7/28 Lola pmps 269 +2 259 +3 232

Status
Not open for further replies.

Darin & Charlie

Member Since 2014
Good morning.
So I have been such a good daddybean to my boy charlie, I have earned a 2nd sugar kitty, her name is Lola
She is 7.5 yes old and is 14.5 lbs. She was DX over the wknd.
Thursday evening she stopped eating and not acting herself, so I brought her to the vet Friday morning. They did a physical exam and took blood, gave her fluids and sent me home with a appy stim. The appy stim had no effect. Brought her in on Saturday morning. The bloodwork showed diabetic, she was hospitalized at that point cause she had not eaten or drank water in 2 days.

I got her back las night, boy was she happy. The vet wanted to start at 1u bid, I changed that to .5u.

She must have been taking notes these last couple months from me doing ear pokies. She did not take to the sink like charlie does, instead she perfered to just lay calmly on the counter. Only took 2 tries to get blood.

I feel so blessed that both my sugarbabies take the testing and shots so well.
 
Re: 7/28 Lola amps 241 +2 279

That's a pretty low dose to start her with, darin. see how it goes, but starting too low can result in high numbers, and if the cat's body stays high too long they "forget" that normal numbers are normal and the result can be bouncing. as you know, bouncing can be hard to eliminate.

There is a formula for the starting dose from the TR Protocol yellow starred sticky:

Using a weight based formula for determining a starting dose of Lantus or Levemir when following the Tight Regulation Protocol:
the formula is 0.25 unit per kg of the cat's ideal weight
if kitty is underweight, the formula frequently used is 0.25 unit per kg of kitty's actual weight
if the cat was previously on another insulin, the starting dose should be increased or decreased by taking prior data into consideration
Online Calculator for Converting Pounds to Kilograms http://www.manuelsweb.com/kg_lbs.htm

At her current weight (sounds a little more than ideal), she's 6.6kg - at 6.6kg x 0.25u = 1.65u for starting dose. we'd round down to 1.5u. Or if she really should weigh much less, 1.0u would be a good starting dose. i think your vet's suggestion was probably good. The initial dose is held for 5-7 days, so i'd want it to be close to on target.

great that she's accepting the poking! that's going to make things easier. you're going to be very busy with test/feed/shooting all day every day. :-D
 
Re: 7/28 Lola amps 241 +2 279

julie & punkin (ga) said:
That's a pretty low dose to start her with, darin. see how it goes, but starting too low can result in high numbers, and if the cat's body stays high too long they "forget" that normal numbers are normal and the result can be bouncing. as you know, bouncing can be hard to eliminate.

Having a VERY bouncy kitty, I wonder if this explains at least part of my problem with Max. He started on one unit and was 14 lbs. 9 oz. Granted my vet stopped his insulin for 3 weeks about a month after we started to see if he was in remission which is possibly another part of my puzzle. In any case, try to avoid a bouncy kitty in all ways possible is my advice!!!
 
Re: 7/28 Lola amps 241 +2 279

I'm sorry Lola has joined the ranks with Charlie...but it sounds like she already knows the ropes well. I'm glad she's back home and happy...Work with your DaddyBean, Lola!!
 
Re: 7/28 Lola amps 241 +2 279

I will up it to 1u at pm cycle tonight. And my girlfriend is going to start taking on half of the testing, feeding, and shooting. We just now have to figure out a schedule that will work for both of us. We work opposite hours, I start work as early as 5am and work as late as probably 3, she works as early as 3pm and home as late as 1am. She has already done some testing.
 
Re: 7/28 Lola amps 241 +2 279 +6 298

Sorry to hear that lola is now FD too, but you are an old hand at this now. I hope the schedule won't be too much of a headache, but working opposite shifts may make it easier.
 
Re: 7/28 Lola amps 241 +2 279 +6 298

Lola would not eat for her Pm shot I did not give her shot tried feeding her did all the tricks Parmesan cheese wet food or raw diet catnip. heading back to the vet so they can give her that stimulant.I'm starting to wonder if there is something else going on with her. She is acting just like she was on thursday not eating not acting herself. what else can test for?
 
