10/24 AMPS 224, +2=306. NEED ADVICE for tomorrow's PM dose

Status
Not open for further replies.

JenM

Member Since 2013
Last condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=127337&p=1314348#p1314348

So, I totally meant to figure this out WAY sooner, but it kept slipping my mind.

Tomorrow evening I have my big annual fundraiser auction for the shelter that I adopted Tink and Hoppy from. It's something I've done every year for the last 9 years and I have a pretty important role there. It would be hard for them to replace me since I already know the auction software so well, so despite knowing it would be highly inconvenient with Tink on insulin, I told them I'd go.

Problem is, I have to be there at 4:45pm and it's just over 2hrs away. So I'll be leaving the house at 2 (I'll need to stop and charge my car, plus it's Seattle area so traffic can easily add a LOT of time to your route). I wont be home until around midnight. Obviously, this creates an issue with the insulin.

My options are limited. My daughter attends the event as well - so there is nobody that could shoot. Either I skip the dose, or I take him with me. Tink does not travel well - he will be HIGHLY stressed - plus cooped up in a tiny carrier the whole time. I COULD probably get him into the building - but even that is iffy - and it's a huge event so would probably just stress him out even more. My thought is that skipping is the best option. I think the extra stress of that long trip, when he stresses even over a 10min ride to the vet, would probably cause his numbers to be high even WITH insulin.

Of course, the other downside is that I was PLANNING a dose increase tonight - but had forgotten that the event was tomorrow (time flies). So, looks like I can't do that this weekend either.

Appreciate insight here. Am I going to create a HUGE set back by skipping a dose? I'm sure he'll be sky high - but then again, that happens often enough as it is - with his food ninja skillz. Also, we're still pretty unregulated - so I'm not sure if I'd really lose THAT much momentum by skipping a dose. He just really, really, REALLY doesn't like to be in the carrier or the car or anywhere that isn't home. If it was Hoppy, he'd go with no questions asked. He loves that kinda thing. But Tink is a recluse to the fullest extent of the word. He makes himself scarce even if we have company over - people that have been coming over for years.
 
Re: 10/24 AMPS 224, +2=306. NEED ADVICE for tomorrow's PM d

Skipping isn't that big of a deal. If you think about it like a fur shot, it's less of an ordeal.

I don't know if this will work in terms of timing, but if you were to shoot on an 18 hr cycle for two cycles, Tink wouldn't be going for 24 hrs without insulin.
 
Re: 10/24 AMPS 224, +2=306. NEED ADVICE for tomorrow's PM d

I would not take him with me. It sounds too rough for him. He's better off at home.

There is a 18 hour schedule that perhaps you could shoot him when you return. I haven't done it so I will let those who have
tell you more about it. It's better than just plain skipping.
 
Re: 10/24 AMPS 224, +2=306. NEED ADVICE for tomorrow's PM d

I could definitely do an 18hr cycle. I normally shoot at 5pm/5am. So if I shoot at 5:15 tonight, and 5:30 Saturday AM (just to get the timing a little better), then at 11:30/12 when I get home Saturday night... then I'd just resume my regular 5:00 shot Sunday night? Or should I do it a little earlier Sunday night and Monday morning? I can't shoot until 4pm at the EARLIEST for Monday PM, that's the earliest I can be home, but I can do whatever I need to in the morning.
 
Re: 10/24 AMPS 224, +2=306. NEED ADVICE for tomorrow's PM d

Hi Jen. I had to do the 18 hour for Max. I skipped his morning shot and shot 6 hours later. Then I skipped the night shot and shot at the regular time in the morning. It didn't mess him up much. Take a look at my ss for September 6th. Have fun at the event.
 
Re: 10/24 AMPS 224, +2=306. NEED ADVICE for tomorrow's PM d

I've tried the 18/18 too, but for Tess I think just skipping works better. The 18/18 is a longer period on reduced insulin. But then Tess always recovers from fur shots quickly. Another thought is that if you have R just a touch of that in the middle of the long cycle might keep him from going too high.

Or you could shoot and leave a macaroon for him! ;-) :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 10/24 AMPS 224, +2=306. NEED ADVICE for tomorrow's PM d

Ann & Tess said:
I've tried the 18/18 too, but for Tess I think just skipping works better. The 18/18 is a longer period on reduced insulin. But then Tess always recovers from fur shots quickly. Another thought is that if you have R just a touch of that in the middle of the long cycle might keep him from going too high.

Or you could shoot and leave a macaroon for him! ;-) :lol: :lol:


HAHA. No kidding huh? Sometimes I wonder why I even bother with hc cat food for lows - I should just break out the human food.

Tink recovers quickly from furshots (and sometimes, macaroons) as well... so maybe I will just skip.

I'll test him when I get home that night and if he's crazy high, I'll probably shoot. If he's not too bad, I'll just wait till morning. Once the 18hr thing made sense in my head - I did have concerns that it's actually going to make him go longer with less than his regular insulin than skipping - though I see the benefit of both sides. If that sounds problematic, someone please chime in - I've never intentionally skipped before. And unfortunately I do not have any other insulin on hand (well, I still have the ProZinc, but that's not gonna do any good in this case).
 
Re: 10/24 AMPS 224, +2=306. NEED ADVICE for tomorrow's PM d

I know! Skipping shots is so hard, but sometime you just have to live your life.
 
Re: 10/24 AMPS 224, +2=306. NEED ADVICE for tomorrow's PM d

skipping or the 18 hrs cycle both sound like workable ideas to me. have fun!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top