5/4 Kasha AMPS 480 Bounce... PMPS 451

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 5/4 Kasha AMPS 480 Bounce...

Hi Krys
that's a nice cycle Kasha had last nite.
Things get better and rough patches will pass.
(((hugs))) Have a good day!
 
Re: 5/4 Kasha AMPS 480 Bounce...

Hi there,
It can be tough some times, but hang in there. Kasha is bouncing today... and it can last up to 72 hours..... we've all been there if it is of any consolation. Take this time to catch up on some sleepus! Tomorrow is another day!
 
Thanks everyone. I'm just having a really hard time with this now. These bounces drive me crazy. This whole thing does, really. Measuring tiny doses may tip me over the edge... I scrutinize the syringe with a magnifying glass now, trying to determine if it's .5 or s.5 or what, which of course varies depending on whether you are looking at the syringe at any sort of angle...

Not to mention she has the thickest, densest hair and it's hard to even find her skin in there to give a shot. She's even somewhat clipped right now, looks like a little lion but that fur is just so dense anyway...

At least she ate well at dinner tonight. I had determined that if she only wanted to eat 1 Tbsp of food, that would be fine and I'd give her another Tbsp in an hour or two (along with the roasted turkey she can graze on at will). So, of course, she ate up 2 Tbsp of FF Turkey and giblets in no time flat. And ate some turkey. And asked for (but did not receive) some potato chips. That's pretty good for her in one sitting. Outstanding, really.
 
You really are doing great!!

A couple of thoughts...

It's less important what you label the amount in the syringe. What is important is that you are consistent with what you are shooting from day to day. So if you decide that a fat dose means there is a sliver of light between the line on the syringe and the plunger, that's your fat dose.

What length needle are you using? You might want to get a longer needle if you are using the short ones.

The bounces can be hugely frustrating. (Look at Gabby's SS. You know how much I empathize.) However, it does mean that Kasha's liver is working and that's a very good thing. We all need our livers!
 
try not to worry too much. It does look like Kasha has lost a little of her momentum, but she'll get it back. It looks like the reduction from 0.75-ish to 0.25-ish was too much of a reduction (and I remember you had some measuring questions at that time too). When they lose it, we have to start going back up the dosing ladder again, but usually they don't have to go up very far to kick start them back into gear. You can look at Lucy's spreadsheet to find a couple of examples of having great numbers, earning several dose reductions, then suddenly losing it and having to go back up in dose again (but then going back DOWN in dose really fast after that). Keep in mind that Lucy is a drama queen, so she made me go ALL the way back up to a high dose again, but most cats don't need that many dose increases to get their green back.

Today looks like a bounce from last night's green. Hopefully it will break tonight and you'll see a better number at AMPS tomorrow. If not, I would probably go ahead and increase to 0.5 (not skinny) tomorrow morning.
 
Thanks Libby. I like hearing a concrete plan! Also remember I've only been back from my trip for 2 1/2 days at this point and to say Kasha was traumatized by my absence would be an understatement. Everyone who had to interact with her while I was gone is traumatized as well. Her numbers seemed decent while I was gone, although I suspect there was some bouncing then too. If the DPS followed instructions, they should have skipped several doses based on her numbers, so I hope she just needs to get back on track.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top