06/12 J.D. PMPS 433, +2 417, +3 295 yellow :)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dyana

Member Since 2009
Yesterday's Condo

Last Night:
HI PMPS (TOR)
HI +1
463 +2.25
363 +3.5
316 +5
530 +8.25 (TOR)

I over slept. I was sleeping on the couch so I could more easily wake up to my cell phone alarm. I set the next alarm for +10.5 as I was on the board at +9.75 so was going to get 45 minutes of sleep. J.D. woke me up by jumping on me at +13, so his shot was late. He ate his 1st Breffis of LC!!! and CPC!!!

My ~O) just finished brewing.
smiley-sleep017.gif
 
Re: 06/12 J.D. AMPS HI

Glad he ate this morning Dyana!! Sending hugs & healing vines to J.D. and hugs to you and Ginger too! :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 06/12 J.D. AMPS HI

Great that he ate so well this morning. Oh I hate over sleeping. It always throws me off for the rest of the day. Have a great day Dyana!
 
Re: 06/12 J.D. AMPS HI

I am glad that J.D. is feeling well and eating better. I sure that helps you relax a little.
 
Re: 06/12 J.D. AMPS HI, +2 HI, +3.75 546, +4.5 410

Good job on the CPC, J.D.!!!! Sorry you overslept this morning, but how sweet that J.D. helped you wake up!!! :lol: Cute boy! Hope he keeps sliding down today. No drama necessary, though! Have a good day, Dyana.
 
Re: 06/12 J.D. AMPS HI, +2 HI, +3.75 546, +4.5 410

They want me to come to work tomorrow :(
I told them, that if J.D. is feeling okay and eating okay, that I will come in and bring him with me.

J.D.'s vet said that he probably doesn't need more fluids because he is getting moisture from his canned food.
I think I remember him saying that I could try to take him off the cypro to see how he does... Not.
He said to try to hold off on the syringe feeding as long as he is eating. That will work, as long as he keeps eating. He doesn't normally eat a lot at work, and he may be going to work with me tomorrow, Saturday, and definitely on Sunday.
He said that because he is eating now that that may be why his BGs are so much higher. I tried to say that I was syringe feeding to make sure he gets enough food. I tried to say that he was eating mostly a higher carb (MC) food and he said something like that shouldn't matter. He seemed reluctant for me to give him pain meds. when I saw him on Tuesday and said that the old little bit of bupe I still had from last September would be fine. He said today that he doesn't seem to be in full on pancreatitis. I don't think this vet (not our regular) thinks pancreatitis is painful. I tried to explain this to him.
He asked me what dose of R I was giving "1 unit?", no "one drop" and I explained to him how I achieved one drop.
He said maybe I could raise his regular (Levemir) dose to 1 unit in the mornings and 0.75 in the evenings when he probably doesn't eat as much. I tried to say something about it being a depot insulin, but I think he didn't understand.

I'm just bummed that I have to go to work tomorrow now. Maybe, I can just go for a few hours... I doubt it.
I was going to go to work on Saturday to catch up anyway, and I have to work on Sunday as that is my schedule day.
Tonight I have a H.O.A. meeting (lots of chaos going on there), and I will be away for a couple hours right after PMPS which I will have to give early (at +11) in order to get there (all because I over slept this morning).

I should probably take a nap, now, while I can. I didn't get much sleep last night.
 
Re: 06/12 J.D. AMPS HI, +2 HI, +3.75 546, +4.5 410, +5.5 365

Thank you everyone for the vines :YMHUG: . Please continue them :-|

I'm sorry, I haven't visited many condos lately. My focus is mostly just on J.D.

He ate a couple bites of LC (FF Chunky Turkey) at +5.5.

I am still just beginning to enjoy being happy about him eating. I am thanking God for that. The vet telling me to back off on the "forced" (as he called it) feeding, just goes against my thoughts that not enough food and not enough insulin and not enough fluids and possible infection and/or stress causes ketones. He didn't seem to acknowledge me when I tried to explain that.

