08/31 J.D. +2.5 350, +6.5 242, +9 232

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Dyana, Aug 31, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Dyana

    Dyana Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Yesterday's Condo

    Last Night:
    434 PMPS
    536 +1 (one drop R)
    463 +2.5
    388 +3.25
    591 +5.5 (two drops R)
    564 +7.5 (two drops R)
    515 +8.5
    514 +9.5
    597 +11 (345 on Nova Max)
    I just think it's weird. I tested the same drop of blood for that AMPS of HI on a spare Arkray Vital and got a 334 with a spare Nova Max. It makes me want to go buy strips for my beloved OneTouch meter and see what it tests.

    Anyway, I stayed with the increased dose, and gave him zero line of R which I think is about 2 drops.

    He got his syringed 1st breakfast and we went for a fairly long walk, where he peed twice and was trying to find a place to poo but was unsuccessful. ETA: Until he came in the house, and then he had a perfect poo.

    I'm btb for a couple hours. I think I'll try to syringe his his 2nd Breakfast now, and then not feed him until much later as if I was leaving for work for the day and see if he eats on his own later.
     
  2. Georgette and Clare

    Georgette and Clare Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2014
    Re: 08/31 J.D. AMPS HI, +1 538

    Hey, J.D., that food smells so good this morning. Let's go eat it!

    Have a good Sunday, Dyana and J.D.!

    Georgette and Clare
     
  3. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Re: 08/31 J.D. AMPS HI, +1 538

    Yay for the perfect poo! I hope J.D. will eat for you today.
     
  4. Anne & Zener GA

    Anne & Zener GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Re: 08/31 J.D. AMPS HI, +1 538

    Detective Poo, checking on J.D. Yay! :D How about a nice slide today?
    Liz
     
  5. Kim & Twice

    Kim & Twice Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2013
    Re: 08/31 J.D. AMPS HI, +1 538

    Keep eating those fuds JD. And WOOT to the perfect poo!
    Have a good Sunday Dyana and enjoy your btb!
     
  6. Deborah & Shasta

    Deborah & Shasta Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2012
    Re: 08/31 J.D. AMPS HI, +1 538

    Hmmm...I like the Nova Max meter reading better!!!!! But I understand why you're sticking with the Arkray. Sending happy appy vines and lower BG vines for J.D. Hope you had a nice BTB time, Dyana!!
     
  7. Dyana

    Dyana Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 08/31 J.D. +2.5 350, +6.5 242

    J.D. has been pretty lazy today, but I just got up myself a couple of hours ago, too. We just had our second walk. It is so hot outside.

    I did finish his syringe food by +1.5, as if I was going to work, and he did not eat a thing. Okay, well, he ate a couple cat treats and licked at a little tiny bit of FF. I syringed 5ml at +5.5, and 15ml at +6.5, then we went for a walk. He has also not been drinking water, but his gums feel wet and slimy.

    He's asleep in my bedroom right now.

    I do need to get to a dose that is safe with me leaving all day and him not being depended upon to eat on his own.
    I hope this one works well for him.
     
  8. Ann & Tess GA

    Ann & Tess GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Re: 08/31 J.D. +2.5 350, +6.5 242

    Paws crossed the dose works out for when you go back to tbp. I'm glad that you got some extra sleep tody too.
     
  9. Marilyn and Polly

    Marilyn and Polly Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2014
    Re: 08/31 J.D. +2.5 350, +6.5 242

    As usual, Dyana. Mega vines for you and your boy. C'mon JD, foodies are good!

    Marilyn and Polly
     
  10. Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey

    Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    Re: 08/31 J.D. +2.5 350, +6.5 242

    Nice slide today, J.D. Yay for a perfect poo. Now we just need to see you eat yer fuds. C'mon, sweetie. Please eat for your Mamabean. It would make her so happy.

    Sending many good appy vines and general feel better vines for J.D.

    I hope you get some good rest while you're off, Dyana. You have such a full schedule.
     
  11. julie & punkin (ga)

    julie & punkin (ga) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Re: 08/31 J.D. +2.5 350, +6.5 242

    nice to see him down some today. he must feel a little better with it too.

    while it might look like the R last night didn't do much, it could be that it kept him from going higher. I think next time i'd wait longer between the R shots, if he were mine, for one shot to wear off before giving another. But i suspect last night's R is part of the reason for today's 200's, so it's all good. :D
     
  12. Dyana

    Dyana Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    I'm thinking about asking my vet to try Budesonide or Prednisolone. Probably Budesonide. He'll probably need an Echocardiogram first, though. That's a drive across the state. It's just that even though he may need more insulin, the steriods could increase his appetite and if he eats on his own regularly, then I would feel better about leaving him all day when I go to work. Is that selfish?

    If I can get the day off of work on Tuesday, then I can do a fasting blood work, with Spec fPL and Cobalamin added.
    I've been thinking about that too.
     
  13. mariko

    mariko Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Dyana,
    Sending many feel better and good appy vines to J.D.
    No, I don't think that's selfish, Dyana.
    Budesonide or Prednisolone may do more than make him eat.
    It may make him feel generally much better.
    I think it's worth a try.
    I hope you are getting some decent rest.
     
  14. Anne & Zener GA

    Anne & Zener GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    No, it's not selfish. You are the most unselfish person ever. We started Zener on budesonide several months ago and it helped a little. We switched to prednisolone a couple of weeks ago and it helped a lot, much better appy and mobility and he seems to feel better. We all feel better. :D
    Liz
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page