7/31 Eddie AMPS 424, +6/292, PMPS 309, +7/83

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jen&Eddie

Member Since 2013
Yesterday's Condo

YESTERDAY: AMPS/226, +2/221, +2.5/162, +6/76, +10.5/242, PMPS/309, +2/370, +4/197, +5/171, +6/120, +7/153, +8/155
TODAY: AMPS/424, +2/316, +7/292, +10/274, PMPS/309, +2/326, +3/237, +4/197, +5/129, +6/110, +7/83, +8/96

Hi LL,

I took Eddie's dose back up to 2.25u, having decided that the reduction to 2.0u was failed. He still got good nadirs - like yesterday, but the lower dose doesn't seem to be able to keep the bouncing at bay. We previously had good luck increasing (within reason) despite good nadirs, which helped flatten the bouncing some. Just like Eddie seems to get some real momentum when he's bounce clearing, his bouncing also seems to get some momentum that the lower doses can't seem to hold down.

I am looking for some ideas on a couple things...

First, I'm wondering if I should switch Eddie's regular food to a higher % carb. If I understand correctly, the idea is that a bit higher carb may help slow the drops some...or is there another thought process behind some kitties seeming to do better with a little more carbs? Right now, Eddie's main foods are typically between 0% - 3%. I do feed higher carbs at various points in the cycle depending on what his numbers are doing. I've found that I have to feed the higher carb in anticipation of a drop for this to be really effective - it's pretty much too late to feed the higher carb after the drop is already underway. I had started experimenting a bit with feeding a higher carb at pre-shot - in the 5-7% range - if I'm suspicious he's going to head into a bounce clearing drop. Or, should I keep doing what I'm doing to steer the curve?

Second, I'm wondering if it's ever a strategy to shoot a once time reduced dose as a means of draining the depot a bit - as opposed to taking down the dose. The reason I ask is that Eddie almost always hits low numbers when he's bounce clearing. If it's just a bit too much overlap between doses, plus the added momentum of bounce clearing, would a one time reduced dose work to drain the shed, while at the same time allow us to continue shooting an effective dose for a longer period? Or, maybe that's an unworkable approach...

Any other ideas to help tame Eddie's bouncing?

Prayers to all kitties and beans who need them, especially (((Mariko and Lucy))).
 
Re: 7/31 AMPS 424, +6/292, PMPS 309, +3/239

I've wondered the same thing about a reduced dose to drain the depot but Max then switches on me too fast to figure out when to do that. Good luck with the increase.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top