08/30 J.D. +5.5 591, +7.5 564, +8.5 515 Question about R

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dyana

Very Active Member
Yesterday's Condo

Last Night:
534 +11.25 (TOR)
513 PMPS
384 +2.5
321 +6.5

I was hopeful with the AMPS, but he rose, so I gave him some R. I did get some back to beds this morning, and woke up after my first one to find diarrhea on the pee pad in front of the litter box that is mostly used by J.D. (so I think it was J.D.'s).
I didn't log into my spreadsheet until just now, but I don't remember giving him his probiotics last night, and I know he got no baby food squash yesterday. I still need to give him that today.

We have had 3 walks today. Urine ketones - negative.

He ate some cat treats and some MC FF Medleys in the middle of the night, and I added some water to the MC and mixed it all up like 3 times for him, and he happily drank that 3 times. Other than that, he has been syringe fed today.

I got up with the biggest of yawns at +3 and feel like I could still go back to bed some more.

Sorry, Marje, I did not see your post until now. I will try to add a little more onto his dose. I just am very wary of increasing his dose, when he is not eating on his own and I am at work. I will see what he does with the little bit more insulin through Monday. Thanks.
 
Re: 08/30 AMPS 370 (at +11.5), +4.25 411 (TOR), +5 350, +6 3

Hi there :cool:

Glad you have a few days in a row off from TBP.
sending extra strong anti ketone vines JDs way . . .

Good call on not increasing L while you can't count on JD eating. Easier and safer to add R under these circumstances.

Get as much sleep/rest as possible and don't forget to feed yourself ;-)
 
Re: 08/30 AMPS 370 (at +11.5), +4.25 411 (TOR), +5 350, +6 3

Sorry about the diarrhea. I hope J.D.'s tummy feels better and he eats for you today. I hope he keeps sliding down slowly.
 
Re: 08/30 AMPS 370 (at +11.5), +4.25 411 (TOR), +5 350, +6 3

Glad you got some I-) I-) I-) Hope you can squeeze in a few more.

Sending good poo and appy vines for J.D. I'm glad he's going for walks and and eating/drinking the medleys and treats.

Take care of yourself this weekend, too, Dyana!
 
Re: 08/30 J.D. +9 309 (TOR), +11 415, PMPS 434, +1 536 (TOR)

I couldn't find my condo :? as I forgot to put J.D.'s name on it :oops:

I have no idea why he is going up like this. I thought the R at +9 went into an air pocket ? because the skin sounded crackily when I inserted the syringe. The PMPS insulin could have been a partial fur shot. I did increase him some more up another .10mm, so now it's at 1.20mm from the increase from 0.95mm to 1.10mm yesterday.

I do agree with Sandy. I can try to feed him the rest of the weekend, like I am going to work, and syringe him 30 to 40ml of food before 7:30am, and see what he does all day, and hope to see him eat.
Or, I can go back to the original increase that I started yesterday, and try to feed him every two or three hours through the morning, which is easier on him and his pancreas, and hope he eats sometime in the afternoon, and give him R if needed. This is so hard. If anyone has any suggestions, please let me know.
I wanted to give him some fluids today, because he was walking around with his neck bent like his head was heavy which I think is a sign of low potassium. I felt he wasn't dehydrated, but I felt like just 50ml of fluids with the added electrolytes would help him. I sat on my hands so far, as I know how everyone tells me not to give him fluids for some reason.

Some good news is, he just had a perfect poo :)

I have to run to the store, because I have been having leg cramps bad at night, and last week I bought two bananas and the two days I ate the bananas I did not wake up to leg cramps. I think I need some potassium, too.
 
Re: 08/30 J.D. +9 309 (TOR), +11 415, PMPS 434, +1 536 (TOR)

the only thing i'm thinking is that the numbers you have in the subject line look like a bounce starting.

sending feel-better vines to the little guy! :YMHUG:
 
Re: 08/30 J.D. PMPS 434, +1 536 (TOR), +2.5 463

I ended up giving him what was left in the bag of fluids (maybe 50ml or less).

It's bed time in this household.
 
Re: 08/30 J.D. +5.5 591, +7.5 564 Question about R

Hi Claudia, I just see you up, and was hoping you might be able to answer my question.

J.D. had 0.2 and then 0.5 on blood ketones the other day, and I started to freak out. He has urine ketones negative.
He is on Flagyl and Baytril for an unknown re-occuring infection. His potassium and sodium were low and is on supplements for that and we just got them into the normal range, and his magnesium is on the edge of low.

I gave J.D. some R at +5.5 and again at +7.5, because what he got at +7.5 didn't seem to do anything.

Maybe, I should increase his R dose. Normally, I give him 1 drop (by holding the plunger in really tight, while I insert the needle into the vial, and then releasing the plunger while the needle is still in the vial). To get two drops these past two times, I just pulled the plunger a little bit, and guessed.

My question is, is it okay to give doses of R two hours apart?
 
what is his reaction normally to a 1 drop R bolus?

Consider -
you raised the L dose - when does a new dose start to show action for JD?
you doubled the R from 1 to 2 drops and gave the double doses 2 hours apart
he has had 5 drops total for the PM cycle
 
My Nova Max meter says he's 345. I like that reading better. It said he was 292 and then Arkray read 290 earlier today.

I just syringed a little food to him and will wait until AMPS to give more R. It's almost like my R is not working.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top