Re: 6/17 Max AMPS 328 +3.5=204/224+5.5=93+6.5=81+7.5=94
There are a few strategies that you haven't tried yet. Each one has to be tried for a decent amount of time, so i'll just lay some ideas out. You can ask questions and think it over. Hopefully others will comment with their suggestions and experiences.
One technique is to shoot early. If Max is on his way up at +10, you could try shooting then. The plus of this is that you're increasing the time that the last shot and the current shot are overlapping, which can flatten out a kitty's BGs. The new shot will onset a couple of hours after you give it, and that can help prevent a rise, while the first shot is still lingering. The downside is that you still would be thinking of the next shot as being 12 hrs later, unless the second cycle replayed like the first one. Ideally, shooting early would create a different cycle, ie, flatter and lower, so you wouldn't have a repeat of the original cycle, and you would be shooting 12 hrs later. Does that make any sense? Let me give a concrete example.
Say today's day cycle - Max is surfing along at 90ish but at +9 suppose he goes to 250 and +10 he's at 300. Let's say you shot him this morning at his regular time at 7am, for example. You could shoot then at +10 (5pm) before he got higher. Supposing it brought him back down in the pm cycle to 90's again, but he surfed along - you probably wouldn't choose to shoot at +10 if he was at 90. Then his next shot would be due at +12, and yikes, that might be at 5am. The downside of that becomes obvious. However, if you have some flexibility, even doing this a few times might help reduce his bouncing.
Another option is to try Lev. I know you've got more Lantus left, so that might not be an ideal solution. Some cats do have flatter cycles on Lev, but not all. Some cats that are bouncy on Lantus still bounce on Lev. It's not a guaranteed solution, but it does help some cats flatten out.
A third option is to try using R on his bounce cycles. You've seen enough people use R that i suspect you have a good idea how it works. One major downside of R is that one has to be careful to not use too much, and it needs to be timed carefully so that you don't set up R bounce cycles, where the R brings the cat down quickly and the cat bounces from the fast drop. You would want to give it as a bounce cycle began rather than after one was in full force and certainly not use it when a bounce is clearing. The good thing is that Max is really clearing his bounces fairly quickly right now, so it might be easy to identify when he's on his way up and shoot a tiny amount then. If you want to start that, you'd need to identify times, probably in the second half of the cycle, where you could test once an hour for 4ish hours. And we'd want to use it when he was on his way up, so not every cycle would work - you'd need to watch and shout out for someone to give you a hand when you saw Max was starting a bounce.
And perhaps the easiest option is to give more time to what you are already doing, trying to manipulate his cycles with food. If you increase the nadir with carbs, then increase the dose slightly, you can reduce the range the numbers are moving in any given cycle. The image in my head is of a hand holding up the nadir from underneath, while the slightly increased Lantus becomes a hand pressing down from above to reduce the distance between your two hands. Your goal with this is to bring down the upper numbers, and flatten out the cycle.
I'll add for lurkers that these suggestions are specific to Max - Elise tests frequently, listens to directions, asks questions and makes sure she understands what's being suggested, understands how Lantus works in Max, and has tried diligently using traditional methods to get him tightly regulated. Those factors are important before you step out into other strategies. If anyone wants suggestions for their cat's specific circumstance, please ask rather than just trying these without guidance.