Re: 10/19/2014 DOSE ADVICE 122 +4 114 +6 125 +9 160 PMPS 22
i don't think your reduced dose this morning caused the 160, cindy, or the 222 at pmps. it is ok to reduce the dose when you know you can't monitor and you're worried about his safety - that's called being smart. It's better to have him go a little high for a while than for him to go too low with no one home.
for a little perspective - 160AT is still in the normal blood sugar range, so it's ok. Blood sugar fluctuates - you're more aware of it because you're testing more, but it's been doing this all along.
Betty's advice about food is good. I had to go back to work while punkin was diabetic and we got a timed feeder, the
PetSafe 5 compartment feeder to help while my husband and I were at work. We always fed him at +3, so we began putting all of his +3 meals into the feeder. Then when he was used to eating from there, and I was headed back to work, we could be confident punkin would eat while no one was home. If we got a low preshot in the morning, we'd set times on the feeder for it to open and put food in all 4 covered compartments.
If a cat goes into low numbers, the first tool we use is food. So if you've got food available and you have practiced so you know Norman will eat from the feeder, that can give you a measure of safety. Punkin's nadirs were usually around +5.5, so we'd set the feeder to open at +3 for his regular mini-meal (1.5oz food), then have it open at +4, +4.5, +5, for example, so that we knew he was getting food to sustain his blood sugar from going low.
With both a timed feeder or catsickles, you want to practice when you're home so you are confident he'll eat them when it counts. Having a back-up plan for feeding can give you a little more flexibility in life.
If Normal keeps going up with your next test this evening, I'm going to think that he's
bouncing. Read the second post in that link to get an explanation of it.
we do have a saying here - "this is a marathon, not a sprint." As you understand more you won't be as easily freaked out. Everyone does it at the beginning, though - you're in good company and we all get it! While Norman looks like he's doing well, it will still help you if you think of this as a marathon - gear yourself up for doing it for a while.
