06/22 J.D. PMPS 259

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dyana

Member Since 2009
Yesterday's Condo

Last Night:
261 PMPS
271 +5.25
196 +8.25

J.D. ate pretty good last night, and this morning he did his best with the food he was served for CPC. They got FF Tuna & Chicken for 1st Breffis which is Ginger's favorite and not so much J.D.'s. J.D. went to town on it and I kept giving him another spoonful as the texture of it makes it hard for him to get the small chunks into his mouth because of his missing top fang. Ginger ate none of it. J.D. then came into the house (they were served out on the deck) and sat right next to my leg while I typed on the computer, and gave his face a good bath. He seems to do the face bathing when he really liked the food :)

I think I will bring Ginger inside the house now, and get a little btb in.
 
Re: 06/22 J.D. AMPS 244, +2.5 229, +4 133, +5 70

J.D. ate a bunch of food this morning (over a can, I think, if my then sleepy brain remembers right) and :YMSIGH: now he's not particularly hungry. He's just hanging out on the deck.
 
Re: 06/22 J.D. AMPS 244, +2.5 229, +4 133, +5 70

He's looking good, Dyana. About time, isn't it?
 
Re: 06/22 J.D. AMPS 244, +2.5 229, +4 133, +5 70

That's where we want to see JD, right in the middle of the Lagoon! Hooray for a good appy!
 
Re: 06/22 J.D. AMPS 244, +2.5 229, +4 133, +5 70

He did finally eat some FF Chicken at +5. He just mostly wants to be lazy. I wouldn't mind doing that too, but have stuff to do :lol:

He had a dryish poo in the middle of the night and a wetish poo while out on a walk around +3.5. He's been pooing twice a day lately. I guess that's okay. I find it funny how poo obsessed we get.
 
Re: 06/22 J.D. AMPS 244, +2.5 229, +4 133, +5 70, +6 48

He ate a bite and a half, if that, at +6. I'll be taking a drop off his dose tonight or tomorrow morning. I know it's against protocol for a longer duration diabetic to reduce if only in the forties, but I need him to be safe and know that he's eating enough to keep his blood sugar in safe ranges, which he presently isn't, when I go to work for 11 hours a day.
 
Re: 06/22 J.D. AMPS 244, +2.5 229, +4 133, +5 70, +6 48

:mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :cool:

Hear you on needing to do what one needs to do to keep them safe. Good luck with the new dose.
 
Re: 06/22 J.D. +6.33 48 +6.75 51 +7.25 68 acupunture questio

Right after the +6 48, my next door neighbor informed me that my elderly neighbor was in an accident at the street light at the end of the road. He said it looked like she was alright. I went to her house and her car wasn't there. I went back home and tested +6.33 48 and spoon fed J.D. and then got in my car to go drive to her where there were a bunch of police cars. Luckily she is okay, but may need to duct tape on her bumper to get it to the car repair place.
J.D. was 51 when I got home and I spoon fed him some more food (just a couple bites) and again at +7.25.

Acupuncture Question: I wonder if I should bathe J.D. before the acupuncture. And if so, what kind of soap should I use? It's just that he hasn't groomed anything but his face in years and he lays in his food sometimes, and on my carpet that has had his accidents cleaned up but not perfectly, and when he goes for a walk and the grass is wet, it looks like his paws are all muddy but they aren't it's just dirt? showing through his white fur I think.

Right now would probably be a good time to do it, or tomorrow morning sometime. I'm thinking to do it when he's lowish like now, and not going in and out of the litter box (with wet paws and fur), and it's somewhat warm outside.
 
Re: 06/22 J.D. +6.33 48 +6.75 51 +7.25 68 acupunture questio

I mean if she's going to stick needles in him and his skin is dirty, and the needle pushes dirt inside him, that may not be good, right? nailbite_smile
 
Re: 06/22 J.D. +6.33 48 +6.75 51 +7.25 68 acupunture questio

interesting question. i bathed punkin a few times, but not specifically for acupuncture, and i don't think i'd done it within several months, even, of starting acupuncture. it's probably a good idea. punkin didn't go outside much, just on the leash, although he'd pretty much stopped grooming. you can see in his acupuncture video, his hair was all over the place. Like an old man! i did regularly use pet wipes on him (like baby wipes, but safe for pets) to try to keep his hair a little better.

you might ask the vet. or just do it and then ask when you're at the first session.

hope your neighbor is ok.
 
Re: 06/22 J.D. +6.33 48 +6.75 51 +7.25 68 acupunture questio

Thanks. I think I'll do it now. The sink is clean and he's okay sitting in warm water. The last time I did it was in California in my Dad's utility tub years ago. Is hair shampoo okay? Or should I use dishwashing soap?
 
Re: 06/22 J.D. +6.33 48 +6.75 51 +7.25 68 acupunture questio

Hi Dyana,
I'm glad J.D. is eating some for you today.
I'm glad your friend is OK.
I would have panicked if a friend's accident and low BG happen at the same time. @-)
Good job taking care of both, Dyana!!!!

I have never bathed neither of my cats except Lucy's bum bath, and never used any soap, so I don't know if human shampoo or dishwashing soap would be OK to use.
I think it would be best to use pet shampoo.

If his fur is muddy, it's probably a good idea to bath him as a precaution, but you know, acupuncture needles are really really thin.
There are different needle sizes, but at least the ones that I know of that have been used on me or Lucy are really tiny, and I would imagine they use these smaller ones for cats.
I can't imagine them "pushing" dirt inside the skin or even bacteria causing infection from such a smaaaall puncture as long as they use disposable sterile needles.
 
