05/05 Bayley amps 223

Status
Not open for further replies.

Me and Bayley

Active Member
I wrote a message to Jojo yesterday because I have been all over the map lately with "bcs ing" and supplementing with hc food etc and not knowing what to do . Here is our conversation. Jojo wanted me to share so others can read and learn too if ever in a similar situation.

I wrote:
http://spreadsheets.google.com/ccc?key= ... kE&hl=enhi

Jojo - I have been having to supplement meals with some hc mixed in here and there when she is lower and I am not going to be home but wondering i should maybe try a dosecrease.... went down tonight to 4.75 to see.... what are your thoughts? should I try or stay where we are?


Jojo Andbunny May 5 at 12:31am wrote:

dose, and talking about the lower dose rules for an acro........
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
yeah sure i guess try that..... but promise me you won't do that dose hopping again (where you saw the higher PMPS and went up to 6 units and 5.50 units after getting green on 5.0 units ~night of pet sitter 4/30) cause all the jumping around makes it hard to tell if some of the green is leftover shed, etc. once you saw the green that night when you got home , should have taken a little step down then to 5.75 units off the 6 units that you had been using and see how that went, cause it really is hard to tell if 4.75 is gonna be enough since there was so much up and down there for the past week. remember with this insulin there is such a lag, like what you do one day for dose effects 2 days later numbers that w/o logical progressions up or down it gets blurry on what real dose should be. like i'm not positive if today's green was not partly from last night's 5.5 units rather than this morning's 5.0 units, hence i can't say that 4.75 units will be enough without a doubt, kwim? usually what next dose should be is easy to see but i can't be sure when there has been dose hopping before the question is asked. however it is a work day tomorrow so if ya feel better about 4.75 units, go for it!
now if she continues on this rev down she has been on....your cat and my cat are almost have same dose now...as your dose gets smaller you can run her tighter. even though being an acro she should have totally functioning pancreas and no need for green, there is some beta cell burn out that might have happened when she was hanging out in pink back in the day. so when your dose is small you can let her have more green. and if she gets way own to microdoses (hey it could happen!) then you can run her tight tight tight, all green all the time to make sure any pancreatic healing that might need doing gets done. acros do go to the falls too ya know. they might not stay there forever, but they can rent a condo there for a while.
and i have a feeling she does need some pancreatic haling. why? cause she was on rev down starting on 12/12 and you did huge drop in dose rather than step down and had to work all the way back up practically to dose she was originally at before breakthrough (that is called 'the dreaded stall' can ask libby about that), then when she broke through again on 2/22 and you dropped dose way down again, she seemed to lose the momentum again. that hints to me that there was not just GH in this equation but some pancreatic healing too so keep that in mind if your dose continues to go down. the lower the dose the tighter one can run any cat, including an acrocat.
~jojo
ps. please copy/paste all this, the question and the response, into your condo (or if you don't have one today your next condo), i ended up typing way more than i thought i was going to and maybe another acrocat that is getting/will get to the under 3~5 unit range when the green rules change for an acro will find useful, k? thanks! :) [/color][/color]
 
Hi Leslie,

a nicer yellow there, hows Bailey doing tonight?
Looks like good info and advise from Jojo! Man when she types - she types! lol!

Hope you're doing well!
 
She's good today thanks :) I am sticking with 4.75 for a few days to see what happens - had too many days where I was nervous to give full dose and not be home to watch her and am still just learning how to recover from bcs with acro.... uugghh - just when you think you have something on track - there is a new thing to learn :)

LOVE your pic of Luna btw - such a cutie!
 
Oh good! Lots of luck with that dose, nice to see Bailey coming down the ladder thou!
You'll be ok, look how far you've gotten - and if you can't be home, you do the best that you can.
And you know you got Jojo and the other gals to help ya out with the dosing and numbers.

Luna is a big sucky :lol: He got a new baby catnip sock today and drooled all over it! lol!
Yea, he is a cutie when he lounges like he has nothing better to do. The lives of our kitties eh?
 
Leslie and Bayley, nice to see you :-D
I haven't looked at your spreadsheet, yet, but those PSs today are real pretty.
Good luck with the 4.75 and / or finding a good dose.
I feel for you.
 
that was a great read, thanks for sharing. Bayley is doing great and it's good to know what Jojo's thoughts are. Good luck with 4.75, that's not even "high dose" anymore. :smile:
 
It's great to see you and Bayley! I was wondering where you got to. Thanks for including us in the post -- great information there.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top