6/21 charlie pmps 348 +5 251

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 6/21 charlie amps 324 +3 ?

Hi. Wow, with those numbers it is anybody's guess. Which meter are you using? Were all the readings taken at the same time? Do you have a bottle of control solution to test the meter? If not you could test yourself to see if it is accurate if using a human meter. I would definitely throw out the 33 as a possibility. Meters usually give an error message if too little or too much blood is on the strip but not always I recently learned. I got a LO reading once but the rest of the tests show it was an error.
 
Re: 6/21 charlie amps 324 +3 ?

I use relion confirm. Just bought new one 2 days ago cause I was getting wacky numbers. Yes tested 1 after another. Going to test at +4 if wacky number I will test my self. Where do I get the solution?
 
Re: 6/21 charlie amps 324 +3 ?

Darin

I have found if you immediately retest using the same meter, you will get weird numbers. I have a backup meter (actually, I have four :lol: ). If I get a weird number, I retest with the other meter. I also order the control soln from Relion and I check every box of strips before I use them. Relion says it's not necessary and they are probably right.....I haven't had any strip issues. If it's been 15 or so minutes, then test again and let's see where he is. Elise is right that you can still get a number if there is not enough or too much blood.
 
Re: 6/21 charlie amps 324 +3 ?

I did not start to get wacky numbers until about a week ago, then really wacky numbers on the 19th so i bought a new meter. now this morning getting 3 odd numbers made me think the strips since i have already switched out the meters.
i will order the test solution.

Still not sure what number to use for the +3 166 or 365
 
Re: 6/21 charlie amps 324 +3 ?

Are both meters the same model? Do you have another bottle of strips to try? If so, they will last long enough that you could open the second bottle. If the first bottle is faulty, you can return them. If the meters are different, you do know that each meter has its own type of strips, right? Relion Confirm and Micro do use the same ones though.
 
Re: 6/21 charlie amps 324 +4 313

Its the confirm micro for both.
Tested myself 132, then charlie 313. I think if I don't get into the blues on pm cycle then I should up dose to 2.25 as previously suggested.
 
Re: 6/21 charlie amps 324 +4 313

i'd open a new bottle of strips and try that. those are wild numbers! makes it hard to know what's right. The test on you could very well be accurate - it's in the ballpark, at least. I'm guessing it wasn't a fasting number, but that you'd eaten something already this morning.

is that string of numbers - the +3/33, 166, 365 - were those from this morning or last night? there's nothing in the spreadsheet for today yet.

the reason i'm asking is because of last night's +3/165 on the spreadsheet. If there's any chance that's accurate, i would hold the dose a little longer rather than increasing tonight.
 
Re: 6/21 charlie amps 324 +4 313

The confirm and micro do take same strips. I have the confirm meter and strips say confirm/micro. Also shows same strips in user manual.
 
Re: 6/21 charlie amps 324 +4 313

+ 3 is this am. I did notice same 165 as last night. All I have had is 3 cups of coffee w/ creamer in last 1.5hrs. And I not sure what is accurate. The plus am + 3 was new test strips. The amps test was the last strip from old bottle.
 
Re: 6/21 charlie amps 324 +4 313

then i think i wouldn't increase tonight. let's give him a couple more cycles and see what happens.

it's a balancing act - we don't want to wait too long on a dose that's not getting him into greens, but it's typical for cats to bounce from ranges they aren't used to and if he's bouncing from the 165 last night, we need to just wait for 3 days for the bounce to clear (it might clear sooner) so he's not overdosed when the bounce clears.

the creamer might be enough to raise your own BGs. I think that your test could very well be accurate.
 
Re: 6/21 charlie amps 324 +4 313

I don't think the 165 but the retest was 219 so could be from 6/20.
could he be bouncing from the yellows on 6/18?
Will be away for couple hrs.
 
