10/5 Michael am 91+72+3.25 76 +5 65 6.75 84+9157pm219 +2 284

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 10/5 Michael amps 75 Stalling Dose?

Hi Paula-

I need to get ready for work in a few minutes, but I'm going to let others know you are looking for help. With stalling, we usually don't feed because we want to see if they are naturally rising. However, not feeding is a double-edged sword because sometimes they can drop simply because they need to eat.

I do see that you fed, and that's fine...I just mentioned the not feeding thing for future reference.

Also with stalling, your next shot will be 12 hours from when you actually shoot. Can your schedule accommodate that if you eventually do shoot this morning?

Skipping is a viable option, especially if you can't shoot 12 hours from this morning's shot time. Michael may, and quite probably will, bounce from the low number, but that's OK...he'll come back down again.

Where's he at now?
 
Re: 10/5 Michael amps 75 Stalling Dose?

Hi Paula,

The board (or my computer) has been a bit wonky for me this morning, and I haven't been able to open your ss. :YMSIGH: Did you give Michael insulin?
 
Re: 10/5 Michael amps 75 Stalling Dose?

With the new insulin I Dont think you should be giving 2u, the night before you increased Michaels nadir was below 200, if you read the protocol you would only increase if nadirs are above 200.
I really think you need to go back to 1.5, because on 9/1 am cycle the dose of 1.5 took him to 48 with not so potant insulin. Especially now that you are using the new insulin and can not test very often.
If you are not prepared to test on the hour or half hour I would drastically reduce his dose and still get +1,+2,+3 and feed higher carb food if the numbers keep dropping.

Did you print and read the "how to handle low numbers"
 
Re: 10/5 Michael amps 75 Stalling Dose?

Michael's safety needs to come first.
Shoot low numbers is new to Michael and you, which will/would require frequently testing and higher carb food intervention to keep him above 50.
I really hope you did not give the 2u.
I have to work now.
 
Re: 10/5 Michael amps 75 Stalling Dose?

Paula said:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=126403#p1306446
Good morning ~O) ~O)
Michael is in the green (amps 75) Waited 15 mins. # is 59 I fed him his food. Waiting to see if the #'s rise.
should I reduce the dose? Meanwhile I'm 1 hr late on giving his shot.
Help would be appreciated.
Thanks,
Paula nailbite_smile

even with feeding #'s didn't rise. He went from 59 to 50 to 56.
I added a drop of karo surup to his food.Then gave a skinny dose of 2u. Just tested @ amps +2 72.
I will be home all day so I will monitor. He appears to be o.k.
Doing this scared the "H" out of me, but since he was above 50 I knew I had to try. (I usually don't shoot under 100) nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile
 
Re: 10/5 Michael amps 75 Stalling Dose?

Darin's got good advice and perspective, Paula. I value his opinions on Michael's dosing and he understands about your difficulties in staying up & testing.

If you shot - you must get a +1 and a +2 - counting one and 2 hours after when you shot. Post them here. I'm on my way out of town for my daughter's wedding shower, but will alert some others to look in on you.

I think reducing your dose to 1.75u tonight no matter whether or not he goes under 50 today is a good idea.

Please post with your +1 and +2.

WAIT - I misread your last post. Is your +2 75 or your amps 75? Does this mean you stalled 2 hrs then shot a 75?
 
Re: 10/5 Michael amps 59 +2 72

Julie,
I shot when he was @ 59 (because it was above 50). I think I gave a skinny dose 2.0 or it could have been
1.75 it's really hard for me to see the difference. Now his #'s are Amps+2 72. When I first tested this am he was 75, then he kept dropping. I will put the 59 on the ss instead of the 75.
I am really confused on how to record all of this and I think I am confusing everyone. Sorry.
Look at the SS maybe that might make better sense. (I hope.)
 
Re: 10/5 Michael amps 75 Stalling Dose?

it's ok - no worries!

I stacked test numbers up in the amps cell. So yours would read:

amps.................+1......................+2
12=56.......................................75
52
13=59

I'm guessing on the 13 - did you stall a total of one hour, ie you shot at 13 hrs after your previous shot last night? If it was something different, give the +hours from your shot last night where i put "13" so we know how many hours there were between your shots from last night til this morning.

Looks like he's going to have a nice green surf today. I'd keep checking every hour today until you see a rise, say to over 100. Pull out the neosporin with pain relief to help his ears.

Good job, Paula! We're going to have to find the BOS award for you for shooting the 50's! :mrgreen: This may make a huge difference in Michael's ss. I know you have said in the past you aren't working towards remission - is that still true or have you changed your mind?
 
Re: 10/5 Michael amps 75 Stalling Dose?

Julie,
I would like to see him go into remission, but with the hyperT I don't know if that is possible. I would like to try anyway. I don't like giving insulin I feel like I'm playing with fire. If I could get him off the stuff that would be nice. Also if this can't be done., Then keeping in safe #'s would be wonderful.
Btw what is the BOS award :?:
 
Re: 10/5 Michael amps 59 +2 72 + 3.25 76 +5 65

BOS is balls of steel :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:


Hows it going there, Paula?
 
Re: 10/5 Michael amps 59 +2 72 + 3.25 76 +5 65 +6.75 84

Oh so that's what it means :!: Marje you are too funny :!: Everything is going o.k. Michael is playing in the lagoon although his #'s are rising. amps +6.75 84.
Thanks,
Paula
 
Re: 10/5 Michael amps 59 +2 72 + 3.25 76 +5 65 +6.75 84

Hi there :cool:

Well well, look at you two - shooting low! :mrgreen:

(good idea to have some spares ;-) )
FWIW here is an example of how I recorded stalls -

Paula said:
I would like to see him go into remission, but with the hyperT I don't know if that is possible.
Although BKs hyper-t came after he went OTJ, so far I don't see any impact on his BG. . . .

