Jake AMPS 529

Status
Not open for further replies.
Food definitely affects the BG's.

The thing here is to stick with the dose you are on, UNTIL some of the more experienced dosing folks tell you to change. They will follow the protocol you read about above and help guide you through this.

As was discussed yesterday, if you change the food to something lower carb - say 10% or lower on the food charts, you should start to see if affecting the BG's.

To give you some examples of low carb options, I'll tell you what I've fed and currently feed my girls:

Fancy Feast - now called the classic options

turkey & giblets feast
beef feast
beef & liver feast
chicken feast

Friskies
Special Diet - turkey & giblets

EVO 95% canned
tried them all, my girls like the chicken/turkey - whichever flavors you try, make sure the label says 95% on it.

Nature's Logic canned - all three flavors

Raw
Nature's Variety
Feline's Pride - mail order only
homemade
 
It might be.....I looked up the carb content of Hills A/D and it is 15% (it is recommended <10% for diabetic kitties). I apologize if this was already discussed yesterday :? You can also add a lot of water to the Newmans and make it really soupy to syringe feed. Could you try that and see his BG's start to go down? Hang in there Lydia!! We are all here for you :YMHUG:

Here is the link to yesterday's condo so others can reference it: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=12593
 
Thank you for all of the advice about the food. I hate to see his numbers so high. I think you are right about the A/D. Tonight I will feed him 1 can of Newman's Own. The Newman's Own isn't too bad to syringe feed as long as I have a toothpick ready to pick out the pieces of rice that get stuck in the tube. Adding extra water helps too plus he gets extra hydration. He's tried the Fancy Feast gourmet chicken and turkey and giblets and Evo in the past. He ate the Fancy Feast for many years actually and recently stopped liking it. Thanks for posting the link to yesterday. I tried to do that and then lost it and then had to start over - I will get better at this.
 
Funny that you mention he stopped liking FF. There were several threads on health where everyone was talking about FF's product changes. ALOT of cats stopped eating the low carb FF. Mine included. :evil: But I switched them all to the low carb Wellness and they really like it. :mrgreen:
 
Yes! Jake and my other 4 cats all stopped liking the FF. One of my cats would give the dish a sniff and then walk away in a huff like he couldn't believe I would actually put that stuff in his dish...
The Wellness lo carb is a good suggestion. I will look into that too (though didn't Wellness recently get bought out?? I hope that doesn't mean a product change)
 
A lot of folks have noticed finicky kitties since Fancy Feast changed the labels. Mine eat it like crazy but they never ate it before the change so they don't know any better.

Special Kitty (Walmart) is another option on the food list

Sophisitcat (Petsmart) also has lots of lc options

I don't find many lc Friskies varieties that are low enough for my guy but if your baby isn't as sensitive they might be a choice for you.

We've been trying Petco's Soulistic line too. They aren't on the list and I'm not positive on the carbs but they don't seem to be bumping Tugger's numbers (though the difference between 5% and 7% will so I stick to 5% and less but other people say they can feed 10% and not see a difference in numbers so I think it's one of those individual things)

Merrick's Cowboy Cookout is a great food and mine love it (but it's beef so we can't feed it in our house with the kitten who pukes on beef foods.) It's been said that CC is the closest thing to the makeup of a mouse so it's just about the perfect food to feed if your baby will eat it once he's feeling better (it's too chunky for assisted feeding I think, unless you blender it)

You could try putting the Newman's Own through a strainer to get the rice bits etc out before the syringe filling. I'd stick a bowl under my wire strainer and just push the food through with a spoon to filter out the big bits.

I'm also noticing with my bunch that they don't like the loose pate foods, like Evo and Wellness, not sure if it's consistency or smell/flavor but they'll eat Sophisticat (which they hate) before they'll eat Wellness or Evo. They like the consistency or whatever of FF though. They also go nuts for shredded chicken type foods rather than pate. Tugger plowed through an entire can of Weruva Chicken and Chicken Livers this morning then begged for more please! While ignoring the full plate of FF Turkey and Giblets right in front of him lol.

I'd say print off the list (or write down the varieties and %'s of the ones you're interested in trying) and hit the pet stores. Buy a few different things in different flavors and textures to see if maybe he's just acting like my brats.

Here's what I deal with:
No beef
No cheap foods like SK or SC
Friskies bumps his numbers so that's out.
Picky about pates
Do NOT like weird foods like quail, lobster, or venison
Not very fond of Turkey n Giblets in any brand I've tried.

What they do like/eat:
FF Chicken Feast
FF Chunky Chicken and Chunky Turkey
Shredded chicken foods (ones that look like FF appetizers)
Fish. Flaked, not pate.

Anything else I put out is just in hopes that they will eat it. I usually pitch it though. Brats. :mrgreen:
 
Well Hillary told you all about their diets, & that's what causes the numbers--Hope you can find a good food for Jake & he comes down to some nice numbers..Have a good Fursday!
 
Thanks for all the food advice. I am going to print the list - we've tried many of these foods in the past and Jake has definite preferences - some he likes chunky, some pate - but he also likes to try new foods or ones that seem new because he hasn't had them in awhile. Putting the Newman's through a strainer is a great idea. I can't believe I didn't think of that. I try to mash the rice with a spoon but some still get stuck in the syringe. I'm so anxious to get home from work this evening and check his level!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top