4/20 Morris AMPS 32; +9 398;+10.5 416; PMPS 418; +2 416

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 4/20 Morris AMPS 32!!!

OMG! I hope you get some help soon!!! Giving insulin on a 32 (to me) seems insane. Sorry for the bluntness.
 
Re: 4/20 Morris AMPS 32!!!

Rebound broke, dose kicked in.

Stall and feed a little to get this number up. If this was my kitty, I would NOT shoot until I was certain he was heading up at a good rate. No shooting a 32, not even a BCS dose. Stall stall stall, test test test.
 
Re: 4/20 Morris AMPS 32!!!

I did mention feeding some food, right?

Maybe some MC... If Morris isn't going up, then we'll see about bigger guns. But I bet he will be reaching the end of his dose soon. But the shed may need some emptying.

This is not a number to hang out in. Feed couple of tsp.
 
Re: 4/20 Morris AMPS 32!!!

Retested....same result. Made him a mix of 1/2 can Merrick (5% carbs), 1 can LC Fancy Feast (3% carbs), and 1 can MC Fancy Feast (10% carbs). Mixed all 3 together & divided into his dish....he dug right in! Will retest again as I go out the door & post result once I get to work.
 
Re: 4/20 Morris AMPS 32!!!

I hope that you are not leaving for work until you see Morris on the way up. :?
 
Re: 4/20 Morris AMPS 32!!!

Gwen can you be sure to test 15-30 minutes from your last test time? Please
 
Re: 4/20 Morris AMPS 32!!!

oh my goodness! What a surprise to see this number! I thought we had BOS when shooting in the 50's! I think you better take CD's advice and NOT shoot this!
 
Re: 4/20 Morris AMPS 32!!!

Since you have to leave... and cannot see what the results of food and time do for Morris, I guess the safest thing is no shot.

If you see he has gone up a little perhaps a token dose of .25 would be better than no shot.

What do you think?

Keep your kitty safe and then regain momentum tonight. You do what you have to do.
 
Re: 4/20 Morris AMPS 32!!!

I agree with CD, I would not shoot since you will not be around.
 
Re: 4/20 Morris AMPS 32!!!

Ok, no shooting this morning.

Post number from work and then tonight we see how he is doing after shed is emptied a little.
 
Re: 4/20 Morris AMPS 32!!!

(((Gwen))) (((Morris)))
What was the verdict, any shot or another BG Reading? Looking forward to seeing your post.. I am sure you are just caught up in getting to work, etc :mrgreen:
 
Re: 4/20 Morris AMPS; +15min 34; +30min 45

So I tested again & he was on his way up.....was at 45. I did go ahead & give him a BCS dose of 1.50u as I don't want to loose our momentum.....we are getting SO close to a good dose for him! Depending on how my day goes, I may be able to rush home for a quick test on my lunch break (just means I have to combine all my coffee/lunch breaks into 1....if work is quiet enough for me to leave for that long). I will also have the kids check on him when they get home from school & report to me.
 
Re: 4/20 Morris AMPS; +15min 34; +30min 45

Hi Gwen just read your condo, what a busy morning you have had!!! Hope all is ok, will be looking for an update!!!!!
 
Re: 4/20 Morris AMPS; +15min 34; +30min 45

Hi -

Just want to confirm that you shot a BCS dose of 1.5 when he was at 45?
What's his regular dose?
 
Re: 4/20 Morris AMPS; +15min 34; +30min 45

I agree with Sienne---I hope you can get a spot check during your luch break. :?

ETA - that rise could have been due to the food you were feeding.
 
Re: 4/20 Morris AMPS; +15min 34; +30min 45

Morris's dose was 2.5 units.

Most of us would not shoot a 45 BG, even if it was rising from 32 due to some food. You need a ton of data before you attempt that. I wouldn't have shot. This is not my kitty and I don't know him like Gwen does ...so...??


Morris's liver will probably kick in and there will be a big old bounce.

I worry about his appetite though. On SS it mentions he hasn't always finished his food recently.
 
Re: 4/20 Morris AMPS; +15min 34; +30min 45

I imagine his liver will step in if needed (or likely already has from the 30s). I understand that feeling of not wanting to lose ground.

I do want anyone reading this, especially new people, 45 is not a BG number you want to shoot and walk out the door on. Even a BCS dose, we just don't know how much overlap is in play or how full the shed is.

Not giving you a hard time Gwen we just have to be careful about other cats who might think they can do the same thing.
One must "know thy cat" before attempting to shoot this low.

Congratulations on a dosecrease!
 