I'm off to try to sleep.
 
Re: 06/12 J.D. AMPS HI, +2 HI, +3.75 546, +4.5 410, +5.5 365

I think you have to go with your instinct here...it doesn't sound like the vet is all that up to date and/or in tune with pancreatitis or FD.

Since I started syringe feeding Trix last weekend, she started eating MORE on her own, not less. It's like it jump started her memory for eating and that having a full belly feels good. I think part of what was going on with her was the vicious cycle of not feeling well from not eating enough, and then she didn't want to eat because she didn't feel well. If you think J.D. needs more calories, then I would continue assist feeding...you don't want him to get caught in that cycle that Trix was in.

I'm sure Princeton is a bit of a haul for you, but if you want to see our vet, who is incredibly fabulous, (she is up to date, listens to concerns, works with us, spends countless hours in our appointments AND on the phone with me) PM me and I'll give you her info. I honestly cannot say enough good things about her.

I hope you can stay home to be with J.D. tomorrow....

Prayers continue!
 
Re: 06/12 J.D. AMPS HI, +2 HI, +3.75 546, +4.5 410, +5.5 365

Thanks Amy. J.D.'s regular vet was not available on such short notice on Tuesday, so we saw a different vet.
One thing he did say when I mentioned using R insulin was to test hourly, and he mentioned that twice, so I do respect him for saying that.

I've pretty much been spoon feeding him a few bites of FF at every test. I hope that's enough.

I'm so off on my times, because I'm used to 6:00 being +12 and 3:00 being +9, etc., and I look at the clock and now all my + times are off because I over slept this morning.
And, I only maybe slept for a half hour when I tried to nap :roll: erg.

I gave J.D. some R at +8, and I have to leave for this meeting at +11.5, so his PM shot is going to be early. I need to test and make sure he's not dropping.

Good news is I tested Ginger as her pee balls are getting bigger and so is her fluffiness and she was 56 ;-)

I already told them I would come in tomorrow, but I didn't tell them when.

I just tested. He was 344 when I gave the R at +8 and he's 386 at +9. Whew.

I would like to take his whole big doggy bed with me to work, as it is piled with crate mats and he likes it. Maybe I'll run out and try to find a nice comfy big crate mat at Burlington Coat Factory now.
 
Re: 06/12 J.D. AMPS HI, +2 HI, +3.75 546, +4.5 410, +5.5 365

Dyana said:
The vet telling me to back off on the "forced" (as he called it) feeding, just goes against my thoughts that not enough food and not enough insulin and not enough fluids and possible infection and/or stress causes ketones.
i agree with amy. go with your gut instinct on assist feeding. you know how it is when you diet... it almost feels like your stomach shrunk... you feel satisfied with less food? i figured something similar was happening to alex. it was like she got used to eating less. syringe feeding helped her not to forget what it feels like to have a full tummy.

i've been syringe feeding alex for awhile now. well, at least it started out as what most of us know as syringe feeding. once she started leaning into the syringe i syringed the food onto the back of my hand for her to lap up. she liked that much better than having an oral syringe stuck into the side of her mouth. it wasn't too long before she graduated to letting me put 10 mL at a time of the blended mixture into her dish. that's where we're at now. i empty her syringes into her bowl 10 mL at a time. it's not ideal, but she's eating! the plus side is i have a good idea of about how much she has eaten every day. sometimes she'll eat out of my other kitties' dishes. those mini-meals stolen from others dishes are a huge bonus!

one thing i wanted to mention because i recently saw a post that said not eating 2 hours before a shot was "a hard and fast rule" in LL. it's not!!! that "suggestion" came about to prevent those who are new to feline diabetes... those who do not yet have a good handle on their cat's response to insulin and food... from unknowingly shooting a preshot number which was artificially high due to eating right before a shot... resulting in an unexpected fast drop after a shot.

