5/13 Max AMPS 227 ..dose check

Status
Not open for further replies.
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=14322


Good Morning LL...

So I kept the fat 1.00 last night, mostly because momma and pappa bean REALLY needed some sleep. Looks like at that dose he comes down really gently and very flat, and probably didn't get to any green numbers...tested at +4 and then it was time for his late lc dinner, so if anything was going to drop further it was stabalised with food anyway.

So this morning we get a yellow, which is great since that means he is not bouncing high from the greens, but possibly the 1.25 is really his ideal dose right now to take him to safe greens consistently. That's my take on it, please chime in. I do not want to change dose up and down inconsistently, but I really want him coming down slowly and safely especially during the day when no one is home, and to find a good dose. Of course he could just go down, like he did a few days ago. So I did a 1.25 skinny this AM (as skinny as I can tell from a half measure syringe), and I would like to keep the 1.25 and see what happens over the next few day. Also weekend coming up, I'm there to watch him, so feel more confident. Does this sound all right?
 
Looking at Max's SS, one of the reasons he may be bouncing around is that with Lantus, you need to hold the dose and know when to decrease. After his bounce cleared, you decreased the dose for the PM shot on 5/11. Because there was probably still more insulin in his shed than he needed, he was in the greens again that same evening. I wouldn't have decreased the following morning since the low numbers were the result of an overfilled shed. You then reduced for 2 cycles and increased back to 1.25s this morning. This is too much changing around of doses in a short time -- 3 dose changes in 2 day. I would stick with the 1.25s at this point for at least 6 cycles (3 days) unless the numbers dictate otherwise (i.e., a drop below 50). You need to keep reminding yourself that Lantus likes consistency!
 
Yup, I agree, hold the 1.25 unless he drops below 50 over the weekend. It doesn't look like the 1u is enough to bring him down to greens at the moment. Just keep an eye on him--he may not need to be on the 1.25 for very long. I tell ya, there's something about cats named "Max" around here...they do some crazy dose dives! I don't think it'll be too long before your Max is at his anti-jinx. :mrgreen:
 
Patience & consistancy--That's what works here--It may be frustrating, but we have each other to vent to--
It works..You are doing a good job here! :mrgreen:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top