7/27 charlie pmps 381 +3 280

Status
Not open for further replies.

Darin & Charlie

Member Since 2014
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=122393
Had to skip shot this morning cause I have a job interview @ Charlie's +3 and is a 40 min round trip.
His amps kinda shocked me @63. His pm +6 was 131. He must have dropped more or double dipped. I suppose I will see a bounce come pm cycle

Lola update, the vet called me last night and said Lola was doing much much better. She was eating very good and is still on track to come home today. I'm guessing later this after noon.
I think I am going have charlie train Lola for ear pokies. He likes to hop in the bathroom sink to have his sugar taken.
 
Re: 7/27 charlie amps 63 no shot +1 64

Great report. Max gets his tests in the bathroom sink as well but I often have to drag him out from under the bed or carry him from wherever he is hanging out. He sometimes purrs while in the sink so I guess he's thinking of his fd treat. Good luck with the interview and I hope Lola comes home this afternoon and is as easy to train.
 
Re: 7/27 charlie amps 63 no shot +1 64 +3 120

good luck with your interview!

smart to skip his shot when you can't monitor and he's starting out in the 60's. not sure if you know, but if you've skipped a shot, you can shoot early with the next shot. so if he starts to zoom up and you can't stand it, you could go ahead and shoot.

the down side of doing that is that it can be hard to get back on schedule. the next shot would be due 12 hrs later. some people do two 18hr cycles to get back on schedule. some go back or forward a little at a time - i've tried to work back when we were 3 hrs late for a shot and eventually gave up and just skipped a shot to get back on schedule. punkin was incessant in demanding his food if we weren't on time.

or you can just let him be high and get back to the regular schedule tonight.

glad to hear Lola's doing better.
 
Re: 7/27 charlie amps 63 no shot +1 64 +3 120

I figure I would see a bounce by now +5 179
Lolas up date she may only borderline diabetic. The fruc test result was not that high. Vet said to only give insulin if over 200.
 
Re: 7/27 charlie amps 63 no shot +1 64 +3 120 +5 179

so she may need just a tiny dose to give her a little extra support while her pancreas recovers.

yes, newly diagnosed cats might only need a diet change. was she already eating only low carb canned food with charlie? or did she have any regular food or treats?
 
Re: 7/27 charlie amps 63 no shot +1 64 +3 120 +5 179

if her fructosamine wasn't that high, it might be vet stress that was driving up her numbers. we've had people document their cats BGs that will really soar when they are afraid at the vet's. Not all do, punkin's didn't go up. but some cats BG's really react.

let's see how she is when you get her home. i'll bet you'll be happy to have her back.
 
Re: 7/27 charlie amps 63 no shot +1 64 +3 120 +5 179

Yes I will be very happy and so will her 3 other mates, should be in the next 2 hrs.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top