08/03 J.D. PMPS 330

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dyana

Member Since 2009
Yesterday's Condo

Last Night:
HI PMPS (TOR)
440 +1.75
307 +3
299 +4
250 +7.5
I gave J.D. a little HC at +3 as that was a huge drop.
I accidently gave him R too soon, last night I think. I didn't realize until later that I gave it to him at AM +9.25 when he was 424 and again at PMPS.

Buprenex Question:
On July 30th, I thought I missed on the Buprenex in the evening, but did not give more.
On July 31st, I know I gave him a "fur shot" (missed his mouth) as I saw it go flying, so I gave him another 0.05
On August 2nd, he was twisting and moved his head and I'm pretty sure the bupe did not get in, so I gave him another 0.05. Last night, he was pretty out of it, so I think he got a double dose of Bupe.
On August 3rd, this morning, he threw up water along with his Pepcid in Pill Pocket just 5 minutes or less after giving him his bupe, so I gave him another 0.02ml this time.
Am I doing this right? Should I be giving him more, when I think it's not getting in?
If I choose to switch to injecting it, can I use an insulin syringe? I get these huge tuberculin syringes from the vet with harpoons for needles. Are the units on insulin syringes the same as the ml on the tuberculin syringes?


J.D. has had 30ml of the last of the Weruva this morning, took a walk and had a perfect poo out there, and then got 10ml of MaxCal.
 
Re: 08/03 J.D. AMPS 512, +2 434 - buprenex question

The syringes are different. Remember -- insulin syringes are calibrated to reflect the concentration of the insulin (e.g, a U40 or U100 syringe). There are conversions so you could use the same syringe. I did this with ondansatron but I needed about 1.5 syringes full to get the required dosage.

I think when you think there's a "miss" with the bupe, you're going to have to make a judgement call as to whether to give more.
 
Re: 08/03 J.D. AMPS 512, +2 434, +3 333 bupe & feeding quest

Thanks Sienne. I could use the harpoons I suppose, but they only give me a few with each vial of bupe. I'll just stick to the oral I guess, and try to be more careful.

Feeding Question:
So far this morning, he has had three 10ml syringes of Weruva and two 10ml syringes of MaxCal.
I gave him the Weruva at close to AMPS, at +0.66 and at +1. I gave him the MaxCal at +2 and at +3.

He does like routine and learns quickly. I wonder if I should try giving three 10ml syringes of MaxCal, and then another three syringes of MaxCal (one hour later) and that's it, morning and night. Then maybe he will eat on his own some during the day.
I am just thinking of when I go back to work on Tuesday. I have been filling him up in the mornings, and leaving a bunch of food out for him, and I think Ginger is the only one eating the left out food.
So, another thought is to give him two 10ml syringes every two to three hours, to get him used to eating every two hours for the rest of the weekend (although, he's pretty much had most of what he needs this moring), so that maybe he'll eat every so often when I'm gone to work. I'll probably still fill him up in the mornings, anyway. :roll:
I'm just thinking out loud and hoping for other's thoughts.


I did go to the one health food store that was open last night. They have SEB for $64.99 per pound and said I could take as much as I want. I am still on the fence about starting it as I'm not sure it will work with my schedule and his meds and suppliments, so I didn't buy any, yet. I also need to read up on it on Tanya's site.

J.D. does seem to be a little extra mellow this morning, and it may be because of my terrible bupe dosing. Giving him maybe double yesterday afternoon, and then skipping last night's dose, and then giving him a little extra this morning, because he threw up right after this morning's dose.
 
Re: 08/03 J.D. AMPS 512, +2 434, +3 333 bupe & feeding quest

Since you don't know if J.D. will eat while you're at work, it may be better to make sure he gets more before you leave.

I hate trying to decide if I should give more bupe if I can't tell if it all went in my cat's mouth. If I'm sure none went in, I've given another dose. If I'm not sure, I usually skip because I don't want to give too much. I'm not sure if too much has bad side effects or just makes the cat high. I did give half a dose one time I wasn't sure and thought only part of the dose went in. I think Sienne is right and it has to be a judgment call each time.
 
Re: 08/03 J.D. AMPS 512, +2 434, +3 333 bupe & feeding quest

Thanks Carla.

He is getting (well, supposed to be getting) bupe every 8 hours during the weekend. I go back to work on Tuesday.
So the schedule is 6:00am, 2:00pm, and 10:00pm, until Tuesday when it goes back to 6:00am and 6:00pm.

IF I try the SEB, these are my thoughts:
I can get sixteen syringes per 6oz can of MaxCal and it's 333 calories per can. That's 20 calories per syringe.
I could do this:
5:00am SEB
5:30am two syringes
6:30am two syringes (with half his meds/suppliments)
7:30am two syringes (the other half of meds/suppliments)

6:00pm SEB
6:30pm two syringes
7:30pm two syringes (with half his meds/suppliments)
8:30pm two syringes (the other half of meds/suppliments)

Maybe, that would work. That would be a total of 240 calories per day as long as I stay with the MaxCal, and 30 minutes from the SEB to food and 90 minutes between the SEB and his medications. Hmm. Thoughts?

Can I stop the Pepcid if I give SEB? I usually give him his Pepcid and Denamarin on an empty tummy.

