7/11 Max AMPS 464 +1=437+3.5=284+6=300 PMPS 432+3=372

Status
Not open for further replies.

tiffmaxee

Member Since 2013
YESTERDAY:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=121574

RECAP:
AMPS 174
+1=197
+2=168
+3.5=67
+4.25=53
+4.75=47
+5=53
+6=66
+6.5==75
+7=106
PMPS 282
+2=294
+3.5=262
+7=348

Super highs for Max and super lows. He is just determined to fight the insulin and drive me nuts at the same time. What I am doing wrong? Maybe he just needs to stay in middle numbers so at least he is more balanced and avoids the highs and lows? It is strange how some cats do so well and others not. I know that are many just like Max but it doesn't make it any less frustrating to know that.

I'm wondering if he needs to see the vet again but I don't know why. His labs on April 26th were the best in a long time. I got the Cell Advance 440 to try and I'm thinking of trying zobaline in case that might help. He get up on the sofa last night and on my bed early this morning because he wanted food but I ignored him this morning. Last night he got lots of cuddles. I'm at a loss as to how to help him.
 
Re: 7/11 Max AMPS 464 DARN IT!+1=437

Unless you are seeing something that causes you concern health wise, I probably wouldn't take him to the vet because of his numbers. I also probably would not give zobaline if he doesn't need it. In other words....if he's not showing any neuropathy, why give it? It won't affect the bouncing.

I know there are some who believe if you take the dose down, the kitty will flatten in a little bit higher numbers and if you keep him in the high green to low blue range, he won't bounce. In theory, it sounds great and it works for some cats. It's never worked for Gracie. Even if she's running lower than I like but hasn't earned a reduction, if I take her down, she bypasses the low blue/high green and goes right to flat yellow. And I'm talking about with a 0.05u shave.

Will Max do the same? I have no idea but he seems an awful lot like Gracie to me but, still ECID.

Have you looked at Nekos SS lately? I bet you have because you are great at studying SSs. Wendy has been holding the dose around 1.5/1.5F for quite some time and Neko is looking fabulous. I've found the longer I am able to hold a dose with Gracie, the less she bounces but she's never let me hold a dose for more than 30 something cycles without earning a reduction or looking so flat high blue/low yellow that I had to take her up.

You might find with the last drop between 40-50 at this dose and a dose reduction, that less insulin will work for him and he won't bounce so much. In the meantime, when he drops, perhaps feed him more than MC to try and keep him from going below 50 or whatever number you think triggers the bounce (although it can vary :roll: ).

Or...last resort....ignore the bounce numbers. I know it's hard to do...impossibly hard. But he's clearing the bounces fast and getting good nadirs almost every day.
 
Re: 7/11 Max AMPS 464 DARN IT!+1=437+3.5=284

Hi Marje. I agree that Max is a lot like Gracie. The reason for the zobaline was in case the reason he can't seem to jump might be due to neuropathy. I'm so confused as to whether it is arthritis or that. My vet didn't think it was neuropathy when I last saw him and the issues started a long time before diabetes. Then again looking back at his glucose over the years I wonder if he was a pre-diabetic for some time although he never had any glucose in his urine. So as long as these highs and lows aren't hurting him I guess I just try (haha) to ignore the numbers for now. I will try the Cell Advance and see if it does anything for him though. Thanks for your help.
 
Re: 7/11 Max AMPS 464 DARN IT!+1=437+3.5=284

I understand now on the neuropathy. I also thought it was a longer term issue with him but perhaps you are right that he was pre-diabetic and instead of arthritis, it is neuropathy. I would think, although others may have different thoughts about it, that if it was neuropathy, you would have seen it get worse with the earlier, higher numbers he had.

I was not familiar with the Cell Advance. Looks like it might be really helpful for an ailing cat or dog. I think it would be interesting to see if you can tell a difference with Max after giving it to him.

So as long as these highs and lows aren't hurting him I guess I just try (haha) to ignore the numbers for now

It is something we all worry about. I try to focus on the fact that we're doing the best we can to keep the numbers in normal range and minimize the bounce and all we can do is hope that the brief pop ups into higher numbers are not harmful and that it is only the long-term time at high numbers that can be more harmful. I always wonder how Gracie must feel if she's up and then down but I never can tell a difference in her behavior. She plays and plays at 250 or 50. But a diabetic friend of mine said she can definitely tell if her numbers are up or down.
 
Re: 7/11 Max AMPS 464 DARN IT!+1=437+3.5=284

The vet on the lymphoma list suggested the Cell Advance and my vet said it couldn't hurt to try it. I just received it yesterday along with the Petsafe feeder. I just opened the bottle and the capsules are big so I have to see if he detects it in food. They have a definite odor. May be a problem.

As for arthritis, the radiologist noted sternal degenerative changes which I think would be arthritis. We didn't xray his hips. I just did some reading and am more convinced that this is his problem and he is in pain. I'm going to ask my vet for adequan.
 
Re: 7/11 Max AMPS 464 DARN IT!+1=437+3.5=284+6=300

:YMHUG: On the numbers...I know they are frustrating, but Marje has given you some awesome advice!

Our GA civvie Mario was on Adequan for almost 2 years....his arthritis was pretty bad and it did wonders for him. It did take a few weeks for it to kick in.

If Max is in arthritis pain, maybe that's contributing to his higher numbers, and if that issue is resolved, hopefully he'll start coming down for you!

Have a great evening, Elise!
 
Re: 7/11 Max AMPS 464 DARN IT!+1=437+3.5=284+6=300

Hi Elise, just wanted to jump in and offer :YMHUG: to you and Max, hope his meds help if he is in pain, poor baby!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top