12/1 Keiko AMPS 416

Status
Not open for further replies.

KeikosHuman

Member Since 2014
Here's my last post:

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=129105

I started K on 9 units this morning. He continues to behave more like his old self. Today he has been sleeping a bit more than usual.
I sent my vet the protocol again and she said she would look at it. I let her know I wanted to increase his dose closer to 2 days or 3 rather than 5-7.

If Keiko bounces with each change and I increase him every 2-3 days, how/when could I see improvement? Seems like the increase in dose bounces him higher for a while. I'm chagrined to see 400s again. Thank you - your thoughts and advice are very welcome.

M & K
 
I know how you are feeling like your kitty is never going to get into the lower numbers. I felt the same way with Toby. Every morning I would post and he would be the highest one on the board. I kept asking if they thought he was getting to much insulin because his numbers were so high. They would tell me as long as I was following protocol that we were alright. I would get so discouraged. Then Wendy,Julie and the others kept telling me to hang in there. That we would see better numbers. It took us 12 units before we started to see much improvement. Now he is doing good he has room for improvement but, over all he is a lot better. They
told me not to just look at the numbers. To look for improvements in your kitty. Like his hair is it shiny? Is he Playing a lot? Is his legs stronger? Does he pee a lot less? Drink less water? If yes to any of these than I would say you have some improvements. So all I can say is hang in there things will get better. Peg and Toby
 
yes to everything Peg said! it just takes being methodical and sticking with the protocol guidelines for increasing. Even with bouncing and new dose wonkiness, we'll be able to tell when he's getting closer to a good dose. When you start seeing regular blues then you'd want to slow down the increases. It sure helps to see that others have been in your shoes - and Peg is the most recent one there. :-D
 
FD is a very tough disease- it is not like if you have a headache, you take an asprin and it goes away! Insulin is a hormone and so it results are unpredidtable. But I've been around here enough to learn a few things- ECID, and the slow increases until you reach the breakthrough dose -really works well! I am not one who ever gives dose advice but I think this below was the best advice I read from this forum because it made me smile when I needed it, and I've never forgotten it- Thank you Julie :-D

julie & punkin (ga) said:
When I started on FDMB, there was an advisor, Jojo, who was a vet tech and had been a primary teacher of all things FD to the members here. She was just going off as I was starting, but for a long time afterwards I heard people quote her "Jojo-isms." One of them stuck with me.

"Be the tank. A tank always gets where it's going."

I think that's pretty apt for FD. You've got to just keep going on until you get the response you want.

You'll get there. :-D
 
Perhaps cat size can affect dose need(?) Keiko is 17-18 lbs.
Thank you guys so much for your encouraging messages! We're continuing on. I've got him on 9 units now.
Have a great day.
M & K
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top