I could do:
5:00am SEB
5:30am two syringes (1 Denmarin and 1/4 Cerenia and 1/4 Ondansetron)
6:00am Insulin
6:30am two syringes (probiotics and methyl B12)
7:30am two syringes (Miralax, and then 0.05 Bupe)

6:00pm SEB and Insulin
6:30pm two syringes (1/2 Ondanstron)
7:30pm two syringes (Miralax, and then 0.05 Bupe)
8:30pm two syringes (methyl B12 with Jarrows B-Right)

I'm not sure where to stick the Miralax..

I really have to be out the door at 7:40am, so maybe I'll have to back every thing up by 15 minutes in the morning:
4:45am SEB
5:15am two syringes (1 Denmarin and 1/4 Cerenia and 1/4 Ondansetron)
6:00am Insulin
6:15am two syringes (probiotics and methyl B12)
7:15am two syringes (Miralax, and then 0.05 Bupe)

6:00pm SEB and Insulin
6:30pm two syringes (1/2 Ondanstron)
7:30pm two syringes (Miralax, and then 0.05 Bupe)
8:30pm two syringes (methyl B12 with Jarrows B-Right)


It makes me tired just trying to figure this out :YMSIGH:
 
Re: 08/03 J.D. AMPS 512, +2 434, +3 333 bupe & feeding quest

i'm not sure about the feeding of maxcal - i haven't done that.

but on the bupe, we used the oral syringes for a long time, then switched to injected because i wasn't always sure it was getting absorbed. i thought that because he still seemed to be uncomfortable. i think there is some latitude on the bupe dosing. Donaleen just told me this week that her vet has said that 3x/day is ok and that Ozy could be getting up to .6 as the dose, even, if he seemed to need more. we gave punkin .2ml BID and i was just wondering out loud with my husband this morning if we should've given him more.

my point is that i think you have some flexibility in the dosing to fit his needs.

as far as giving it to him orally and then giving another dose because he vomited . . . my understanding is that it absorbs extremely quickly when it touches his oral membranes. i wouldn't think vomiting a few minutes later would have any effect on the absorption of what he'd already been given. i wouldn't re-dose for that. does that make sense?
 
Re: 08/03 J.D. AMPS 512, +2 434, +3 333 bupe & feeding quest

julie & punkin (ga) said:
as far as giving it to him orally and then giving another dose because he vomited . . . my understanding is that it absorbs extremely quickly when it touches his oral membranes. i wouldn't think vomiting a few minutes later would have any effect on the absorption of what he'd already been given. i wouldn't re-dose for that. does that make sense?

Thanks Julie. That makes sense. I just didn't know how quickly it was absorbed.

I don't know if J.D. needs more. When he had his dental he was prescribed 0.37ml TID and I ended up giving him half of that. Right now he is only getting 0.05. Maybe, I should try more.
 
Re: 08/03 J.D. AMPS 512, +2 434, +3 333 bupe & feeding quest

i think if you think he's uncomfortable, you could try a little more. i wish i'd tried giving punkin more to the point where he would've been ok being held.

you might want to double-check with your vet, though, just to be sure in JD's case they think it's safe.
 
Re: 08/03 J.D. AMPS 512, +2 434, +3 333, +7.5 207 Bupe ?

There are no vets available right now. I think I am going to try to give him 0.075 as his next dose is due in 10 minutes. He hasn't eaten anything on his own today, even treats, while yesterday he did quite well and ate 3/4 can of MC and lots of cat treats on his own.

I have started a list to ask the IM vet tomorrow, but that appointment isn't until +5 tomorrow morning.
I just hope this IM vet is one of the vets that agree that pancreatitis is painful, not like a vet I saw recently where he didn't think J.D. needed bupe.
 
Re: 08/03 J.D. +3 333, +7.5 207, +8 186, +11 251

J.D. has such low energy today.

I'm not sure if I should take him to the ER vet. I don't really think so, but I don't like how he is just laying around.

He has an appointment with an Internal Medicine Veterinary tomorrow at 11:00am.

He wasn't eating for so long (it seemed to me) and with him eating pretty decent (for him recently) yesterday, I guess I expected him to eat on his own today, too. :(


After I wrote that, he just now ate some cat treats (a few) and a little bit of high carb cat food that he should not eat because he's diabetic, but he ate a little food on his own, and that makes me breath a deep sigh.
He keeps laying around. I hope it's just the extra buprenex, or maybe not enough buprenex, or maybe from the busy day we had yesterday.

Please keep J.D. in your appy and feel better vines.
 
Re: 08/03 J.D. +3 333, +7.5 207, +8 186, +11 251

Sending LOTS of appy and healing vines for JD. You are doing an amazing job with him, Dyana. It's so hard to know how much Bupe to give, to know if it's helping. Cats are so good at hiding pain. I worry a lot about whether Sasha needs some or not. I hope the IM vet is a good one and able to give you some good info and advice.

Sending good vetty vines for tomorrow.
 
Re: 08/03 J.D. +3 333, +7.5 207, +8 186, +11 251

Thank you, Tricia :YMHUG:
 
J.D. ate some more HC (this is like 28% HC, were talking here Friskies Salmon & Beef Prime Filets) and got two 10ml syringes of MaxCal which he hates. I took his temperature and it is 100.4.

The thermometer is supposed to beep when it's done, and did not but it was in there a nice long time and stayed at 100.4 for seconds, but I think I need to buy a new one.
 
I went to WalMart to buy a new thermometer, and came home to find J.D. up and drinking water. I gave him some HC and he happily ate that. Unfortunately, I had to follow that up with a syringe feeding of MaxCal which he is hating more and more. I think I need to find something else to syringe feed :roll:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top