Re: 6/21 charlie amps 324 +4 313

Darin & Charlie said:
I don't think the 165 but the retest was 219 so could be from 6/20.

not sure what you mean by the above comment. could you restate it?

yes, he could be bouncing from the yellows on 6/18. definitely. If he is, he should clear the bounce by tomorrow morning. Usually we give 6 cycles past the "low numbers event" and the body will have cleared the hormones/sugars out by then.

cats can have different "looking" bounces. Some can even take a day before the bounce starts, like a delayed reaction. that's part of why i'm focused on figuring out about that 165 - because if the 165 was accurate, that might suggest Charlie resolved the bounce from 6/18 at that point, but just barely touched down into the blue number and then bounced again from it.

There's really not going to be any way for us to know for certain about the previous numbers, so we'll just move on. But we need to somehow get the concern about the accuracy of the tests resolved. without being confident that the tests are accurate, it's hard to know how to proceed.

i know i already said to wait on the increase, but i think i want to run it by some others. i'm thinking that even if the 165 was accurate, our goal is green numbers, so maybe it would be ok to go ahead and increase anyway. One of us will get back to you before your pm shot time.
 
Re: 6/21 charlie amps 324 +4 313

Just going to throw this out there for consideration

It's possible the numbers are basically right, and that on 6/16 he really did get that blue 141 and then bounced to 377...while that's a fast bounce, I guess anything's possible.

Then on 6/18, he dropped to 231..again not real low, but lower than Charlie is used to..and again, he bounced...just not so quickly

Last night, dropped to 165 (or 219..basically same number anyway) and again had a fast bounce.

Is it possible that when he gets into the 100's, he bounces quickly and when he only dropped into the 200's he bounced, just not as quickly?

I think you have to call Relion to get the testing solution...I've never found it at WalMart, but you might want to just make sure that when you first put in a strip, the code on the bottle of strips matches the code that will flash on the meter

Just thinking out loud here
 
Re: 6/21 charlie amps 324 +4 313

Yes, you have to call Relion for the testing solution. You can't buy it. When I called them, they said their strips don't really need to be tested and that's why you don't have to buy it.

Actually, I doubt seriously that your whole bottle of strips is bad. It's possible to get a bad strip here and there or a bad test for whatever reason. I would just pick up a back up meter and if you get a wonky number, retest with the backup.
 
Re: 6/21 charlie amps 324 +8 338

So should I hold the dose or up .25 or wait to see what the pm cycle brings.
I was just saying that + 3 of 165 could be right since the retest was 219, basically same number.
I have 2 confirms and will test with both if I get wacky numbers. Also ordering test solution.
 
Re: 6/21 charlie amps 324 +4 313

I think I'd hold the dose tonight and see what happens...if he doesn't get back down into blues, I'd increase by .25 in the morning

Hopefully others will chime in with some opinions before your PMPS time
 
Re: 6/21 charlie amps 324 +4 313

i think it's not clear-cut. I do think it's likely that your test last night was somewhere 200ish. If he's bouncing from the 200's range, we don't really care - well, not that we don't really care, but it's nowhere near normal numbers yet. When he clears a bounce, he's not likely to suddenly be below 50, given the range that he's been in so far. That's the main concern of increasing on a bounce - you don't want it to clear and have the cat be overdosed and go really low.

Given as much as you're testing, i think you could go ahead and increase tonight, or if you prefer you can wait til morning as Chris is suggesting.

i think i'd just get one test each time and go with that number, unless you catch a number under 50 that seems out of context. for example, if he's got all 300's and suddenly you get a 35, i'd retest. otherwise, just stick with your first number and assume it's ok.

how does that sound to you? i know it's probably confusing, so if you've got questions, just ask.
 
Re: 6/21 charlie amps 324 +4 313

I think I will up it.25 tonight. I can test tonight through + 7 for the next 4 cycles. His pmps is in 30 min, + 11 was 348, I will test at +3 after pmps
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top