Re: 8/27 Noodle AMPS 355 Trace Ketones Should I increase do
Christianna said:
in fact I haven't seen him this active and bright-eyed in a long time.
Glad to hear this
Keep a close eye on his appetite and make sure he is getting enough calories to reach/maintain a good body weight.
I can't speak to fluids as they were not part of our experience however many here who do use fluids can offer experienced guidance.
Christianna said:
The vet did call me before he left today for vacation and said to go to 1.75U tonight for 4-5 days and if needed, go to 2U b.i.d. Does this sound reasonable to you?
Being that trace ketones are still showing up your best strategy is to be more aggressive. I recommend you hold 1.75 for 4 cycles and then re-evaluate. If numbers are not improved it may be wise to increase to 2.0u at that point. If there are still trace ketones, holding the dose could be risky.
I'll add that aggressive treatment requires aggressive monitoring.
Do whatever you have to do to get 1 mid cycle test each and every cycle.
You are on a tightrope here - on one side lies possible DKA and on the other possible hypo - both risky to Noodles life (as well as your checkbook)
The only way to stay safely in the middle and make the best dosing decisions while you navigate Noodle out of this is through close monitoring.
Christianna said:
His teeth, according to the vet, are "OK" but will need cleaning before the year's out.
Has he ever had a dental?
Glad to hear a it's in his near future. The impact of even one bad tooth can be huge.
Bad teeth and gums were BKs achilles heel. You can see the dramatic effects of addressing his dental issues on the graph below (and his ss).
He had a decaying tooth fragment removed on 10/23/2008, his first dental on 12/08/2008 and his second dental on 05/29/2009.The rest is history.