those of us who have sick cats know the worry, the stress, and the real concern of not being able to get enough food into their little bodies. most of them are losing weight or have lost weight. fwiw, my advice: feed your cat. feed your cat whatever and whenever they'll eat. if you're comfortable shooting a food spike, forget that 2 hour rule suggestion! i believe making eating a priority is a huge part of why she's still alive today. by all rights, alex has used up her 9 lives... and then some.


you and JD and amy and trixie have been in my thoughts and prayers. i haven't had much time to post because i've not only had to focus an alex, but i'm also nursing along her sister, brianna. they're litter mates. fortunately, brianna "only" has bad kidneys.


sending healthy vines and many, many hugs to both you and amy!
:YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 06/12 J.D. AMPS HI, +2 HI, +3.75 546, +4.5 410, +5.5 365

Hi Dyana. I am so happy to read that J.D. is eating. I love that he woke you when you overslept.

Sending good happy vines for J.D.
 
Re: 06/12 J.D. AMPS HI, +2 HI, +3.75 546, +4.5 410, +5.5 365

Yay for the CPC this morning. I hope J.D. continues to want to eat. I think you should go with your gut instinct too. I'm sorry you have to go in to work tomorrow. I hope J.D. will eat for you at tbp.

Sending prayers and hugs. :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 06/12 J.D. AMPS HI, +2 HI, +3.75 546, +4.5 410, +5.5 365

Thank you, for visiting Jill. It is very much appreciated. Sometimes, I could use some second eyes too.

I have 3 days to be with him all day. Tomorrow he goes to work with me. Saturday is my "day off", but I'll probably go to work and take J.D. with me. Sunday I work and take J.D. with me. Do you think I should up his dose a bit?

I think I should add some fat on. I'm just scared of leaving it there on Monday when I go back to work.

I have to shoot early tonight, so tonight he'll get his regular dose.

I dropped my R and it was all bubbly, but I think it's probably okay. If it continues to not work, I'll go buy some more. It's cheap at WalMart. * * * WARNING: If anyone is searching this site for cheap insulin, R or Regular Insulin is not what you want to use on your cat !!!!!! R or Regular insulin is very very potent and can be dangerous without the guidance of someone with a lot of experience in using R (Regular) insulin * * *

P.S. I think of Alex a lot and was just thinking about her this morning. I will keep her and Brianna in my prayers.
 
Re: 06/12 J.D. +5.5 365, +8 344, +9 386, +10.5 414

carfurby said:
Yay for the CPC this morning. I hope J.D. continues to want to eat. I think you should go with your gut instinct too. I'm sorry you have to go in to work tomorrow. I hope J.D. will eat for you at tbp.

Sending prayers and hugs. :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
Thanks Carla :YMHUG: Tomorrow is barbeque day at work, so I'm going to ask for a burger without cheese for J.D.
 
Re: 06/12 J.D. AMPS HI, +2 HI, +3.75 546, +4.5 410, +5.5 365

Dyana said:
Thank you, for visiting Jill. It is very much appreciated. Sometimes, I could use some second eyes too.

I have 3 days to be with him all day. Tomorrow he goes to work with me. Saturday is my "day off", but I'll probably go to work and take J.D. with me. Sunday I work and take J.D. with me. Do you think I should up his dose a bit?
this will sound wishy-washy and in a sense it is...
you can't count on JD eating on his own, but you have an opportunity to have him with you. is your job such that you'd be able to monitor carefully and bring him up if necessary? weigh your options.

Dyana said:
I think I should add some fat on. I'm just scared of leaving it there on Monday when I go back to work.
if you think you should add some fat, do it. you can always pull the dose back a little on sunday morning or sunday night.

another option: when things can turn on a dime sometimes it's better to increase and/or shoot the R dose more often rather than increase the basal dose. reason being if JD all of a sudden feels better and his numbers drop (it happens), the R is in and out versus having to deal with the depot of the higher lev dose.
just another option.

