8/29 China PMPS 255,+2 232,+4.5 125,+7 136

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chris & China (GA)

Member Since 2013
Looks like my bouncing baby girl may be back

Looks like here we go again, although instead of diving and then bouncing on both cycles, it's just the PM cycle (of course!)

But this time she's bouncing from the quick drops at night, then having flat yellow cycles during the day so I don't know what to do with her

She's not bouncing back fast like she was, so I don't think shooting early would work since she's not bouncing back into the 300's by PMPS anymore...Maybe set an alarm and check her at PMPS +10 and if she's 300+ try it again?

I'd say that I'll see about getting her in for a check on teeth but she's not staying in higher numbers....she's still getting more than low enough nadirs...at least on the PM cycle

I just don't know what to try at this point (again)
 
Re: 8/29 China AMPS 316,+4 212

Even a cat having green nadirs can have their dose increased. You want to give the current dose at least 10 cycles - and China has 18 at this dose - before you decide to increase. But if overall, she's not where you want her to be, you can still increase with green nadirs. She's got at least 1/2 of her nadirs well out of normal range.

Looks to me like you could increase a shade - i'm not sure if the next step would be 1.75u or if you could get in between your current dose and that. I might go to 1.75u because sometimes skootching up in dose doesn't work as well as a more substantial increase. Then you've gotta super-monitor to keep her over 50 for a couple of cycles until those highs come down. The idea is to prevent getting a dose reduction for just long enough that the extra insulin brings down the rest of those numbers.

Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.

Just another option for you to consider.
 
Re: 8/29 China AMPS 316,+4 212

I've thought of that too Julie, but since we'd just tried the early shot last Sunday, I wanted to give it a fair shot at changing things...it seems to have started to, but then she's gone back to this craziness

Testing isn't an issue...I can pretty much schedule my life around her, even if the doctors don't always like it much...as it is, if I tested her much more than I already am, I think she'd pack her little bag and hit the road.....LOL

Will see where she's at tonight and may just try going up to 1.75....at least it's the weekend so sleep isn't required as much

cat.gif
 

Attachments

  • will work for food (Custom).jpg
    will work for food (Custom).jpg
    56.4 KB · Views: 214
Re: 8/29 China AMPS 316,+4 212

Hey, China! Where ya been? We had such fun last night, I thought we was gonna get together today, too. I waited in the lagoon for you, and you never came. I's back on shore now - it was the only way I could get my bean to quit poking my ears. Ya wanna come hang with me for a while? Hope I "see" ya soon! - Cinco

Sorry about the bouncy cat. I have no idea why Cinco didn't do something similar, but I ain't complainin'! ;-) :-D

I hope the dosecrease helps even her out. It's nice that you can schedule things around her. I can do that, most of the time, too. I can't imagine how single beans with full time jobs manage it.

Have a great day, Chris.
 
Re: 8/29 China AMPS 316,+4 212,+10 156

So..of course she throws a wrench into the works and drops into blue at +10!

China...you know you're driving your mamabean bonkers, right? Or is that all part of your master plan??

Tricia, I guess China decided to come investigate what Cinco is doing down on the shore...she'd heading in his direction! Hope he stays and waits for her!
 
Re: 8/29 China AMPS 316,+4 212,+10 156

Tricia & Cinco said:
I hope the dosecrease helps even her out. It's nice that you can schedule things around her. I can do that, most of the time, too. I can't imagine how single beans with full time jobs manage it.

In my case, there is a LOT of crying involved lolol

Iz chillin in da blues tonight China cuz my mean momma took me to TPB that smells like lots of other animals and where they like to poke em a lot. Why don't you, Cinco and I pway together for a bit down in da bluez? ~ Skooter
 
Re: 8/29 China PMPS 255,+2 232

Hey China! We better be careful. Our mamabeans are gonna suspect something when they see we has almost the exact same PMPS! Think we need to play it cool tonight? I'll let Skooter know the plan, but I don't think he wants to wait for us.- Cinco

Cliff diving, wrench throwing, wow! China sure is one athletic cat! :lol: I hope they both take Skooter's invitation and surf blue tonight.

Hope you are feeling better, too.
 
Re: 8/29 China PMPS 255,+2 232

My thought was the same as Julie's....I'd increase the dose and monitor.

I know it's frustrating when they do well on a smaller or even the same dose and then fizzle.

I hope you can get her back on track with some extra juice.
 
I didn't increase tonight...mostly because I could use the rest and if she ended up doing what she'd done the last few nights, that wasn't going to happen

Of course if my crystal ball hadn't cracked, I would have known she wasn't going diving tonight and could have gone ahead with it....lol

Something's "off" with China tonight...haven't quite put my finger on it, but there's something.

Hopefully tomorrow she'll be back to her normal self and we'll go with the increase to 1.75

Thanks for the visits and the advice!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top