4/15 Vesta AMPS 371, +3 290, +6.5 374 *DPS Help!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Weather Girl

Active Member
Yesterday's Condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=12008

So we decided to stick with the 2 units today because of her relatively high amps. What I really don't like, though, is the +6.5 going up so high. There was no food in the house so I don't know how that could have affected it.

I'm writing up instructions for the pet hotel right now- any suggestions?
 
First, welcome to Lantus! I opened SS and thought uh oh -- pet sitter instructions needed for a brand new kitty who didn't give the 1u a chance to settle. When first starting out on Lantus it can take five days before the dose reaches its full potency. Lots of good information is posted at the top of the Lantus page, explains how Lantus works.

When you say pen misfired are you shooting with something other than a syringe?
I'm not sure where to start. ;-) Think you need to go back to the 1u and let it settle -- the big reason is, you are going out of town, a stranger, even a paid one, is not going to be watching your cat like you would.
Will Vesta be eating dry food at the DPS's?
 
I am wondering why you increased the dose to 2u after only one day at 1u; was it because of the vet's suggestion?

It is usual to hold with one dose for 5 to 7 days when initially starting, especially since Vesta needs the shed to fill. Until the shed is filled you will not really see much in the way of good numbers. Some cats may take up to 6 shots before they show any reaction to the dose.
Also, every time you change the dose, that shed needs to be 'topped up' plus you may see some NDW (new dose wonkiness), so it's not surprising that you are getting odd results today. Also, maybe you had a fur shot?
Dose increases are usually only 0.25u or maybe 0.5u, so by increasing Vesta's dose by double, from 1 to 2, you will need to wait awhile for the shed to fill now.

I am sure others will be along who can comment better and give proper dosing suggestions for Vesta.
 
We switched per the vet's orders. Here are my competing concerns:
1. Whatever dose we pick now will be held for the 10 days we're gone, with no wiggle room up or down.
2. We're shooting with a pen that dials out in one unit increments, not syringes. Plan on switching to syringes when we return from trip, but feel a little safer with the DPS just using the pen. (we don't have time to grab syringes with 1/2 unit markings right now)
3. Food will be 1/2 prescription diet diabetes kibble and 1/2 whiskas wet with 8% carbs. Providing freeze dried chicken for post-shot treats. Strict instructions not to give any other food/treats.

Any suggestions on instructions for when not to shoot or when to call our vet/hospital?
 
Thanks for that great list, I'm going to make one too.
I recommend 1u not 2u.
1. Cat is newly diagnosed
2. Cat will not be monitored by primary caretaker
3. 10 days at a dose that is higher than the typical starting dose is simply not a good idea.
4. Lantus needs its settling time. 3 cycles of 1u is not enough to know what will happen in 5-7 days (the typical start out settling time). After the start out time dose is moved up after 3-5 days, depending on what numbers you would have seen.
5. You love Vesta and you want Vesta to be safe.
 
D and Noisy said:
Thanks for that great list, I'm going to make one too.
I recommend 1u not 2u.
1. Cat is newly diagnosed
2. Cat will not be monitored by primary caretaker
3. 10 days at a dose that is higher than the typical starting dose is simply not a good idea.
4. Lantus needs its settling time. 3 cycles of 1u is not enough to know what will happen in 5-7 days (the typical start out settling time). After the start out time dose is moved up after 3-5 days, depending on what numbers you would have seen.
5. You love Vesta and you want Vesta to be safe.

Thanks for the advice :) With my waning confidence in the vet, it truly is fantastic to have a group of MUCH more experienced people in these matters.

We'll move back down to 1 unit while we're gone. I'm attaching our DPS instructions for you all to look over... Any suggestions are welcome!
 

Attachments

We have seen some near-tragic situations here where vets were not up to speed on using Lantus.
Can you save instructions as a regular ".doc" I can't open a ".docx" without running an update (I don't use Word often).
 
Is the vet in the instructions the same vet that you will be switching from?
I gather you will be unreachable, yes?
 
I have to sign-off shortly.
Hoping some other peeps will stop in and offer instruction help.
I think they should have instructions for what to do in case of a BG number under 40-50.
Will you be checking in on Vesta? Can you check in with us after a Vesta check-in?
Must feel stressful having to leave your cat who just got diagnosed.
 
I'm so glad D and Gayle are helping you =) You're in excellent hands! They have been helping me with my Tugger and I couldn't be happier =)

I do know how you feel, I had to leave Tugger just after his diagnosis. It was stressful! I was only gone about half the time you'll be gone and I was nervous! I highly recommend making sure you have instructions for hypo situations. Highlighted even. Maybe even leave the web address for this forum and instructions on where to go to get help if they need it. Not sure if a pet hotel would have internet access or not, but it's worth a try.

Remember that boarding will be stressful and will likely elevate her numbers a bit but even still, you are better sticking with the 1u because at the very least you'll worry less about hypo. The stress of boarding combined with the dry food will probably keep her numbers up there. Even prescription diabetes kibble is high in carbs, it's worthless crap but for right now I wouldn't change it. Because again, it will probably help keep her numbers up and if it were me I'd worry less if my kitty rode a bit higher while I'm not there to watch. But I'd look into making a change to all canned low carb once you get home and settle in.

I'd also suggest, if at all possible, to have them call you or you call them to get a daily rundown on her numbers or make them use the ss online so you can access it from where you are. This way if something does come up, you can come here and ask for help (assuming you will have internet access)

Finally, I would change the instructions regarding feeding to say that she should be fed after BG test but prior to shot. I say this because if Vesta refuses her food you probably don't want them giving her shot (this is something I see a lot but get someone else to confirm my thoughts) or you might want them to sprinkle some dust from her freeze dried chicken on her food to convince her to eat before her shot. You always want food on board with the shot, so unless you know for sure that she will eat no matter what, I'd change it. Only you know Vesta and her habits though. My guy would refuse food in a boarding situation, even though he loooooves food, the stress would steal his appetite. He prefers someone hanging around when he eats so he doesn't eat if I leave him home alone for too long.

Hope all goes well for you and Vesta (love her name!)
 
My only other thought is to give the DPS folks a little more margin if numbers are running low. I would suggest using a number under 60 (vs. 40 -50 which is what D suggested.) My thinking is this. It's not like Vesta is going to get multiple tests throughout the cycle. We can manage lower numbers because we will test frequently to see where numbers are going and what the response to food is. The DPS people may get a little flustered in the unlikely event that Vesta runs low and It's more than likely that they won't re-test like you would.

I'm presuming you will be bringing them some HC food, just in case. I would get a Sharpie and mark the LC cans as "LC" or in some way that identifies them as Vesta's regular food. Ditto for the HC -- clearly mark it so they don't accidentally feed it thinking that it's your kitty's regular food.
 
Good thinking Sienne. I should have mentioned that since I do it even at home so the kid and husband know what to feed the floor kitties and what to feed the counter kitties. You could even put the marked HC emergency food in a ziplock bag along with a small jar of karo and the printed hypo instructions so they'd be even less likely to mix it up with the LC everyday food.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top