Dyana said:
I have to shoot early tonight, so tonight he'll get his regular dose.
sounds good.

Dyana said:
I dropped my R and it was all bubbly, but I think it's probably okay. If it continues to not work, I'll go buy some more. It's cheap at WalMart.
i've done the same thing and it was fine. i doubt you'll have a problem.

Dyana said:
P.S. I think of Alex a lot and was just thinking about her this morning. I will keep her and Brianna in my prayers.
thank you, dyana. you don't know how much that means to me.
 
Re: 06/12 J.D. +5.5 365, +8 344, +9 386, +10.5 414

(((Dyana)))
Sending mega huuuuuggggs!!

I hope J.D. continues to eat.
Sending lots of appy vines and feel better vines.
 
Re: 06/12 J.D. PMPS 433, +2 417

Thanks again, Jill. It's not easy, but I can test him at work and have Karo and HC and syringes with me.

Right before I left for my meeting, J.D. went solid poo. I syringed some MaxCal, and left. I came home to stinky house and remembered the poo, and then found diarrhea. Can I give him more than 1/3 capsule of Renew Life Ultimate Flora Critical Care a day? I would like to give him some probiotics now.


I am so happy, it's now 20 minutes after the syringe feeding, and I just spoon fed him some MC and he ate it. You don't know how happy that makes me feel :) I kissed the top of his head three times.

I wonder if he needs fluids. I wonder if I could weasel my way into a vet appointment tomorrow to find out, with a different vet than the one we saw on Tuesday.

I hope tomorrow goes okay. Crossed Fingers.

I'll need to bring some FaBreeze.
 
Re: 06/12 J.D. PMPS 433, +2 417

Dyana said:
I am so happy, it's now 20 minutes after the syringe feeding, and I just spoon fed him some MC and he ate it. You don't know how happy that makes me feel :) I kissed the top of his head three times.

This is wonderful! I know the feeling...I kiss Trix's little head and tell her I love her every time she eats for me these days.

J.D. might very well benefit from daily fluids, at least during a p-titis flare up, if not regularly in general. They really do make Trix perk up, and our vetty really stressed how important they are during a flare. Dehydration is another thing that will kill an appy.

Can you request to see a specific vet? You definitely don't want to waste your time and money with yesterday's vet, that's for sure. I always specifically request our vet, unless it's an emergency and she's off. We had to see a different vet the day of Trix's "official" p-titis diagnosis, and while she got us the meds we needed, I didn't not leave there feeling reassured like I do with our regular vet. But our regular vet is so awesome that she called as soon as she was in the office next - she had heard we were in and wanted to check on things.

Keep eating, J.D.!!!!
 
Re: 06/12 J.D. PMPS 433, +2 417

Dyana said:
Can I give him more than 1/3 capsule of Renew Life Ultimate Flora Critical Care a day? I would like to give him some probiotics now.
alex gets the same probiotic as JD twice per day. i started her out on 1/3 capsule x 2 per day, but it didn't help. i gradually increased her to a little over a half capsule twice per day. although, fastest way to get her poops firmed up is to feed her raw food everyday. unfortunately, she's currently on strike. she won't eat any raw what-so-ever. however, this could change at any time. :roll:


Dyana said:
I am so happy, it's now 20 minutes after the syringe feeding, and I just spoon fed him some MC and he ate it. You don't know how happy that makes me feel :) I kissed the top of his head three times.
oh yes i do know how happy that makes you feel! i feel the same every time alex eats! :mrgreen:

Dyana said:
I wonder if he needs fluids. I wonder if I could weasel my way into a vet appointment tomorrow to find out, with a different vet than the one we saw on Tuesday.
see what the vet thinks. he may or may not need them. many years ago, wcf and meowzi gave me a little tip about fluids and eating. she told me to have a dish of food ready to give to alex as soon as we were done giving fluids. meowzi would scarf the food down. alex does, too!

