6/15/14 Peyton PMPS 180,+4 145,+7.5 125

Status
Not open for further replies.

jcc1531

Member Since 2014
Nervousness Nellie here :) I will not be home until after lunch today and have never shot this low. Will I stick with 0.75u?
 
Re: 6/15/14 Peyton AMPS 94 SHOOT???

I need to leave and am scared to skip the shot and scared to give it since I won't be here until 1:00-2:00. I've never shot in the green. Go ahead?
 
Re: 6/15/14 Peyton AMPS 94 SHOOT???

Good morning Julie ~O)

That is a nice greenie this morning for Peyton :mrgreen: Why, oh why do you kitties love throwing us beans those numbers before we have to leave for work?
Couple questions Julie: Have you grabbed a second test to see if Peyton is still climbing? What time do you leave for work? Do you have mc food and are you able to leave some out for while you are away?

My thoughts right now are that Peyton had a late nadir and is starting to climb back up. However, you haven't been on the juice very long and seeing an overall pattern is a bit tricky. You could always give a bcs (big chicken ****) shot of .25u, and leave out the mc, assuming Peyton will nibble at it. Or you could skip this shot, and let him use up the reserve tank for the day, but it will then be empty and you may see some high numbers again for a couple cycles. Once you get a more defined recording of his cycles it will make these choices easier. But first and foremost, we must keep Peyton safe.

Do go back to your first post and click the ? icon for it. Dyana may still be online and might know more about you two :smile:
 
Re: 6/15/14 Peyton AMPS 94 SHOOT???

Julie, it is scary to shoot the first low. If you can't be there to know that Peyton is safe, then I would skip it. You have time to get back on track and hopefully shoot your first low when you are home. I think Peyton is rising (juice is wearing off), but you don't know for sure how the next shot will take hold. Either way, if it was me, I would shoot a reduced shot or skip
 
Re: 6/15/14 Peyton AMPS 94 SHOOT???

MC is medium calorie food. About 11-18% is what I considered mc. If you are comfortable shooting the 133 then shoot it. He is well on his rise, and this is a safe number. Leave out some of his lc food or mc if you have it. Mix a little in water to help it not go hard so fast.
 
Re: 6/15/14 Peyton AMPS 94 SHOOT???

Would a reduced shot help keep him
On track better? I just don't want to mess up anything
 
Re: 6/15/14 Peyton AMPS 94 SHOOT???

Yes. A reduced shot would keep juice in the system. It has also been proven to help anxious beans avoid potential heart failure while at work ;-)
 
Re: 6/15/14 Peyton AMPS 94 SHOOT???

There is so much more info to give you but now isn't the time because you have to get to tbp(work). No worries, we will keep filling you up with good info as we go. No matter what else you do, your #1 goal is always going to be "Keep Peyton Safe". :-D
 
Re: 6/15/14 Peyton AMPS 94 SHOOT???

Hahahaha! Thanks for the laugh Kim!!! I needed that :lol:
I went ahead with a reduced shot because the 133 was probably food related. I jumped the gun and fed him. Oops! The reduced shot makes me feel better :)
 
Re: 6/15/14 Peyton AMPS 94 SHOOT???

Good stuff Julie. I should have asked you if he had been fed. I realize that you know not to feed before the shot, as it does influence numbers. But I can see he was rising before that as well. Do leave some food out though. Have a good day at tbp. I will be looking up your other condos now to get more familiar with you two, and hopefully will be able to leave you some more info on here for when you get home :smile: Yay!!! Homework!!!
 
Re: 6/15/14 Peyton AMPS 94 SHOOT???

your choices are:
to shoot the regular dose and leave some food down for him (you shot a 132 and he did fine...this isn't much lower considering the 20% meter variance)

Shoot a BCS dose...anything less than the scheduled dose, but gives some insulin to stop from draining the depot too much

Skip the shot...they can't go too low if you skip, and when you can't adjust your schedule after stalling, sometimes this is the best choice

It really has to come down to what you're comfortable doing. With him on such a small dose, if you're really concerned, go ahead and skip.....he'll get back on track soon enough
 
Re: 6/15/14 Peyton AMPS 94 SHOOT???

Thanks Kim! I panicked and forgot to post the link :) Thank you kim and Chris for keeping me out of the insane asylum! :shock:
 
Re: 6/15/14 Peyton AMPS 94, food, +.5 132

Hi Julie. Just popping in to see how Peyton is doing. And the news is great. Not even a bounce. Max on the other hand is bouncing yet again. Enjoy your lunch with your dad.
 