Re: 06/22 J.D. +6.33 48 +6.75 51 +7.25 68 acupunture questio

I hope they use disposable needles.

I have a $5.00 coupon for PetsMart that expires today, so Ginger and I will probably take a trip to try to find cat shampoo. He doesn't look dirty or anything, but sometimes his fur smells, and sometimes his back paws get filled with whatever he steps in in the litter box and are caked with litter and I just use a drop of hand soap those times.

He's 180 now, so my window of opportunity to wash his feet and fur before he starts peeing a bunch and needs to use the litter box is closing fast. I might have to wait until tomorrow morning.
 
Re: 06/22 J.D. +6.33 48 +6.75 51 +7.25 68 acupunture questio

Dyana, if they do not use disposable needles, you should cancel the appointment.
VERY IMPORTANT!!!!

But nowadays, I can't imagine any practitioners using re-usable ones, so I'm very sure they use the one-time only needles.
 
Re: 06/22 J.D. +6.33 48 +6.75 51 +7.25 68 acupunture questio

Glad to see him doing better today and eating.

I'd probably bathe him just because he might feel better. Cats are very fastidious.
 
Re: 06/22 J.D. +6.33 48 +6.75 51 +7.25 68 acupunture questio

I've always thought he may appreciate bathing. I bought this: Vitamin Enriched Hypoallergenic Shampoo
I asked for help, and the lady kneeled down in the aisle and said well there's Rasberry and she took out a bright pink bottle, and there's Coconut, and there's Rain Breeze, and she said "it just depends on what scent you want" and I said I don't want a scent. She then started to show me some waterless shampoos and I said I don't want waterless. They had lots and lots of cat shampoos to choose from. I think I did okay in my selection.
 
Re: 06/22 J.D. +6.33 48 +6.75 51 +7.25 68 acupunture questio

Hi Dyana. I wasn't told to clean Checkers before acupuncture, but then, he rarely went outside.

In order to save time in the tub, I still use waterless shampoo on my cats, and they enjoy the rubdown.
Then I stick 'em in the tub and quickly rinse with hand held spray. It's easier than regular shampooing, and it doesn't matter if it doesn't all rinse off.

Hope J.D. enjoys his bath. :smile:
 
Re: 06/22 J.D. +6.33 48 +6.75 51 +7.25 68 acupunture questio

Thanks Barb. I think he did :? more than most cats enjoy a bath anyway.
He's outside on the deck. A wet cat, but with lots of towels to lay on.
I was afraid he was going to poo in the bath water, because I think that's what he did at my Dad's house all those years ago.

The last ingredient says Lemon Peel http://www.gnc.com/graphics/product_images/pGNC1-13676460_gnclabel_pdf.pdf and I think I did smell just a touch of lemon.

He's outside in hoping that if he needs to pee, he'll do it in the grass rather than get his wet feet in the litter box.

I'm going out there to be with him, now.
 
Re: 06/22 J.D. +6.33 48 +6.75 51 +7.25 68, +9 180 - all clea

He didn't get his bath until about +10, and I am afraid to test him.

But OMG, he is outside and laying on a blanket and he is licking his back thighs and leg. Maybe he needs a bath more often.

25 minutes until I find out how bad his PMPS is nailbite_smile
 
Re: 06/22 J.D. +6.33 48 +6.75 51 +7.25 68, +9 180 - all clea

It sounds like J.D. did enjoy his bath. :-D Nice greens today. We are doing the same thing with Zener, shaving even when he gets in the 50s. His appy is iffy and we are too nervous about getting him to eat when needed. I think of it as more like the start low, go slow protocol. Safety first for our kitties.
Liz
 
Re: 06/22 J.D. +6.33 48 +6.75 51 +7.25 68, +9 180 - all clea

Squeeky clean, huh, J,D? sounds like you are a happy cat this evening.

Hi Dyana, wishing you and J.D. A successful accupuncture appointment tomorrow.

Hugs and scritches,

Ella & Rusty
 
hey - that pmps looks pretty good, in fact! :-D

i'm trying to imagine a cat that smells lemony! :lol: :lol:

our vet used disposable needles. sometimes they got missed when he was taking them out and i'd find one in the car or at home. with long hair it's easy to miss, although the vet did count them and was thorough.
 
I was wondering that Julie when I watched your video and all of Punkin's long hair, did they ever loose one.

J.D. is still a little damp even after 2 and 1/2 hours. I took my elderly neighbor who had the car accident to the grocery store and errands, and came home to J.D. standing on the couch and hungry again. It's +1.5 and he just woofed down more than his 2nd Dinner. I hope he eats later, if he needs to. He got a little brushing to fluff up his dampness a bit and is now back out on the deck.

He hasn't gone up in his cat tree or jumped up onto my bed since his last pancreatitis, so those are some of the little things I am hoping for after his acupuncture. That and more balance. He often tries to jump up onto the couch and doesn't make it, or falls deep asleep on it and slowly slides off and lands head first onto the floor.

Right now, I am very happy he is eating so well :)
Knock On Wood, for the rest.
 
nice numbers and awesome on the eating today. Looks like he had a really good appy going!
I am just imagining a lemony smelling kitty. I love the smell of lemons! Maybe he can get a bath before the reunion and I can smell him when he is here!!!

I am so happy your neighbor is ok after her accident. You are such a good neighbor to help her like that!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top