6/27 Zeke PMPS 263; +4.5 / 272. Dosecrease?

Status
Not open for further replies.

MrZ

Member Since 2013
Good evening LL,

Zeke's Yesterday

Well we got a second opinion today on the Onsior. We will most likely continue administering as prescribed. Second vet said the Onsior has been prescribed in Europe for way beyond the 3 days for quite some time. She stated that her husband has been involved in trials that have shown no adverse affects from dosing beyond 3 days. She said we could make the call ourselves as to if and when we resume dosing. Vet examined Zeke's mouth and said he's healing nicely. His appy continues to be good and today he had a little more pep than yesterday.

So now that I don't have that med to worry about, I can focus on Zeke's higher BGs. This evening's cycle is terrible - never dropped as far as I know. PMPS / 263 (yuck); +4.5 / 272 (triple yuck). How long should I wait until I increase his dose? Nadir last two days has been 152 (pre surgery, had always been green). Both vets stated that we should expect his BGs to be all over the place. Really? This bad (as compared to pre surgery)? I'm worried that since he's already so high, tomorrow morning may be really bad. How long should I wait before increasing? We're giving him his 0.1 u and the insulin is good (clear, no floaties, just a little over 1 month old).

That's all for now. Wishing you all a pleasant evening.
 
As far as any potential effects on his BG as a result of the anesthesia, that should no longer be a concern.

He had three skipped shots so his depot has likely drained a great deal. But you wouldn't think it would take long to re-establish it at 0.1u. I'm sure the vets are concerned that numbers could come rolling down fast as an inflammation resolves. And also as his mouth just settles down and he starts to feel better. Are you still giving him any pain med? I'm wondering if he is in pain.

If he's not in pain, I'd ease the dose up tomorrow if he doesn't give you a mid to lower blue preshot. I'm only suggesting this for Zeke because you know him well and you test a lot. If you increase, please just keep the normal close eye on his numbers.

I hope he's feeling lots better.
 
Hi Marje, thank you for the advice. It's hard (for me) to tell if he's in pain. He seems ok - not pawing at his mouth; though, he does lick a bit even after not just having eaten. He has a fentanyl patch for pain. We're removing it on Sunday. It's now over 3 days old so who knows how much it's still helping. I guess we'll see where he's at tomorrow. Thanks again.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top