Me and Bayley
Active Member
I wrote a message to Jojo yesterday because I have been all over the map lately with "bcs ing" and supplementing with hc food etc and not knowing what to do . Here is our conversation. Jojo wanted me to share so others can read and learn too if ever in a similar situation.
I wrote:
http://spreadsheets.google.com/ccc?key= ... kE&hl=enhi
Jojo - I have been having to supplement meals with some hc mixed in here and there when she is lower and I am not going to be home but wondering i should maybe try a dosecrease.... went down tonight to 4.75 to see.... what are your thoughts? should I try or stay where we are?
Jojo Andbunny May 5 at 12:31am wrote:
dose, and talking about the lower dose rules for an acro........
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
yeah sure i guess try that..... but promise me you won't do that dose hopping again (where you saw the higher PMPS and went up to 6 units and 5.50 units after getting green on 5.0 units ~night of pet sitter 4/30) cause all the jumping around makes it hard to tell if some of the green is leftover shed, etc. once you saw the green that night when you got home , should have taken a little step down then to 5.75 units off the 6 units that you had been using and see how that went, cause it really is hard to tell if 4.75 is gonna be enough since there was so much up and down there for the past week. remember with this insulin there is such a lag, like what you do one day for dose effects 2 days later numbers that w/o logical progressions up or down it gets blurry on what real dose should be. like i'm not positive if today's green was not partly from last night's 5.5 units rather than this morning's 5.0 units, hence i can't say that 4.75 units will be enough without a doubt, kwim? usually what next dose should be is easy to see but i can't be sure when there has been dose hopping before the question is asked. however it is a work day tomorrow so if ya feel better about 4.75 units, go for it!
now if she continues on this rev down she has been on....your cat and my cat are almost have same dose now...as your dose gets smaller you can run her tighter. even though being an acro she should have totally functioning pancreas and no need for green, there is some beta cell burn out that might have happened when she was hanging out in pink back in the day. so when your dose is small you can let her have more green. and if she gets way own to microdoses (hey it could happen!) then you can run her tight tight tight, all green all the time to make sure any pancreatic healing that might need doing gets done. acros do go to the falls too ya know. they might not stay there forever, but they can rent a condo there for a while.
and i have a feeling she does need some pancreatic haling. why? cause she was on rev down starting on 12/12 and you did huge drop in dose rather than step down and had to work all the way back up practically to dose she was originally at before breakthrough (that is called 'the dreaded stall' can ask libby about that), then when she broke through again on 2/22 and you dropped dose way down again, she seemed to lose the momentum again. that hints to me that there was not just GH in this equation but some pancreatic healing too so keep that in mind if your dose continues to go down. the lower the dose the tighter one can run any cat, including an acrocat.
~jojo
ps. please copy/paste all this, the question and the response, into your condo (or if you don't have one today your next condo), i ended up typing way more than i thought i was going to and maybe another acrocat that is getting/will get to the under 3~5 unit range when the green rules change for an acro will find useful, k? thanks!
[/color][/color]
I wrote:
http://spreadsheets.google.com/ccc?key= ... kE&hl=enhi
Jojo - I have been having to supplement meals with some hc mixed in here and there when she is lower and I am not going to be home but wondering i should maybe try a dosecrease.... went down tonight to 4.75 to see.... what are your thoughts? should I try or stay where we are?
Jojo Andbunny May 5 at 12:31am wrote:
dose, and talking about the lower dose rules for an acro........
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
yeah sure i guess try that..... but promise me you won't do that dose hopping again (where you saw the higher PMPS and went up to 6 units and 5.50 units after getting green on 5.0 units ~night of pet sitter 4/30) cause all the jumping around makes it hard to tell if some of the green is leftover shed, etc. once you saw the green that night when you got home , should have taken a little step down then to 5.75 units off the 6 units that you had been using and see how that went, cause it really is hard to tell if 4.75 is gonna be enough since there was so much up and down there for the past week. remember with this insulin there is such a lag, like what you do one day for dose effects 2 days later numbers that w/o logical progressions up or down it gets blurry on what real dose should be. like i'm not positive if today's green was not partly from last night's 5.5 units rather than this morning's 5.0 units, hence i can't say that 4.75 units will be enough without a doubt, kwim? usually what next dose should be is easy to see but i can't be sure when there has been dose hopping before the question is asked. however it is a work day tomorrow so if ya feel better about 4.75 units, go for it!
now if she continues on this rev down she has been on....your cat and my cat are almost have same dose now...as your dose gets smaller you can run her tighter. even though being an acro she should have totally functioning pancreas and no need for green, there is some beta cell burn out that might have happened when she was hanging out in pink back in the day. so when your dose is small you can let her have more green. and if she gets way own to microdoses (hey it could happen!) then you can run her tight tight tight, all green all the time to make sure any pancreatic healing that might need doing gets done. acros do go to the falls too ya know. they might not stay there forever, but they can rent a condo there for a while.
and i have a feeling she does need some pancreatic haling. why? cause she was on rev down starting on 12/12 and you did huge drop in dose rather than step down and had to work all the way back up practically to dose she was originally at before breakthrough (that is called 'the dreaded stall' can ask libby about that), then when she broke through again on 2/22 and you dropped dose way down again, she seemed to lose the momentum again. that hints to me that there was not just GH in this equation but some pancreatic healing too so keep that in mind if your dose continues to go down. the lower the dose the tighter one can run any cat, including an acrocat.
~jojo
ps. please copy/paste all this, the question and the response, into your condo (or if you don't have one today your next condo), i ended up typing way more than i thought i was going to and maybe another acrocat that is getting/will get to the under 3~5 unit range when the green rules change for an acro will find useful, k? thanks!