Re: 7/28 Lola pmps 263 not eating skipped shot at vet office

i'd second anne's suggestion. pancreatitis is really common in diabetic cats and it typically makes them feel crappy, it's painful, and they don't want to eat. Is Lola "meatloafing?" that's when they form a shape like a meatloaf, feet under them, often the head is down and they are tucked into themselves.

you want the Spec fPL test. It's a blood test and will show if she has pancreatitis.

sending our best healing vibes to Lola.
 
Re: 7/28 Lola pmps 263 not eating skipped shot at vet office

they did blood work and the urinalysis still waiting for the results of the urinalysis I think they will be back tomorrow. to test for pancreatitis is that a special test outside of the blood work or urinalysis. had a vet tech give her her stimulant pill so hopefully she'll be eating soon and I can give her her insulin
 
Re: 7/28 Lola pmps 263 not eating skipped shot at vet office

also what I thought was strange when I was training the theater she was pine at the carpet like she was in her litter box trained to cover the food up what is that all about
 
Re: 7/28 Lola pmps 263 not eating skipped shot at vet office

LOL i think you've got some autocorrecting going on. but i think what you're asking about it that she's trying to cover up her food? is that it? some cats do it even if there isn't anything to cover it with. Of my 3 cats, one is diligent at trying to cover her food, even if there isn't anything around except bare floor or wall. it's some sort of primitive behavior - saving the kill to eat later.

it's not going to show up in the normal blood chem check. they've got to specifically ask for the Spec fPL. I'd double-check and ask them to add that test on. hopefully they've already got enough blood. it doesn't have to go to a special lab though, IDEXX does it and as far as i know, most vets use them.
 
Re: 7/28 Lola pmps 263 not eating skipped shot at vet office

Hi Darin,
It sounds like she was sending a message that she didn't care for that food. Maybe try a different flavor?
The Spec fPL is not part of the usual bloodwork. Lola needs to fast for at least 6 hours before the test. The blood is sent to IDEXX Labs for evaluation. Marje has put together an excellent "primer" on pancreatitis: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=79693

I hope Lola is feeling better soon. sending vines.

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 7/28 Lola pmps 263 not eating skipped shot at vet office

I was just about to link my Pancreatitis Primer so I'm glad Ella did.

Have you been checking her ketones or did they check her blood ketones on the labs?

I'm sorry you have two at the same time but at least you've got some experience under your belt now and Lola doesn't mind the testing.

Sending eating vines for her.
 
Re: 7/28 Lola pmps 269

Marje, they tested for that at vets, and yes some serious auto correct, i was using voice to text on my phone, lot easier then typing.
Ella, i tried her raw diet that she was on before all this. topped it with parm cheese, catnip, freeze dried treats, watered down, heated up. i also did all these with sheba chicken pate and also sheba turkey.
Julie, yes she does what you are describing, but not so much with the head tuck down. she look more like if a lamb was laying down. All my cats i have ever owned have done that.

When we got home from vet i brought her to her food. she stared to eat some maybe an .75 oz tested 2 seconds after eating bg 269 then gave her shot.
I i will call my vet about the Pancreatitis test.
 
Re: 7/28 Lola pmps 269

Marje, i just read your Pancreatitis Primer. Good info...
From your Pancreatitis Primer, Lola falls into, Kitty is not eating well and seems “off”. Kitty might seem lethargic, he/she might be sitting in a meatloaf position, hiding, and/or generally does not seem “right”. Perhaps Kitty also vomits, but only on last thursday and friday.

And I think why she seamed back to her self last night after coming home from the vets, she was having Fluid Therapy.
When she came home last night she was about 85% herself, i figured she was just a bit off due to being hospitalized for 2 days. It seams that is falling back to how she was acting last friday when i first took her to vet.
 
Re: 7/28 Lola pmps 269

My very first thought was pancreatitis. When got was first diagnosed his only symptom was inappetence. The vet I was seeing at the time did an US and blood tests but because the vet that did the US didn't see anything suspicious with the pancreas didn't run the fPL. Then they wanted to do exploratory surgery. I went back to my original vet who made me have another US and ran the fPL and enzymes and guess what? Pancreatitis. They get nauseous, lethargic, and many are in pain. I've dealt with it for nearly 5 years. That's why I've used ondansetron, cyproheptadine, and sometimes buprenex for pain. Some cats need fluids but Max hasn't yet. If Lola is nauseous the appetite stimulants won't help and that actually is a good thing because if they eat when nauseous they can develop food aversions. I bet you anything she has it. Max got it due to the stress of my other cat getting sick. Too many vets fail to test for pancreatitis. If all the rest of the blood tests are normal it is another sign. Max does run a high ALT with it but not all do. Lola might not even be diabetic.
 
