10/18 Furball +10.75=305 AMPS=303 Ear Infections? PMPS=251

Status
Not open for further replies.

carfurby (GA)

Member Since 2012
Yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=127078

Furball was happy & purry this morning. Her ear has started bothering her again the last couple of days. I bought some ear cleaner her old vet recommended and tried it last night, but she fought me and it didn't go very well. I'm going to try again today. I may have to start the ear meds again. I don't know if the pink is a bounce or related to her ear bothering her.

It's frustrating because the vet said her ear looked good. She seems to just get infections all of the time. Can diabetes cause ear infections? Does anyone else's cat fight ear infections?
 
Re: 10/18 Furball +10.75=305 AMPS=303

i've seen others mention ear infections, but not a huge number of people. you might put "ear infections?" in your subject line to get the attention of the right people who have experience with it.

diabetic cats are prone to urinary tract infections if their blood sugar is high because of the sugar in the urine providing a medium for bacteria to thrive. i'm not sure if that has any connection with the ears, though. that seems like a stretch, but perhaps there is something about furball's ears that encourages bacteria to grow.
 
Re: 10/18 Furball +10.75=305 AMPS=303

I do think some cats are prone to ear issues. Edgar, a little cat-boy at work was constantly having ear issues. We'd just use a cleaner and some meds. I hate applying ear meds! So little to grab on to, and then the little buggers shake their head a splatter stuff all over. Sure hope things resolve with Miss Happy Purry.

And yes, the bother of the ear could, I suspect, raise BG. Of course, threatening a dosecrease might just be the ticket to bringing her down!

Vines.

Marilyn and Polly
 
Re: 10/18 Furball +10.75=305 AMPS=303 Ear Infections?

Hi there :cool:

My Black Kitty has a yeast overgrowth in his ears and is not at all happy about me putting drops in and cleaning them.

Is Furballs ear problem bacteria or yeast?
 
Re: 10/18 Furball +10.75=305 AMPS=303 Ear Infections?

I assume Furball's problem is bacterial because the vet gives me an anti-biotic for it, but I'm not sure. I don't think the vet said.
 
Re: 10/18 Furball +10.75=305 AMPS=303 Ear Infections?

Does the cleaner have alcohol in it? If so it may burn small 'ouchies' that might be there causing it to hurt. One of my cleaners did, took me a while to figure out I needed to change.

HUGS!
 
Re: 10/18 Furball +10.75=305 AMPS=303 Ear Infections? PMPS=2

The ear cleaner does not have any alcohol in it. I would have never thought of that. I cleaned her ear again today. Hopefully it will not bother her so much. I'm holding off on starting the ear meds again because other than her pawing at her ear, she doesn't show any signs of an infection.
 
Re: 10/18 Furball +10.75=305 AMPS=303 Ear Infections? PMPS=2

Vines for Furball's ear, that must be annoying. Keep on sliding, Furball.
Liz
 
Re: 10/18 Furball +10.75=305 AMPS=303 Ear Infections? PMPS=2

with ears, the typical sign of an infection is excessive wax or mucky stuff in their ears, and pawing at the ears. With a diabetic cat, the blood sugar often will increase if they have an infection. It doesn't look like Furball has seen a green number for more than a month.

Whether or not it's infection-related, which it may/may not be, you might want to increase her dose to get her out of these high numbers. If it is infection-related, as the infection resolves her blood sugar should come down and you could decrease the dose at that time.
 
Re: 10/18 Furball +10.75=305 AMPS=303 Ear Infections? PMPS=2

Hi Carla,
I hope Furball's ear will be better soon. Could she have ear mites? They could certainly cause her to scratch.

Vines are on the way!!

Hugs and scritches,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 10/18 Furball +10.75=305 AMPS=303 Ear Infections? PMPS=2

With BK, his vet swabbed his ear and then disappeared for a while. I can't recall if she looked under a microscope or exactly what method was used but the outcome was that it was yeast.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top