Re: 4/20 Morris AMPS; +15min 34; +30min 45

CD and BigMac said:
I worry about his appetite though. On SS it mentions he hasn't always finished his food recently.
He had already eaten close to 1/2 of his food by the time I left. There has never been a time where he hasn't eaten all of his MC! LOL! That is why I made sure to mix it in with his other food....to entice him more!

D and Noisy said:
Not giving you a hard time Gwen we just have to be careful about other cats who might think they can do the same thing.
One must "know thy cat" before attempting to shoot this low.
Thanks D for not giving me a hard time. ;-) With Morris, he usually bounces very high very quick & that is why I wanted to give him some insulin this morning.
 
Re: 4/20 Morris AMPS; +15min 34; +30min 45; +4.5 232

I did check on him at lunch. It was 12:30, which would normally be a +5 check, but since I gave insulin 1/2 hour late, I guess today it is technically a +4.5 check instead. He had climbed up to 232 & had eaten almost all of his food. Since I don't want him to be hungry this afternoon, I dished out the remaining 1/2 can of Merrick into his dish.
 

Attachments

  • 120901_1116~02.jpg
    120901_1116~02.jpg
    11.8 KB · Views: 85
Re: 4/20 Morris AMPS; +15min 34; +30min 45; +4.5 232

what a morning! Congrats on the dosecrease!
Ok, ok... Mr. Liver.... not need to skyrocket.... calm down, all is good.
 
Re: 4/20 Morris AMPS; +15min 34; +30min 45; +4.5 232

How long before PMPS? Wanted to check in on you guys to see numbers.
 
Re: 4/20 Morris AMPS; +15min 34; +30min 45; +4.5 232

D and Noisy said:
How long before PMPS? Wanted to check in on you guys to see numbers.
Long time yet before PMPS time! It is now almost 2:30pm (Pacific time)...PMPS would normally happen at 7:30pm....but since I shot 30mins late this morning, I guess I should adjust slightly & shoot at 7:45pm instead (unless he is REALLY high when I check him around 7pm or so....then I might shoot early at 7:30 to help reduce the bounce).

I will be home to check on him after work.....around 4:30pm Pacific time.
 
Re: 4/20 Morris AMPS; +15min 34; +30min 45; +4.5 232

Yea, if he's bouncing at PS, might be a good time to pick up the extra time.
 
Re: 4/20 Morris AMPS; +15min 34; +30min 45; +4.5 232

D and Noisy said:
Yea, if he's bouncing at PS, might be a good time to pick up the extra time.
Yes, now that I have just recently learned that trick! I will check him when I get home around 4:30 (+8.5 from shot time this morning) and again around 6:30 (our 'usual' +11 time) and see how he is doing. Depending on that 6:30 check, I will decide if I should think about shooting around 7:30 or 7:45.
 
Re: 4/20 Morris AMPS; +15min 34; +30min 45; +4.5 232

Things might be changing (for the better) so I recommend not depending on his past history too much, consider it, yes but don't necessarily think cause he was a certain way before that is what it will be now. They change up on you, and you have to stay close when they do.

SS says he's not stuck anymore and bounces are clearing faster. He may be heading down the dose ladder faster than you anticipate, or he may not. It's a tough balancing act, not losing momentum but controlling how low they go. I'd like to see him ride in the blue and yellows for a few days.

I'd sure like to see those high reds disappear, as I am sure you would too.
 
Re: 4/20 Morris AMPS 32; +4.5 232; +9 398;+10.5 416 - dose?

Since he is still rising, I will check him again just before 7:30pm (our regular shot time) & if he is still rising then, I will give him his shot early. If he is not rising then, I will stall the shot until 7:45pm since I shot at 8am this morning & I need to adjust him back to our normal routine.

I know he earned himself a dosecrease down today....my question is what dose should I take him down to? He had been on a fat 2.50u....should I take him down to a skinny 2.50u, or drop him all the way down to a regular 2.25u?
 
Re: 4/20 Morris AMPS 32; +4.5 232; +9 398;+10.5 416; PMPS 418

When I checked him at 7:30pm (our usual shot time), he was starting to surf in the red zone. I lowered his dose down to 2.25u & shot early (this mornings dose was delayed until 8am). Will check in on him at +2
 
Re: 4/20 Morris AMPS 32; +4.5 232; +9 398;+10.5 416; PMPS 418

Whoot congratz on the dosecrease!!! You can do it Morris.. see how fun it is to freak your mom out.. keep it up! :)
 
Looks like I kept him from bouncing too high tonight by shooting a bit early. Lets hope we have a calmer day tomorrow!!!

Thanks again for all the input today.....I really appreciate all the help that this site offers!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top