Re: 7/28 Lola pmps 269

After reading some more on Pancreatitis, i do think you are right. Lola was the same as only symptom was inappetence, she was fine on her 3 am meals. She at at Charlies pmps time, then @+2 did not what anything to due with food and she was look pretty bleak.
 
Re: 7/28 Lola pmps 269

I wax going to mention it to you before but then you got the diabetes diagnosis. I know every cat is different but since Max did become diabetic his appetite is too good. Looks needs to eat small amounts of food at a time. If they eat too much it makes them feel sick. She needs nausea medication if I am right. Ondansetron is the one most of us on the yahoo pancreatitis list use but some use cerenia.When first diagnosed Max was on ondansetron for a few months. I had to use cypro too. Then a vet told me he wasn't getting enough ondansetron. Once on the right dose he didn't need appetite stimulants. The fPL test is an accurate test for it.
 
Re: 7/28 Lola pmps 269

one of the other vets at my office told me it take 7-10 days to get the spec fPL results, i will call my other vets in morning
 
Re: 7/28 Lola pmps 269

So the stuff you give max just keep it at bay or do they recover. Could Lolas higher BG be due to pancreatitis and not be diabetic.
 
Re: 7/28 Lola pmps 269

Pain and infection can definitely cause BG to rise. I can't imagine it taking 7-10 to get results of the spec fpl. Here it takes 2 days. Muffin had chronic pancreatitis, so yes she would recover, but it would flare up again from time to time. Muffin's brother, who is not diabetic, had pancreatitis once a few years ago, but so far it hasn't recurred (anti-jinx)
 
Re: 7/28 Lola pmps 269 +2 259

I live in Los Angeles and get the results of the fPL the next day. My vet sends it to IDEXX.
 
Re: 7/28 Lola pmps 269 +2 259

Max has chronic pancreatitis. He can go months without any issues. I have not had to medicate him since before he became diabetic last November. There have been a few times when I thought I might have to but then his appetite came back. Some cats can have it once and never have it again. Sometimes it goes along with IBD but I don't think that is the case with Max. Some do better on a grain free diet which fancy feast classics is. Some do better by changing to a novel protein. With dogs the fat in their food needs to be cut but that is not the case with cats. I wouldn't feed a high fat diet but fat doesn't seem to have the impact that it does for dogs and people. Stress and pain can definitely raise BG. Was a urinalysis done and cultured?? Was there glucose in the urine? That would not be common with pancreatitis. Was a fructosamine run and what did it show? Prior to diagnosis Max has had slightly high BG but my vet always felt it was from the stress of the vet visit. He is very conservative and wouldn't diagnose based on one test.
 
Re: 7/28 Lola pmps 269 +2 259

When i called the vets I talked to Some DR, not the DR that worked on lola, He/they must not use them or they did not understand what i was asking for. Today lolas Dr was off but she works tomorrow and i will call the other vet that i take chralie to, or maybe i should take lola there. they are a cat only hospital. the only reason i took lola to the other one was cause they are open till Midnight.
 
Re: 7/28 Lola pmps 269 +2 259

Yes the ran one. But i was not able to fully understand what she was saying on the phone to me (Heavy Asian accent) I heard something about 450 or that she is boarderline, i think her bg on bloodwork was in the mid 200's, i will get all her paper work tomorrow.
 
Some vets are able to do a snap specfPL which would give immediate results. It's not quite as specific as the that is sent off but at least it might help. The specfPL should only take a couple days.
 
The SNAP test really isn't as good, Marje. It doesn't give you a number so there is no gray area. He's in California so they can send it to IDEXX and get the fPL back the next day.
 
I will find out more tomorrow. and thank you guys for all your wisdom, I do not know how much more of a mess I would be without you guys. you truly are a godsend.
I hold up pretty good on the outside, but on the inside im I total complete mess. even with Charlie I feel the need to Test 1000 times aday even though I know he's OK. it's the what ifs that get me.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top