11/25/14 Keiko's AMPS 341

Status
Not open for further replies.

KeikosHuman

Member Since 2014
Hello all,
(last post: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=128637)

Here is a recap of Keiko's BG journey the last few days:
11/19/14
7 units
AMPS - 311
+5 - 413
+10/PMPS - 389

11/20/14 - 7 units
AMPS - 346
+8 - 368
+11/PMPS - 245
+3 - 369

11/21/14 -Alphatrak meter - 7 units
AMPS - 381
+2 - 334
+5 - 421
+8 - 416
+10/PMPS - 396
+4 - 433

11/22/14 human meter 7.5 units
AMPS - 448
PMPS/+10 - 425

11/23/14 - 7.5 units
AMPS - 384
+11/PMPS - 434
+4 - 362

!!/24/14 - 7.5 units
AMPS - 307
+9/PMPS - 349
+6 - 362

11/25/14 - 7.5.units
AMPS - 341

Thanks for your help!
 
Hi Maria!

Nice to see you!

I wouldn't wait so long on a dose that isn't getting Keiko into normal numbers. You don't have to put them all in the post like this unless it helps you. I don't know about everyone else, but i always look at the spreadsheet to see them in context.

Here's the Protocol AT page.
If nadir blood glucose concentration >300mg/dL (17 mmol/L) Increase every 3 days by 0.5 IU

If you've got at least one mid-cycle in each cycle, as well as the preshots, and everything continues to be over 300, I'd be increasing every 3 days to try to get him into a better range of blood sugar.
 
Hi Julie, thanks!

He has had some mid-200s. This am he was 299. :smile:

My vet seems to want to wait 5 -7 days. I sent her the protocol and I'll increase Keiko tonight to 8 units. I won't be here tonight though. I gave him 7.5 earlier this morning. Should I give him .5 now and see how he does today? I prefer not to increase and not be around. My situation is such that 3 days a week I am at home during the day only.
 
Did you mean you already gave him his regular shot and then you gave him a second shot later of the 0.5u? I hope they were fairly close together. If you give 2 Lantus doses hours apart you have to think about what the nadirs from each shot might do. I'm assuming those 2 shots were close in time. If not, I'd be monitoring extra today.

Do you have a timed feeder that you can stock for him for the cycles that you are gone? I found the PetSafe 5 Compartment Feeder was worth its weight in gold for my peace of mind when i had to go back to work. Here's a bit of a recent discussion on feeders: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=121121&p=1262140#p1262140
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top