8/3 charlie pmps 244 +2 194 +4 96 +5 65 +5.75 49 +6 54

Status
Not open for further replies.

Darin & Charlie

Member Since 2014
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=122787
Looks like he is wanting to clear his bounce today and get back to good numbers.

Lola only had a slight response to the mirt, she at .5 oz last night about 2.5 hrs after taking the mirt and this morning .25.
The Dr. Wants a progress report Monday morning and depending on progress may have Dr visit Monday after work. Next step options are ultra sound or pil test. When I ask about the spec FPL its last like the Dr is not familiar with that test, when she talks about the pill test it sound like its the same. Is anyone familiar with this pil test? She also said invasive surgery is another way to test, but she said she would never choose to go that route. She has had several ups and downs. Just when I think she is back to herself, she goes down again. Its the not knowing that is tearing me a part.
On a plus she is starting to rub against my legs and walls also she is starting to let out her little greeting meow that she does when I enter the room she's in.
 
Re: 8/3 charlie amps 424 +2 339

Your vet must be doing one of two tests but is sending it to Texas A & M instead of locally to IDEXX. Both are fine but you get the IDEXX test back in 24 hours. They don't have a working relationship with IDEXX I guess. When Max was diagnosed we did an ultrasound but the vet didn't run the fPL. I then went to my vet who made me have a second US and the fPL and he was diagnosed with pancreatitis. An US would be a good idea. She could have IBD and need to have her food changed. Did you change her food when Charlie got sick? What was she eating before and what is she eating now? If it is pancreatitis she needs continuous cerenia or ondansetron daily until she is really over it. When my angel Tiffany got sick and I had to pill her it was a major fight and I kept losing. The gel caps changed all that.
 
Re: 8/3 charlie amps 424 +2 339

all my cats were on kibble before Charlie was diagnosed then I put them all on Sheba pate then I started making my own raw I'm wondering if I should go back to the pate for her when she gets better. I'm at work will respond more later.
 
Re: 8/3 charlie amps 424 +2 339

Charlie, come and slide down from those reds and pinks!!

Hoping Lola starts to feel better soon!
 
Re: 8/3 charlie amps 424 +2 339

I just looked up the tests and I am right. Your vet is sending to Texas A & M and it is the test for pancreatitis. They were the first ones to test. The fPL is basically the same but since it can go to IDEXX the turn around time is fast. Being in California I don't know why your vet doesn't use the local lab. My vet doesn't use IDEXX any more for basic labs as his practice was sold to VCA but they do still send out the p'itis test to them. I hope this helps.
 
Re: 8/3 charlie amps 424 +2 339

I will prob do both the pil test and the ultra sound to get the most information. All this is costing me a lot, but my pets are priceless, if I don't have them I have nothing.
 
Re: 8/3 charlie amps 424 +2 339

i think we all feel that way, darin. i feel sorry for people who've never had that kind of a relationship with a pet. it's like none other.

you might go back to the Sheba for Lola, at least.

My understanding from marje is that Texas A & M's test requires fasting. I think she gave you the post on pancreatitis - if you want to look at it again, it's in the New to the Group sticky with the single topic posts at the very bottom of the page. Perhaps that will help you figure out what test your vet is talking about and what you want.

Punkin had chronic pancreatitis - one acute bout that apparently was in the midst of chronic p. we treated the symptoms, didn't do an ultrasound (i don't remember it being suggested) and he cleared the acute bout fairly easily. We gave him cerenia for nausea, subq fluids and bupe for pain. Are you doing any of that for Lola? because if she's not getting some support i can understand why she's still having symptoms. If she's nauseous she's not going to want to eat even with an appy stimulant. I'd want her to have the cerenia or ondansetron to help with the nausea.

I did notice that mirtz says on the package that it addresses nausea, but people here suggest best results with an anti-nausea med before giving the mirtz.
 
Re: 8/3 charlie amps 424 +2 339

You are correct Julie that it is best to fast for 12 hours for the test. Those of us with diabetes cats fast less time. If Lola were my cat I would do the 12 hour because it is her first test. If she eats and comes out in the gray zone he won't know if she has it or not. If over that number it would still be a definite positive.
 
Re: 8/3 charlie amps 424 +2 339

She was given b 12, bup, cernia, fluids and the mirts yesterday at vets, I will prob get all that tomorrow yo bring home, I fail every time I try to give pill, can any of those be compouned for transdermal
 
Re: 8/3 charlie amps 424 +2 339

i don't know if it can be compounded for transdermal or not. probably could be given as a liquid, but i hated giving liquids.

have you tried pill pockets? i'm thinking i mentioned them before, but in case not, i'll tell it again.

the duck & pea formula for DOGS are safe for diabetic cats. it's like play dough. you wrap the pill in it to keep any taste of the pill in. i cradle my cats in my left arm with the left hand prying open the jaw. with my right arm, i push kitty arms out of the way and pop the pill with my right thumb back all the way down the kitty's throat. sounds awful, but it's quick and dirty. and it works.

