an eye on him and test to make sure he is ok. I think you should be good!
 
Re: 6/10 - Oliver. +11 - 173, AMPS - 157 , + 20 min -148

I didn't shoot him. At least, not yet. I am afraid to shoot below 150. Especially when his BG is dropping. He has eaten twice since 6 AM.
 
Re: 6/10 - Oliver. +11 - 173, AMPS - 157 , + 20 min -148

ok. How long after shot time are you and what are his numbers now?
 
Re: 6/10 - Oliver. +11 - 173, AMPS - 157 , + 20 min -148

I am 45 minutes past shot time. Will test him again now.
 
Re: 6/10 - Oliver. +11 - 173, AMPS - 157 , + 20 min -148

Mostly. But my sister is coming at 10 AM to take me to lunch for my birthday. Would probably miss +2 and +3. Is a one hour delay too long?
 
Re: 6/10 - Oliver. +11 - 173, AMPS - 157 , + 20 min -148

I just tested again and it was 138. I guess I am going to have to skip this morning. Thanks for your help.
 
Re: 6/10 - Oliver. +11 - 173, AMPS - 157 , + 20 min -148

You have to do what you feel comfortable with! Enjoy your lunch!
 
Re: 6/10 - Oliver. +11 - 173, AMPS - 157 , + 20 min -148

As a general question, is a one hour delay in giving a shot too long? (For future reference.)

BTW, I am a real sissy when it comes to shooting when the BG is low. I don't yet have enough confidence that I can handle a crash.

And I certainly wouldn't have enjoyed lunch. In fact, I probably would have had to cancel.
 
Re: 6/10 - Oliver. AMPS 148 and dropping. Skipped shot.

No, one hour isn't to long. I have adjusted Spot's shot times between one hour before and one hour after his times on occasion.
 
Re: 6/10 - Oliver. AMPS 148 and dropping. Skipped shot.

When you delay a shot, the main thing to keep in mind is the NEXT shot, because it will have to be 12 hours from when you actually do shoot. So, if your schedule can handle that, then delaying is no biggie, although I think most folks don't delay any more than 2 hours.

When you do delay, but want to get back to your regular shot schedule, you can slowly adjust your shot time back. Personally, I usually use half hour increments - I'll shoot half an hour early each day (not each shot).

FWIW, I think you would have been fine shooting .50U this morning, but you have to be comfortable, especially since you're going out for lunch. I do think you want to get into the habit of not skipping, 'cause Oliver is responding REALLY well to insulin, but skipping does confuse his liver and pancreas a bit.

Enjoy your lunch!
 
Re: 6/10 - Oliver. AMPS 148 and dropping. Skipped shot.

Since I skipped Oliver's shot this morning, can I give it earlier tonight? This would work out better for me. I have appointments for my other cat at the kitty cardiologist and the oncologist on Thurdsday. If I move up Oliver's schedule, I will be able to get a +1 reading before I leave on Thursday.

Oliver's BG was under 200 all day until the last reading at +10. Went up to 201.
 
I didn't get an answer from anyone, so I shot one hour early. I'll shoot again tomorrow at the 12 hour mark, so he will be on an earlier schedule going forward.
 
Sorry you didn't get an answer to your question, but you did good.
What you did is perfect. :-D
Good idea to move up the schedule for your vet appointment of Thursday!

When you skip a shot, you can give the next shot whenever works best for you, and go 12th hr/12th hr from there.
 
You must've hit the board during one if its quiet moments....I'm sorry you didn't get an answer, too, but as Mariko said, what you did was perfectly fine! Sometimes skipping one shot is the easiest way to get back on schedule if you somehow end up far off schedule.

Have a great evening, guys!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top