12/7 Mikey PMPS 111 +1 136 +2 146 +3 140 +4 143

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marycatmom

Member Since 2014
Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=129568

Well this isn't working! Julie, my thought was to raise his dose too, then a had the same following thought, it's Mikey! My next thought was to get the calipers going so the dose is accurate and switch back to the 3% food. The I realize that changing two variables at once is just plan stupid. We'll never know what's working. So I've come up with a plan, and I'm hoping several people will look at it and his spreadsheet, and tell me if it's a good one.

1. For the next two cycles, we dose the current dose with calipers and continue the 8% food.
2. If his numbers don't improve, the next two cycles we continue dosing with calipers and go back to 3% food.
3. If his numbers still aren't decent, we increase his dose at the next safe opportunity.

What do you all think?
 
Re: 12/7 Mikey AMPS 310, +3 270

Good Morning ~O) :cool:

FWIW I agree that one change at a time is the way to go.
Your plan sounds good however I'd be flexible about the cycles. Depending when you successfully got the dose calibrated relative to any bouncing more than 2 cycles may be required to make a proper evaluation.

Does Mikey have a set feeding schedule?
 
Re: 12/7 Mikey AMPS 310, +3 270

That's a great point, Sandy. Mikey is a big time bouncer! He didn't get the nickname Rubber Ball for nothing! :lol: :lol: :lol: His feeding schedule is to eat at preshot, +2 and +4, although at night it's often closer to +3. We have a timed feeder, but Mikey sleeps through it unless I lock him in the room with it. I've been locking him up with it during the work day, but I don't want him locked up 24/7. He and DK need time together.

Don and I worked with the calipers today. It took a whole lot of video watching, diagram drawing, computing, and practicing it, but I think we've got it. Marje is brilliant to have come up with this! We'll try it out tonight, and see what happens. I'll keep the 8% food going on the same schedule too. Mikey did miss his +4 feeding today. I went out without locking him in and forgot to ask Don to check on him. Little narcoleptic slept through the whole feeding. :-D
 
Re: 12/7 Mikey AMPS 310, +3 270

I think I'd take it one step at a time and I like your first step. I think it's important to get enough insulin into mikey, though, to get his blood sugar down and I think we've seen the 3% isn't quite enough carbs. For my 2 cents worth, I'd stick with the 8% for the near future so we can adjust his dose.

Many people have gotten to love the calipers - I hope they really work for you guys too!
 
Re: 12/7 Mikey +12 114 STALLING

What the heck, Mikey?????? Stalling without feeding for 20 minutes or so. Making reservations at the psych ward!
 
Re: 12/7 Mikey +12 114 STALLING

He's 111 about 25 minutes later, so I shot. Do I get another balls of steel award??? FREAKING OUT! Also, wondering what Webster is doing.

Dear Mikey,
I would prefer you not to earn a reduction tonight. Thank you.
xxxooo,
Mommy
 
Re: 12/7 Mikey PMPS 111 Mommy's having a heart attack.

I'd be doling out the 8% a teaspoon every half hour. It would be good for him to have this dose for a little while and spend some time running in green numbers. Please mikey? Please?

I'm running out the door but just wanted to offer that suggestion.

good luck!
 
Re: 12/7 Mikey PMPS 111 Mommy's having a heart attack.

Hi there :cool:

Deep breath -
Feed as Julie suggested - easy does it.
Get your +1 and +2. . . .

You have plenty of strips and HC?

Oh - here you go-
 

Attachments

  • BOS (252x400).jpg
    BOS (252x400).jpg
    73.2 KB · Views: 259
Re: 12/7 Mikey PMPS 111 Mommy's having a heart attack.

Thanks, Sandy! I'm calmer now. He was 136 at +1, and I'll be getting a +2 in a few minutes. I've been doling out tiny portions of 8% as Julie suggested. I'm glad he showed a little food spike. I have tons of strips, HC, Karo, and honey.

Thanks for the balls of steel! I need them!
 
Re: 12/7 Mikey PMPS 111 +1 136 +2 146

i'd hold off on the 8% given that he's rising-ish. I just didn't want him to dive.

looking good, mary!
 
Re: 12/7 Mikey PMPS 111 +1 136 +2 146 +3 140

We have unexpected company, so I didn't get your message until just now, Julie. I've been giving the 8% despite the company, but I'll hold off now. (I sure hope he's not offended that I didn't off him any. :lol: ) How late do you think I need to test? Do I need to set the feeder for any extra meals? There are some very stressful things going down at work tomorrow, so some sleep would be good. Thank you!

PS I think we have surf! Good boy, Mikey.
 
+4 143! Surf board!!!! Surfin' on the lagoon! Go, Mikey, go!

I'm going to bed shortly. The alarm is set for +7 to test. I'm setting the timed feeder to go off in at +6-ish with a bit of 3%. I'll be on for a few more minutes in case anyone wants me to change that up. Thanks for all the help!
 
I also think taking it one step at a time is wise. Hopefully, now that you are using the calipers, I agree with Sandy that it might take a few cycles for the dose to settle down with consistnecy.

I think the calipers do make a difference in some cats. Obviously, tons of cats went into remission before we started doing this but it really helps microdosing.

Love how flat Mikey is tonight!! Great job. I hope it continues all night.

Surf surf surf!!.
 
Re: 12/7 Mikey +12 114 STALLING

Marycatmom said:
He's 111 about 25 minutes later, so I shot. Do I get another balls of steel award??? FREAKING OUT! Also, wondering what Webster is doing.

Dear Mikey,
I would prefer you not to earn a reduction tonight. Thank you.
xxxooo,
Mommy


Looks like Mikey did some nice surfing last night! Glad to hear about dosing with calipers. After only a few days, I have already found one syringe that was almost .25u off. :o

Webster is settling in with his new dose increase. Today was one of his best days yet, despite somewhat of a quick drop off which was easily resolved with 2tbs of 15% carb food 30 mins apart.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top