Dyana said:
I hope tomorrow goes okay. Crossed Fingers.
fingers crossed. i'll be thinking of you!

Dyana said:
I'll need to bring some FaBreeze.
good idea! :lol:
 
Re: 06/12 J.D. PMPS 433, +2 417

I just feel like fluids would help him.
It's weird our regular vet always says he's not dehydrated but is more than willing to give me a fresh supply, and this other vet said he was dehydrated (slightly), but now says he should get enough fluids from his food.

I still don't think this vet from Tuesday knows much about diabetes. How much J.D. pees, etc. I still think he needs fluids.

So, if I get the go ahead to give him some fluids, tomorrow... what is the best time to give them? I do not want to give them right before I go to work on a regular work day like Monday - Friday as they have a tendancy to make the cat drop. With Levemir and a cat that tends to drop fast, would giving fluids at +2 (my usual bed time) in the evenings be okay, as long as the bean has lots of coffee and chocolate?
 
Re: 06/12 J.D. PMPS 433, +2 417

Hi Dyana,
I'm glad that J.D. is eating OK and hope that he will be feeling better and better. It would be good to see a different vet the next time! Good luck with taking him to work tomorrow. We are sending vines!

Hugs and scritches,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 06/12 J.D. PMPS 433, +2 417

initially, i think giving fluids at lev +2 would be fine as long as you don't give them as a bounce is clearing.
not every cat will drop from fluids. alex doesn't, but some cats do. after you give them a few times you'll see if squids drop JD.
 
Re: 06/12 J.D. PMPS 433, +2 417, +3 295

It's now +3. I gave him 0.10 of R which is more than he has gotten in a long time. I guess I shouldn't give fluids tonight. Since my experience is very limited, like I have somewhat given them twice before two years ago, I doubt if I can give them in the morning, as I am always rushed to get out the door in the mornings. Who knows, maybe I can do it anyway.

Does anyone know if I can give him some more probiotics tonight since he got some this morning?

Maybe I should go back to Baytril instead of Orbax, as the Baytril did not cause diarrhea. Or maybe, I should switch to the Flagyl, which always stops him right up after a couple of doses. But, I don't want him too constipated either. I will discuss ABs with the vet tomorrow via phone call.

Never mind about the probiotics question for tonight. I just gave him a packet of FortiFlora with the MC he just ate.
 
alex gets the same probiotic as JD twice per day. i started her out on 1/3 capsule x 2 per day, but it didn't help. i gradually increased her to a little over a half capsule twice per day. although, fastest way to get her poops firmed up is to feed her raw food everyday. unfortunately, she's currently on strike. she won't eat any raw what-so-ever. however, this could change at any time. :roll:

Sorry, I thought I read the entire post and I missed it. :oops:

I gave him FortiFlora tonight. I will start BID on the Ultimate Flora tomorrow and see if that helps. It usually does.

Night. Alarm set for 3 hours from now, for bupe dose. ..wait, I gave him R, never mind... I'll be setting my alarm for 1 hour from now.
 
Just dropping in to see how J.D. was doing today. I am so glad that he finally ate for you. Looks like a lot is going on with your boy, and I 'm really sorry that I just couldn't read through your entire post thoroughly since I am a bit on the tired side myself here and my eyes are just cooperating.

Wishing you guys luck. I am glad that you can at least take him to work with you the next couple of days to ease your mind and keep a better eye on him.

Thanks for visiting Spot's condo!
 
On the pancreatitis list they recommend spreading the probiotics out throughout the day, over 2-3 meals. If you gave a full dose, I wouldn't give more tonight. Too much can upset their tummy too. It's a good thing you can take JD to work and also that he isn't afraid to go. Max is afraid of his shadow and any change scares him and brings on a panc attack. I hope you get some sleep tonight. Oh, as for the fluids, if you add more water to his food it is just as good as giving fluids. I hope tomorrow is a much better day.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top