Re: 7/31 Michael amps 241 7/30 pmps +3 299
here's your post from yesterday:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=122639&p=1274637#p1274637
we start every day fresh, so you can remove last night's numbers from the subject line. People will watch for your updates in the subject line throughout the day.
i saw you decided to stick with the 1.0u. don't be discouraged by the higher numbers yesterday and this morning. As Sienne mentioned yesterday, there are a couple of situations where you might see higher numbers but it doesn't mean that Michael needs more insulin.
New Dose Wonkiness & Bouncing are common - click the link and you can read about them.
Lantus dosing is based upon how low a dose will take the cat's blood sugar. So we're looking each cycle for how low it gets, to tell us what needs to be done with the dose. That also means that we don't usually change the dose based upon the preshot number, or what the high numbers in the cycle are. For now, you want to just hold the dose. Michael's blood sugar will come down on this dose - we'll give him a few days to see what it does.
Right now, the part of the protocol (from the
Tight Regulation Protocoli've bolded below is what we'd apply to MIchael - he's had some nadirs under 100, and you've just changed his dose to 1.0u, so you'd now hold it for at least 10 cycles before deciding if you should increase it. If Michael goes below 50, then you'll decrease it.
It would be helpful if you could get a test about +3 this morning, if you're home. While he's high at amps, he's not going to stay that way.
Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
are you putting Neosporin or Polysporin ointment with pain relief on his ears? that makes a HUGE difference in taking away the owie and letting his ears heal and tolerate the testing. i slathered it on every evening and they healed overnight. some people put it on 20 minutes before testing to numb the ears. always wipe off the excess before your next test because it will goo up the strip.
enjoy your birthday lunch!