Purrdy 12/20 dosecrease?

Status
Not open for further replies.

purrdydolly

Member Since 2014
Hello all it's Vyktors Mum (Serryn) here. Seeking advice for my mum's cat Purrdy. I note that we live on opposite sides of Oz so I can't be on hand to help her. She has got the testing bit under control but she is a bit older and won't be able to be the testing maniac that I was as she does need some sleep.

He gets a 5.5 ounce tin of Hills CD a day - 1/2 @ AMS, 1/6 at around + 9 (because that was his previous dinner time) and the remaining 2/6 with a couple of tsp of chicken at PMS. She has another cat so she cannot leave food out - Dolly likes to scarf everything in sight and then barf it up again - although Purrdy has been known to find her recycled hot meals of interest so maybe that would work :lol:

I'm wondering whether Purrdy is due an increase. Mum will be out all day tomorrow so I'm thinking maybe tomorrow night up by .25 if he gives us another yellow at AMPS. What do you guys think?

P.S. Vyktor is doing great, still OTJ after more than 2 1/2 years and didn't fall off the wagon throughout some horrendous dental issues a few months back :-D I still test him once a week though :lol:
 
Hi there :cool:

It's been a while - good to see you and glad to hear Vyktor is well.

Looks like your mum is doing a great job.

Below are the guidelines-
General" Guidelines:

Hold the initial starting dose for 5 - 7 days (10 - 14 consecutive cycles) unless the numbers tell you otherwise. Kitties experiencing high flat curves or prone to ketones may want to increase the starting dose after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles).
Each subsequent dose is held for a minimum of 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) unless kitty earns a reduction (See: Reducing the dose...).
Adjustments to dose are based on nadirs with only some consideration given to preshot numbers.

Increasing the dose:

Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.

After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.

After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
Purdy is on the 17th cycle at this dose but no nadirs under 100 yet so I think an increase is in order. Dosing is based on nadir, with some consideration to PS so I would not worry if AMPS is blue.
That's my $0.02 :cool:
 
It's great to hear that Vyktor is doing so well!

Is there any chance you can convince your mom to feed a LC diet? Hill's CD canned food is over 20% carb. I suspect that she'd be decreasing Purrdy's dose if she switched over to a lower carb food.
 
Thanks Sandy and Sienne.

Whoa on the Hills I knew it wasn't lc but didn't realise it was that high. She's worried about Purrdy getting strudites again and compounding his current issues. I think it will be okay - Vyktor had those too but after swapping to wet food didn't have any further issues - but I've been worried about pushing too hard on that one in case I'm wrong (ECID). I will have to do some research and see what I can find.

So I'm thinking - increase the dose tonight but decrease back to one unit the cycle before a change to lc or if she's happy to swap it over next week leave dose as it is and wait to see what the change does - or maybe a reduction would still be called for before a change to lc?
 
Alternatively, she could lower the dose a bit and transition really slowly. I'd also encourage her to add water to Purrdy's food. It may help with the crystals.
 
Purrdy's numbers aren't too bad. I think slowly transitioning to some lower carb food, will help to bring them down. And agree with Sienne about adding some water to the food.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top