7/5 Tyler AMPS 91 +7 68 PMPS 95 Looking Great!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Brian & Tyler

Member Since 2014
7/2's Condo

Hello all, we discovered that we have an open wifi source and can pick it up on one of the computers. We get our internet set up here this coming week. Tyler seems to be doing fine with the move and his numbers look great! If anyone has any advice on tweaking his dose or if he should stay at .75u, then please advise! SS is up to date. I should be posting more regularly again in the coming weeks.

- Brian
 
Re: 7/5 Tyler AMPS 91 +7 68 looking good

Tweak perfection?? Now why would we want to do that??

This looks like an excellent dose for Tyler, so I'd just hold right there unless you start to see higher numbers or he drops below 50!

That's great that you can "borrow" the Wi-Fi connection :lol:

Looks like you've both handled the move well and are happily together again....like best buds should be! :-D
 
Re: 7/5 Tyler AMPS 91 +7 68 looking good

"Looking good." ???? More like "Looking Great!" Wonderful.

Open source in the neighborhood is a lot better than sitting in the parking lot at McDonald's hoping to pick up their wifi! Good for you.

Marilyn and Polly
 
Re: 7/5 Tyler AMPS 91 +7 68 looking good

Tyler likes Gainsville! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: It looks like everything went smoothly for your move.
 
Thanks ladies, a nice PMPS too!!! He is doing so well!!! I am very pleased with how this is looking! We would most definitely not be this far along if it weren't for this place!!
 
:mrgreen: mr greenie is SO happy with Tyler! :lol:

in a cat becoming tightly regulated, typically the first numbers to come down are the nadirs. next is the pmps. last is the amps because of Dawn Phenomenon. looks like Tyler's amps are coming down now!

i'd say let's wait and watch.

if you are up in the wee hours of the morning, you could give tyler 1 teaspoon, literally one, of regular low carb food at pm+9 to see if helps the amps stay below 120. Not the zero carb fish, but his Friskies. He was great at amps this morning, but if he doesn't keep giving you <120 at amps, put this into your bag of tricks as an option to try. In a healing pancreas, a teaspoon of food can stimulate the pancreas to put out its own insulin to deal with the carbs. the result is about 3 hrs later, the BGs will drop.

You're in a new phase with Tyler now! Gotta stick with the nadir testing, but now you're not only looking to catch a BG under 50, you're watching for 7 days at one dose with numbers all under 120. That earns a dose reduction as well.

Reducing the dose:
If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. See additional notes in the next paragraph about drops into the 20s and 30s. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.

what great timing for this little guy to be healing just when you're available to monitor. cats don't necessarily come down the dosing scale in any kind of orderly way. He could be slow and steady, a week at a time on each dose, or he could be "BANG I'm done with insulin." The nadirs will tell you.

congrats on this new phase - it's awesome. i'm super glad for you! :YMHUG:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top