6/28 Scully AMPS 360

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tara and Scully

Member Since 2014
Yesterday's condo:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=120906


Scully is continuing her pattern of a high AMPS following low night numbers. Again we had to feed high carb food last night beginning at +3 to keep her BG from dropping too low. Perhaps another decrease in dose is imminent. I will, however, hold this .75 dose for at least 4 cycles before decreasing, if necessary. We have planned to skip her PM shot tonight as DH and I will be gone all evening and unable to monitor her. I'm interested to see how this will drain the depot and affect her numbers.

Also, I called our vet and scheduled an appointment on Tuesday afternoon to have a complete geriatric blood panel done. Thanks again to Wendy, Marje and Deb for their helpful advice and recommendations last night. I can't believe it never occurred to me to have this done as I have been completely consumed with the management of her FD. Paws crossed that all tests will come back negative and we can use them as a baseline for future reference.

Hope everyone has a great day! BIG congrats to Pixie on his OTJ party!! Healing vines to all kitties who need them! (Scully's beans are going to get a much-deserved cat nap today before doing some partying of their own tonight!!)

Tara & Scully
 
since you're getting the blood work done anyway, i'd get a general urinalysis done, too. With CKD the urine specific gravity test can tell you quite a bit as well.

punkin had early CKD and we switched to primarily giving him Friskies' Special Diet Turkey & Giblets. Not senior diet. It's low phos and low carbs, and i could find it at our local Kmart. I printed out the phosphorus page 1 on the catinfo.org site and took it with me to 3 grocery stores. I wrote notes on what i could find/where, and i bought samples of all the ones that were local under 200mg of phos and low carb. Then i went by what punkin and my civvie, Anya, liked. The Friskies wasn't at any of the grocery stores, but Friskie's site has a store locator by zip code. Our local Kmart carried it.

I think it's a smart idea to get the blood work done every so often.

Have fun at tonight's wedding!
 
Julie, Thanks for the food recommendation! I hope we won't need it, but just in case .... And I'll ask for the urinalysis, too. Thanks!!
 
Julie's right. The USG can be an early indicator of CKD if kidney values are normal. However, I wouldn't expect there to be acid tummy associated with CKD without some increase in creat and BUN. But it's always good to have a baseline USG. Smart. :-D

Have fun tonight!!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top