if there are too many wildly flailing feet for you to manage, you can burrito lola with a beach towel. while she's on her feet on the floor, put a beach towel over her back, about 1/3 on one side, 2/3 on the other side of her body.

flip her over on your lap, quickly grab the 1/3 side and pull it tight across her belly, pinning her front legs down tightly. that part is important, otherwise they try to weasel their way out of the towel. wrap the long side of the beach towel tightly to the other side. if you've got it tight enough, she won't be able to move. then you can use 2 hands - one to pry open her mouth, the other to pop the pill in. we started like this with testing punkin and it works - there was a youtube video on how to burrito wrap a cat. that way he was still while we were figuring out the ear testing stuff.

i've never had success with anything except pushing that pill all the way back to the throat. if you're not fast with it, they'll work the pill out with the tongue.

eventually punkin realized he liked the taste of pill pockets, and after that i'd give him and Anya little balls of just pill pockets. threw them on the floor and they'd gobble them up. then i switched to putting the pills in them and that's how i pilled punkin. the advantage of the pill pockets is the pills don't stick to your fingers, and don't get wet while you're trying to poke them in. it helps that they hide the taste, too.
 
Re: 8/3 charlie amps 424 +2 339

yeah well I'm hoping if she gets back to eating again I can do the duck pill pocket or figure out how to slip it into food.
 
Re: 8/3 charlie pmps 244

Lola is back to 110 percent. When I got home from work she started rubbing all over my leg meowing to me. When I went to give her food, she ate like a eating champion. Not sure if the mirtz had a delayed effect or all the stuff they gave yesterday is helping her now. g:rol

I've noticed she seems like she's paranoid like were in a new house and all the sounds she was use to now spook her. She's always looking over her back.

Looks like charlie is coming down from his bounce
 
Re: 8/3 charlie pmps 244

Glad Lola is feeling better.....maybe you have a ghost that has taken up residence in your home? ;-)

And hip hip hooray for Charlie coming down!
 
Re: 8/3 charlie pmps 244 +2 194

hmmm, a 50 point drop at +2 - you might be up again tonight. sorry for the bad news but it's good news too. looks like charlie is headed right back on track. He's the little engine that could!

we burrito-wrapped punkin for the first 2 weeks in order to test him. then he gave up. after that testing was pretty easy, as long as he got his treat. the towel worked wonders for us because he couldn't move while we fiddled with his ear. he was a tight burrito - loose ones don't really do much, although i know some people still find it helpful.

i'm thrilled Lola is back to herself, even if she's a little bit spooked. she'll probably calm down when she realizes she's not headed to the vet's yet again! :lol:
 
Re: 8/3 charlie pmps 244 +2 194 +3 120

+3 120
Im baffled by these big drops. What is actually happening at the +2 causing the big drop and active cycle vs a similar or higher +2 and not so active?
is not part of his history.

9pm pacific is my 6 hr but seems that his nadir is 6-7 maybe I should be getting some 6.5 to 7.
 
Re: 8/3 charlie pmps 244 +2 194

Whoa, Charlie! We get it and we are impressed, you can drop those numbers!

Slow down there a bit my dear!!!
 
Re: 8/3 charlie pmps 244 +2 194 +4 96 +5 65

Only 15 more points and 1.5 hrs to go to earn a reduction, at the rate he has been dropping pretty sure he will achieve a reduction
 
Re: 8/3 charlie pmps 244 +2 194 +4 96 +5 65

he's bouncing in between these green numbers. it's like the dose is getting him into green numbers, but he's still reacting a little bit to them, so you've got higher numbers in between.

look at his BGs just for today. From the amps of 424 he's gone straight down til now. It's not that his nadir is later, it's that a bounce basically overrules the normal cycle. he's clearing the bounce now and will continue to go lower until the counterregulatory hormones and stored sugars are completely out of his system.

i agree with you - i think he's looking for another dose reduction for tomorrow morning. Charlie is now on, what we affectionately call, a "mission." as in, a mission to get off of insulin. His spreadsheet took a major turn on 7/16. all for the better. :mrgreen:

i'd give him a low carb snack now - a couple of teaspoons of low carb food to help him stay in the green numbers. it stimulates his pancreas and helps him stay flat.
 
Re: 8/3 charlie pmps 244 +2 194 +4 96 +5 65

just an observation about his dose - his dose today is 73% of what it was 2 weeks ago.

not too shabby. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 8/3 charlie pmps 244 +2 194 +4 96 +5 65 +5.5 49

Yeah once he got to that turning point, I dont think he looked back. He is determined to reach the goal.
 
Re: 8/3 charlie pmps 244 +2 194 +4 96 +5 65 +5.5 49

Wooo Hoooo Charlie!!!

Way to go!!!! Now that you have earned your reduction, please start going up for your daddybean!!!
 
I am really shocked that he took to this dose, since on on 7/30 am cycle was 3.5 shot through the bounce then he should have been reduced to 3.25 but I took it to 3 then skipped a shot on 7/31 and here we are today.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top