09/15 J.D. PMPS 468

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dyana

Member Since 2009
Yesterday's Condo

Last Night:
121 PMPS
215 +1.25
125 +2.75
75 +3.75
129 +4.5
163 +5
HI +8.5
I gave him some honey (about 1/4 tsp :roll: I think) added to his syringe food at +3.75 as he was not interested in food.

I reduced his dose this morning, as I knew I would. It isn't safe to have him dropping like last night while being assist fed, when I am at work for 11 hours a day.

J.D. slept pretty well last night as I don't think he got his 16 to 20 hours of cat sleeping yesterday. He was up most of the day.
He did wake up seeming happy. He ate some of the 1st breakfast served. But not enough, so had assist feeding too.
We went for a walk in the cold morning air.

I'll give him his second breakfast, and then btb for us :)
 
Re: 09/15 J.D. AMPS HI

Wow on the night JD had last night. I don't blame you on the reducie. It is so hard when we are gone all day. Have a great day Dyana!
 
Re: 09/15 J.D. AMPS HI

Ugh on the bounce, but better safe than sorry w/ him not wanting to eat.

Come on J.D., DIG IN!
cat-eats-cooked.jpg
 
Re: 09/15 J.D. AMPS HI, +2 591, +5 217

I slept a long time, too long, and woke up with a headache from sleeping so long. I woke up to poo :)
We went for a walk, and I gave him 1 syringe and he gave me more poo :)

He seems happy enough, and goes to the cat food bowl, smells it, and walks on.
He is getting more bratty with the syringe feeding. I tell him that he can trade syringe feeding for eating on his own at any time.

J.D. I would like flatter BG cycles. Or how about I say instead, J.D. bounce more, then maybe I'll get what I want.
I'll shut up now.
 
Re: 09/15 J.D. AMPS HI, +2 591, +5 217

Ann & Tess said:
Ugh on the bounce, but better safe than sorry w/ him not wanting to eat.

Come on J.D., DIG IN!
cat-eats-cooked.jpg

Yeah, it's true. Last night he would not eat LC or MC or HC, so I had to add something to a syringe. I think I added a little too much. I've never used honey before. Actually, I think I've only used karo maybe once or twice.

Thanks for the cute picture :)
:YMHUG:
 
Re: 09/15 J.D. AMPS HI, +2 591, +5 217, +6 167

J.D. just ate some Friskies Tuna out of the cat bowl :)
 
Re: 09/15 J.D. AMPS HI, +2 591, +5 217, +6 167

Yay, J.D.!!! More eating out of the bowl, please!! Trix doesn't get syringe feedings any more, but I still haven't been able to transition her to fully eating on her own, without me holding the plate. She'll eat maybe 30% of what she should eat on her own, and the rest I have to hold the plate - she's enthusiastic, but just won't do it on her own. I wish I knew why, and I wish I had an idea of how to convince both her and J.D. that eating out of a bowl all the time is way cool.

Have a great afternoon, Dyana!
 
Re: 09/15 J.D. +5 217, +6 167, +7 167, +8 218 Pics

I just gave J.D. some of his leftover fluids that I could not give last night because of his dropping numbers.

As far as transitioning him to eat on his own, I am supposed to always offer regular cat food first and if he doesn't eat it, I am then to syringe feed him. I just think this may cause a negative response to regular cat food if it is followed right away by assist feeding. He is getting more fussy about the syringe feeding. He has eaten a little bit through out the day from the cat bowl, but not enough. His weight is dropping a little, so somehow, I need to keep up with the syringe feeding to supplement him. God help me.
The other way I am to try to transition him is by giving him a little bit (10%) less of his syringe food to see if he will eat on his own. Today, I only syringed 40ml of syringe food and have been giving 60ml to 80ml, so I guess I better give him more. He's just not being as cooperative.

I did call the Specialty Hospital to see if they can email the reports from the three doctors we saw there, so I can share them if anyone is interested.

Here are a few recent pics:

J.D. with his watering can out on our deck


Our walking path in our courtyard where J.D. takes most of his walks


Last night's sunset. Reminds me of California
 
Re: 09/15 J.D. +5 217, +6 167, +7 167, +8 218 Pics

JD is so very handsome, and it looks like he is the surveyor of his domain.

What a great day, waking up to a poo and JD eating from a bowl. :RAHCAT

Anne
 
Re: 09/15 J.D. +5 217, +6 167, +7 167, +8 218 Pics

I know they say you should not syringe feed a food that they like, because it can cause an aversion. However, I did find with Trix that syringe feeding her a food that she didn't like made for one very unhappy kitty during those feedings. When I syringed with food that she liked, she really didn't fight it at all, except maybe a little when I got towards the end of the syringe. And, I would often follow up with a plate of the same food in non-pureed form and she would almost always eat it right away after the syringe feeding - so syringing a food she liked did not cause any sort of aversion to that food. This maybe something different to try with J.D....either to help him transition, or - if you have to continue with the syringe - at least maybe he won't fight it so much if he likes the flavor he's getting.
 
Re: 09/15 J.D. +5 217, +6 167, +7 167, +8 218 Pics

Great pictures. Yay for poo. I'm glad J.D. is eating some on his own. I hope he will eat more on his own.
 
Re: 09/15 J.D. +5 217, +6 167, +7 167, +8 218 Pics

Hi Dyana,
Great Pics!
J.D. is such a handsome little guy. (The king)
So glad he is doing better!
Paula :smile:
 
J.D. was acting hungry when he heard my PMPS alarm going off on my phone. I guess it's like a dinner bell :)
He ate some Friskies in his big open mouthed way of biting his food. But, he didn't eat enough, so I waited about a half hour and then syringe fed him.
It's getting dark, I need to get another walk in, and then start to settle for the night.



I hope everyone has a good night.
 
Hi Dyana,
What a great pic of J.D.! I hope he'll start to eat better for you.

Yo J.D., we're having hotdogs from the cart in Central Park tomorrow morning. They taste terrific. And there will be eel sushi later in the week, and PIZZA, too. Bring a hearty appetite!
Rusty.
 
Only in LL would someone say
I woke up to poo
and follow it with a happy face! :lol:

Which of course, requires the response: Yay for poo!! :lol: :lol: :lol:

I'm glad J.D. is eating some on his own. Sending appy vines so he'll eat more.

Great pictures. The sunset does look like CA.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top