Surfs up! :mrgreen:
 

Attachments

  • BOS (252x400).jpg
    BOS (252x400).jpg
    73.2 KB · Views: 732
  • stall.jpg
    stall.jpg
    18.1 KB · Views: 731
Re: 10/5 Michael amps 59 +2 72 + 3.25 76 +5 65 +6.75 84 +9 1

Wow, Paula. What a day. You sure did handle his numbers beautifully! Congrats!

Marilyn and Polly
 
Re: 10/5 Michael amps 59 +2 72 + 3.25 76 +5 65 +6.75 84 +9 1

Thanks for the replies.
So much for Michael staying in the lagoon (which matched his beautiful green eyes) amps +9 157. He does look good in dress blues also. Hope this isn't a bounce although it could be.
It has been a very trying day. Hope this gets easier :!:
Paula :smile:
 
Re: 10/5 Michael amps 91+2 72+3.25 76 +5 65+6.75 84+9 157 pm

Hi there :cool:
Paula said:
Hope this isn't a bounce although it could be.
Time will tell - it will be interesting to see the results of your before bed BG test.
 
Re: 10/5 Michael amps 91+2 72+3.25 76 +5 65+6.75 84+9 157 pm

Hello,
I have a few questions:
I have been feeding Michael Friskies pate of which according to the lc list is 7%-10%.
I understood that for lc you try to keep the carbs under 10%. Also I have been feeding Sheba pate because it is lc. Now I read if you feed too lc it may cause bouncing. If you have a lc carb food like sheba does that mean don't fed it on a regular basis. :?: I look for the pates. (except for fancy feast. It's to rich for Michael tummy.)Friskies & sheba seem to be what agrees with him.What brand of cat food do you feed your kitties on a regular basis :?: .

Any thoughts of when to reduce doses, earned reductions :?: ? I can't find the paperwork on reducing doses.
If you adjust doses fequently, dosen't that mess up getting ajusted to a specific dose of insulin :?:
I hope these Questions make sense. It is so hard to explain all of this.

I think Michael has started a bounce. I don't know if it was from munching on sheba pate all day or because he was in the greens. Any thoughts :?:
Thanks,
Paula :smile:
 
Re: 10/5 Michael amps 91+2 72+3.25 76 +5 65+6.75 84+9 157 pm

The dosing and reductions are in the stickies. Not sure what you mean by lc causing bounces.
 
Re: 10/5 Michael amps 91+2 72+3.25 76 +5 65+6.75 84+9 157 pm

A bounce is cause by dropping too fast or to unfamiliar low numbers
 
Re: 10/5 Michael amps 91+2 72+3.25 76 +5 65+6.75 84+9 157 pm

the food you are giving him is just fine.

I think what the connection you are thinking of between low carb and bouncing is that sometimes kitties who are very bouncy do better on SOME carbs rather than zero carb. The Friskies and Sheba are fine. Once in a while someone will get the idea that if low carb is good, zero carb is better, but that's not necessariy true. I suspect you've seen some comments on that topic, but that doesn't apply to your situation with Michael.
 
Re: 10/5 Michael amps 91+2 72+3.25 76 +5 65+6.75 84+9 157 pm

Lovely day and I think Julie and Darin answered your questions.

Great job, Paula!!!!
 
Re: 10/5 Michael amps 91+2 72+3.25 76 +5 65+6.75 84+9 157 pm

Hi there :cool:

Regarding carbs, you are correct - under 10% is LC. Some kitties do better at with the higher end (above 5%) of LC and some do better under 5% - ECID.

For most of BKs time on Lantus he ate Wellness (under 5%) and that was fine with me - I had bigger fish to fry with him.
One day he was done with Wellness - just like that. I then switched to FF, also under 5%. From time to time I try and sneak Wellness back into the picture - no dice.

Back in our day (FDMB class of 2008-2009 ;-) ) the nuanced feeding methods some folks use now had not yet developed.
Feeding mini meals throughout the day instead of large meals every 12 hours in hopes of not stressing a healing pancreas was cutting edge back then :lol:
I got on board with that because it made sense to me.

I don't think you have to worry about the food you are feeding him.

Regarding earned reductions, for a newly diagnosed kitty (less than 1 year since dx) a drop below 50 is the signal to reduce by 0.25u. I will also add that if you ever find yourself working too hard guiding a cycle with food - that too could be a signal for a reduction.

don't over think it - take every opportunity to keep it simple.
This was a milestone day for you and Michael - it's happy dance time dancing_cat
 
Re: 10/5 Michael am 91+72+3.25 76 +5 65 6.75 84+9157pm219 +2

Thanks for the replies, thoughts & Info.
It's very much appreciated :!:
If I understand this sugar dance correctly, Michael appears to have bounced. (pmps +2 284) so much for the lagoon. It's been a very trying day for both of us. Hope tomorrow is easier.
Have a good night all,
Paula I-) I-) I-) I-)
 
Re: 10/5 Michael am 91+72+3.25 76 +5 65 6.75 84+9157pm219 +2

the good thing about bounces is they give you a break. they also assure you that his liver is working fine and on the job to protect him from hypoglycemia.

sleep well! :mrgreen:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top