7/17 Max AMPS 406+4=293+6=264 PMPS 251+2.25=257+4.75=174

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 7/17 Max AMPS 406

I'm glad you held the dose yesterday morning after he came down into green the night before. The typical dose increase threat worked but a little too well.

On yesterday's 39, it's speculation on my part, but I've also had this happen with Gracie. I've come to the conclusion it is one of two things (or perhaps both).

--increased absorption of the insulin you shot
--sputtering pancreas that tosses a little more insulin into the mix.

Those are the only two things that make sense in my mind but others might have ideas. And on top of one or both, he was clearing a bounce. I find bounce clearing cycles can really get them into low numbers and that's why I wonder if the absorption of the insulin was just a little higher that cycle.

Gracies pattern with this increased absorption or sputtering pancreas seems to be she goes from flat higher, dive to a low number, come right back up, bounce hard for several cycles. When she does that and I decrease her dose, I'm usually going to have to increase it again. Contrast that scenario to when I think her depot is actually full and she needs a lower dose; in that scenario, she's already lower and not bouncing, she goes below 40, she comes up very slowly, and she has a minimal bounce. In that case, she typically holds the reduction.

I really believe that dives and low numbers set them up for the hardest of bounces so be prepared that it might take him some time to clear. We will then just need to see where he ends up and see what his pattern is.
 
Re: 7/17 Max AMPS 406

Thank you Marje for warning me about this. I had a feeling this would take some time to clear based in how quickly he bounced and how high. He's also drinking a lot of water which he wasn't doing even when he started this dance. The only good thing about this is that I hopefully will be able to go to the bridal shower Saturday without worrying about him going low.
 
Re: 7/17 Max AMPS 406+4=293+6=264 PMPS 256

Max has been flat yellow BUT he ate very little for him this morning. He only ate a little of the food I gave him so far tonight as well. He ate like a little piggy yesterday so I'm not worried but it might have an effect on his BG tonight.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top