Re: 6/15/14 Peyton AMPS 94, food, +.5 132

I saw you and Max were headed to bed when Peyton and I were checking our middle of the night level. I'm so used to a bounce that I don't know what to do with all this green. Peyton is sending good vibes for Max to come to green land!
I fed Peyton a tinge higher carb food right before I left. I'm still worried sick about him but will be home in an hour or so.
Are we allowed to post pictures here? Are you on the Facebook page? I'm going to post a pic of him and my liver shunt kitty snuggling last night. My liver shunt kitty hasn't been feeling well so he wanted Peyton to comfort him. Guess they were comforting each other. It was so sweet <3
 
Re: 6/15/14 Peyton AMPS 94, food, +.5 132

Have a nice lunch with your dad. The skinnied shot and the mc should keep him safe until you get home.

You can post picture but they are limited in size to 500 pixels wide 400 high. The best way is to post a link to you Facebook (or Picassa or Photobucket) pictures. We'd love to see them.
 
Re: 6/15/14 Peyton +5.5 36!!! With reduction

Thank The Lord I didn't give him his full dose this morning. Just got home and his BG is 36! We are in the lather, rinse, repeat process now...
 
Re: 6/15/14 Peyton +5.5 36!!! With reduction

Ok. I have hit 32 before. How is he acting? Did you give him HC OR KARO?
You will test 20 minute after feeding.
 
Re: 6/15/14 Peyton +5.5 36!!! With reduction

Good. I was surprised how normal Max acts when he is low. It's good he is hungry as you will be feeding him every 20 minutes and then every 30. Small amounts so he will eat when you want him to eat. Congratutations on the reduction by the way. He will get .25 less, which I think is what he got this morning, right? He went low from the depo from the higher dose.
 
Re: 6/15/14 Peyton +5.5 36!!! With reduction

He went up to 56. Do I continue with HC or go back to regular food and test again in 20? When do I stop feeding to see if he's going up naturally?
 
Re: 6/15/14 Peyton +5.5 36!!! With reduction

Last night I gave Max a little gravy with a little mc food with it and it worked. It's good that he went up,
 
Re: 6/15/14 Peyton +5.5 36!!! With reduction

Okie doke :)
Does that mean if I would have given him his regular dose this morning he may not have gone so low?
 
Re: 6/15/14 Peyton +5.5 36!!! With reduction

He would have gone as low. Giving less helps drain the depot but he is still working on the depot from the higher dose. I'm going to test Max now. I'll check in with you in a little while.
 
Re: 6/15/14 Peyton +5.5 36!!! With reduction

Julie, do you feel okay with taking the 911 down? You can always put it back up if you need it.
 
Re: 6/15/14 Peyton +5.5 36!!! With reduction

Congratulations on the reduction. Looks like the BCS didn't save you from that heart attack, after all! I can just imagine how you felt when you got home and saw that 36. Nice catch.

Sending safe surfing vines. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 6/15/14 Peyton +5.5 36!!! With reduction

Thanks Elise:) I get caught up in the moment and forget about those things.
Tricia, you should have seen how big my eyes got :shock: I thought I was seeing things. Thankfully Eli's and others had to walk me thru low numbers last week. But not this low.
He's up to 80 now and I'm holding off food and will retest.
Indeed a stiff drink! ~O) probably something a little stiffer than that! Lol
 
Re: 6/15/14 Peyton +5.5 36!!! With reduction

You did great! Those low numbers really hit a nerve, especially when we don't expect to see them. Don't be surprised if he comes down a little. I doubt it will be under 50 before your next test.
 
Re: 6/15/14 Peyton +5.5 36, +5.75 56, +6 80

Can I feed him if he has stayed up without food? He hasn't had a whole meal.
 
Re: 6/15/14 Peyton +5.5 36, +5.75 56, +6 80

I would if I were you. You want him to gain weight and definitely not lose. It might bring his BG up a bit more than you like but that is okay.
 
Re: 6/15/14 Peyton +5.5 36, +5.75 56, +6 80, +6.5 73

He dropped from 80 to 73. Can I feed him his regular food now? He's begging :)
 
Re: 6/15/14 Peyton +5.5 36, +5.75 56, +6 80, +6.5 73

Cross posted :) Feeding now. He will be a happy boy
 
Re: 6/15/14 Peyton +5.5 36, +5.75 56, +6 80, +6.5 73

Yes. Feed him.

