7/29 Max AMPS 157 +3.5=129 PMPS 210+1.75=236+3=263+5=269

Status
Not open for further replies.

tiffmaxee

Member Since 2013
YESTERDAY'S CONDO:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=122561

Finally back on track last night with a nadir of 77. Then this morning I gave him his shot and the needle came out BENT! I assume he got a fur shot. Hopefully he will get back on track fairly soon if he climbs high. He acted like it bothered him when I shot though as he moved. I'm so frustrated. He didn't wake me this morning but he ate his last meal later so maybe that is why. When he did meow it was time for me to get up. I didn't set an alarm but he works like one. I have Marta today so he will be under the bed most of the morning.

Vines and prayers to all beans and kitties in need, especially Mariko and Lucy, Amy and her dad.
 
Re: 7/29 Max AMPS 157

Hi Elise! Bummer on the bent needle! did you sniff the fur site for insulin? That is a nice start for today and hopefully some or all the insulin got in. Under the bed is Chi Chi's fav place too for hiding :roll:
 
Re: 7/29 Max AMPS 157 Likely fur shot grr

Since I always express some insulin and the needle is wet, I suspect that it would always have an odor. I'll know by the numbers, or not, if he bounces again from the good cycle last night, sigh. He is so furry. i don't know if I would find the exact spot to smell anyhow.

Could be food bump, fur shot, or bounce. This is fun!! Wish I had a crystal ball.
 
Re: 7/29 Max AMPS 157 Likely fur shot grr

If it is a fur shot, you will smell it even if you don't know the exact location. Rusty has had an "ouchie" shot from time to time and has bent the needle, but the insulin got in anyway. The technique I use for getting excess insulin off the needle after expelling some to get the dose correct is as follows: I blot the base of the needle with the edge of a paper towel (I am assuming that you are holding the syringe in an upright position so that the excess insulin flows down the needle to the base where it joins the plastic barrel). The edge of the paper towel will absorb all of the excess. You don't have to rub it: just touch the base of the needle to the towel and watch how the insulin is absorbed.

I hope it wasn't a fur shot!! (but if it was, Max will recover. I know this because I am expert at giving fur shots. They are my speciality :lol: )

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 7/29 Max AMPS 157 Likely fur shot grr+1.5=175

Thanks for the tip, Ella. I seriously think about shaving a few areas as he has so much fur. :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 7/29 Max AMPS 157 Likely fur shot grr+1.5=175

Rusty's fur is so thick that I can only shoot on the scruff. If you pull up on Max's hair you will be able to see skin and the pulling-up will make a "tent" automatically.

Ella
 
Re: 7/29 Max AMPS 157 Likely fur shot grr+1.5=175+3.5=129

I have stayed away from the scruff because a vet told me that it isn't absorbed as well. I tried it only once recently and I think he was bouncing so I'm not sure. After reading what Marje and others have said I am going to move it around and use the scruff, maybe when I want him to come down more slowly. Speaking of coming down, he is. So either he got some or all of the insulin today or it's depot. So hard to know with a bouncy cat like Max.
 
Re: 7/29 Max AMPS 157 Likely fur shot +1.5=175+3.5=129+5=147

Looks like he is surfing so I still don't know what he got this morning.
 
Re: 7/29 Max AMPS 157 Likely fur shot +1.5=175+3.5=129+5=147

Looks like Max got something this AM. :smile:

I sometimes think blue cycles like this that kind of wobble around and don't clearly go up or down are half-hearted bounces. I'll be curious to see what Max does for the rest of the day.
 
Re: 7/29 Max AMPS 157 Likely fur shot +1.5=175+3.5=129+5=147

Maybe, Jen. But it could be depot from last night.
 
Re: 7/29 Max AMPS 157 fur shot?+1.5=175+3.5=129+5=147+6=140

Sorry to hear about the bent needle! That happened to me once too. I think Billie jerked away as I was shooting, and it came out bent, but it seemed like the insulin still got in.
 
Re: 7/29 Max AMPS 157 fur shot?+1.5=175+3.5=129+5=147+6=140

Deanna, that is exactly what happened here. I've never had a bent needle before except for once when I did it putting it into the vial. I just threw that syringe away. I was thinking he might not have gotten it because it bent. I guess I will never know. Nice to see I'm not the only one who has done this. Misery loves company. :lol:
 
Re: 7/29 Max AMPS 157 fur shot?+1.5=175+3.5=129+5=147+6=140

Hi Elise, that happened to me to once I assumed it was a fur shot, but Lovey's numbers were lower and he always goes up with a fur shot at this stage. The insulin still got in.
 
Re: 7/29 Max AMPS 157 fur shot?+1.5=175+3.5=129+5=147+6=140

I've had a needle bend, as well. I don't assume that it's a fur shot, though. It sure looks like Max is having a lovely cycle.
 
Re: 7/29 Max AMPS 157 fur shot?+1.5=175+3.5=129+5=147+6=140

It looks to me like Max got the shot and so far he is surfing. :-D I wonder if when you gave the shot it might have hit his shoulder blade? That would be enough to bend those tiny, delicate, needles. I did that the other day to Rocky.
 
Re: 7/29 Max AMPS 157 fur shot?+1.5=175+3.5=129+5=147+6=140

Looking pretty good to me!!! Those needles are so fine that I've even had them bend putting the cap on them if you don't get it perfectly square.

One crystal ball coming up!
 
Re: 7/29 Max AMPS 157 fur shot?+1.5=175+3.5=129+5=147+6=140

I'd say the insulin got in, or most of it did. I've bent syringes before too.
 
Re: 7/29 Max AMPS 157 fur shot?+1.5=175+3.5=129+5=147+6=140

This doesn't look like a fur shot to me(This from the fur shot queen! :oops: ) I too, have bent the needle trying to remove the cap, and also because I stuck myself instead of Tiger :oops:

Pretty blue cycle for Max, hope he is feeling well and eating! Thanks for visiting my condo, we're okay, just a little overwhelmed with Tiger's numbers of late. I might post later, thanks.
 
Re: 7/29 Max AMPS 157 fur shot?+3.5=129+6=140PMPS 210+1.75=2

Thanks everyone. I feel better about the bent needle. I always feel like I am doing something wrong lately. Thanks for the crystal ball, Marje. I wish I could get it to work though.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top