9/7 Charlie pmps 325

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 9/7 Charlie amps 327

So the other day I had brought my tommy in to the vet for pre-dental bw and general exam. During the exam, Charlie's diabetes and what we do here came up. She seems to really want to educate herself and possibly other vets. She wanted me to send her info from this site, since its always something that I talk about on vet visits.
Her and the other vet are going to be going to a pretty large Feline conference soon.
So I sent her charlies spreadsheet and all the sticky links from both the relaxed and tight regulation forums, even sent her the convert a Vet sticky.
I just received an email back from her that she is taking all the info to the conference.
 
Re: 9/7 Charlie amps 327 +2 275

Excellent! Love that your vet is so interested and supportive. And that your motivating them to learn more and share the knowledge. My vets are supportive in a much more benign way. They just let me do my thing (with enormous help from LL) but don't really know what I'm doing 'til I've done it!

Now, Charlie, a sweet, slow slide down would be a good way to spend the day.

Marilyn and Polly
 
Re: 9/7 Charlie amps 327 +2 275 +3 198

Pretty big drop from +2 to +3 81pts, will be curious as to what +4 will bring.
 
Re: 9/7 Charlie amps 327 +2 275 +3 198

hi darin!

You are soaking up the information here so well, i thought i'd share some older posts with you that you might like to read. I posted this yesterday for Jenks' bean - there's just a ton of info in these 4 little posts:

julie & punkin (ga) said:
there are some strategies that people use if just going straight by the protocol (Plan A) isn't getting the job done.

In general, when a kitty is bouncy, the idea is you want to get enough insulin in them to bring down the high numbers, while preventing them from going too low in order to keep the cat safe.

One strategy is to "feed the curves" in order to smooth out the cycle. The goal here is to prevent any big drops. If you can prevent the big drops, you can often prevent the bounce that results. reducing the bouncing smooths out the cycle.

One way to do that is to increase the nadirs by feeding higher carbs (say try 10%) in the hours when you expect Jenks to drop down. Then you increase his insulin slightly, giving the regular low carb in the hours that you don't expect him to go low. You want to hold his nadirs up for a few cycles, which often is enough in itself to bring down the high numbers. Sometimes just a few cycles of doing this can really make a change.

I have 4 condos bookmarked where different people talked about Feeding the Curve and Bouncing. Take a look here and see what you think and consider if implementing a food strategy might help Jenks.

8/10/13 Tashie
6/1/14 Rocky
8/29/12 Charlie, Bouncing & Somogyi Rebound
10/29/11 Jetta

great job with your vet. although . . . i'm not sure i'd have sent the info from the Relaxed forum. The Start Low Go Slow method is about what's easiest for the people, not necessarily best for the cat. That method was developed prior to the TR protocol and has mostly been replaced by it. I have a definite bias towards TR - I've seen so many cats go OTJ because of it.
 
Re: 9/7 Charlie amps 327 +2 275 +3 198 + 128

Thanks Julie, I will reread you post and look at the ss links.
And as far as sending the relaxed link, I thought is was only right that she see the whole picture, in attempt to Include this web site as part of the treatment for previous clients and future ones. Then when they arrive here and land in the relaxed(where they can get their feet wet) we can then get them moved to tight regulation.
 
Re: 9/7 Charlie amps 327 +2 275 +3 198 + 128

Some folks go the other direction - start with TR to get to better numbers quickly, then are not able to do the "shoot low to stay low" and back off to SLGS AND move to Relaxed Lantus.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top