Here's the reason he dropped to 36: depot. And it is the reason I don't like shooting a reduced dose (BCS). Because of the depot, you are likely going to see the same numbers as if you had shot the full dose. I think reduced doses are good if you know you can't be at home the next cycle and you want to start draining the depot. But, typically, when you shoot a reduced dose, you won't see the effects until late in the current cycle or even perhaps in the next cycle. The depot from a dose can affect up to six subsequent cycles ....yes! Many cats it is 3-4 but there are some that it's six. As you reduce the dose, you would likely see the numbers coming up some but with a larger dose that some cats are on, you could see lower numbers for several cycles after the dose is reduced.
 
Re: 6/15/14 Peyton +5.5 36, +5.75 56, +6 80, +6.5 73

I have to leave now but the pros on back. Have a good rest of the afternoon. I'll check in tonight.
 
Re: 6/15/14 Peyton +5.5 36, +5.75 56, +6 80, +6.5 73

Julie

Because of the 36, his new dose will be 0.5u tonight. I know you might think that if you shot 0.5u and he went to 36, then you would reduce from that dose. But because that 36 was really from the 0.75u dose, then I'd shoot 0.5u as your new dose. Sound ok?

Let's see if he will surf now after this last meal you just gave him. Come on Peyton!!!
surfer-4053.gif
 
Re: 6/15/14 Peyton +5.5 36, +5.75 56, +6 80, +6.5 73

This is going to be a very dumb question! Can you explain depot?
 
Re: 6/15/14 Peyton +5.5 36, +5.75 56, +6 80, +6.5 73

It isn't a dumb question at all. It's one of the more challenging concepts about lantus and levemir to grasp.

Have you read this Sticky on The Insulin Depot? If not, please give it a read and then let me know your specific questions. If you have, please let me know what you don't understand and I'll explain it. I've got to test Gracie right now but I'll BRB.
 
Re: 6/15/14 Peyton +5.5 36, +5.75 56, +6 80, +6.5 73

Ah ha! I had not read that. That makes sense. Thank you!
 
Re: 6/15/14 Peyton +5.5 36, +5.75 56, +6 80, +6.5 73

You sure it's all clear? It took us quite a while to really grasp what the depot was, how it actually worked, and how it was responsible for the numbers we were seeing.

This is why we say that lantus/levemir like dosing consistency. One shot from a dose builds upon the previous so you have a cumulative effect which helps to increase the duration. The goal is to get some really nice carryover from one shot to the next and also overlap where one shot is waning as the other is onsetting so you get those nice, long, flat curves. When you shoot a reduced dose, skip a shot, etc, then it affects the depot usually in a subsequent cycle. The mechanisms behind the lantus and levemir depots are different but the end result is the same.....they are long-acting, slow releasing.

Please let me know any questions you have. We're always happy to help because understanding the depot will help you with dosing and deciphering his SS.
 
Re: 6/15/14 Peyton PMPS 180

Basically the .75u had built up and was carrying over which caused his low number which in turn earned him a reduction. But since I gave him a reduced dose this morning (.50) that will not show up until later.
 
Re: 6/15/14 Peyton PMPS 180

Basically the .75u had built up and was carrying over which caused his low number which in turn earned him a reduction. But since I gave him a reduced dose this morning (.50) that will not show up until later.
 
Re: 6/15/14 Peyton PMPS 180

Basically the .75u had built up and was carrying over which caused his low number which in turn earned him a reduction. But since I gave him a reduced dose this morning (.50u) that will not show up until later.
 
Re: 6/15/14 Peyton PMPS 180

Sorry for the multiple posts. It kept timing out and I didn't think it was going thru.
Thank you for your help :)
 
Re: 6/15/14 Peyton PMPS 180

Peyton isn't even bouncing at this point from the low numbers. He is doing GREAT!!. :smile:
 
Re: 6/15/14 Peyton PMPS 180

You did great today Julie!!

If 180 is as high as he bounces, WOW! Don't be surprised if he continues to go up though

Don't be worried about "freaking out" either! We ALL did our first few times our kitties dropped below 50! China dropped to 22 soon after we started this dance, and I was told to give her some Karo or syrup....I dumped about a half of a cup into a bowl and gave it to her!

Needless to say, she came up! :lol:
 
Re: 6/15/14 Peyton PMPS 180

Thank you all so much!!!
"Dumped out a bowl of karo syrup." :lol: Now that'a funny! I felt like doing that today. Ha
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top