5/25 Ann & Maggie +7 89; PMPS 109

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ann & Maggie11 (GA)

Very Active Member
Maggie is doing good this morning! She let me sleep in a little, 4 am! I feel like a cold is trying to catch me, so I'm on the Zicam Rapid Melts right away! Thanks for everyone's help yesterday on the dental surgery. I may go btd for 30 minutes or so!

Yesterday
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=15355
 
Re: 5/25 Ann & Maggie AMPS 103

Looking so so good here Ann & Tess!!! Zicam is great! I use it when I fly to keep germs away.
Have a great day you two!! HUGS~!
 
Re: 5/25 Ann & Maggie AMPS 103

Hope you're feeling better fast.

Pedro had his dental done Dec 4. I was a wreak but all the great help here prepared me for what I needed to know/do.

I always take his food in to the vet's with me if I am leaving him for a day - and ask that a note go on his cage indicating his diet and that he is diabetic.
 
Re: 5/25 Ann & Maggie AMPS 103

Thanks Amy. Glad to hear Pedro made out good with his dental. I think, too, it's harder on us in some respects. Yes, I don't know what I would do without this forum and the wonderful people here helping us. Thanks, I'm bringing some baby food and Sophisticat. I need to make sure they understand not to give her an insulin shot, as the Vet Tech mentioned.
 
Re: 5/25 Ann & Maggie +7 89 - Question/bringing insulin to Vet

Hmmm, I don't know what to think. I called this morning and left a list of questions for the Vet to return my call, and I got the same Vet Tech. He said the Vet was busy. I'm satisfied with the anesthesia Protocol, and everything is as Sienne listed in her post. The only thing that bothers me is that I questioned why they would give her insulin, and he said I would need to bring the Lantus insulin with me just in case they need to administer it. I told him it would throw off her schedule for me if, say for instance, they administer insulin at 11 am. He said no it would be okay to give it to her again at 7 pm if those are the times I normally shoot. I told him no Lantus is on a 12 to 12 schedule with only 15 minute changes. I don't think he understands how the Lantus works. I also mentioned that I researched and the combo of anesthesia and diabetes usually lowers their glucose levels.

I also posted on Diabetes Health to ask if any of their cats were given insulin after dental surgery by the Vet.
 
Re: 5/25 Ann & Maggie +7 89 - Question/bringing insulin to Vet

You'll have enough to deal with with the dental alone... nevermind the insulin... with all due respect of course.

In the AM, likely you'll skip the shot (or sometimes people give a token dose), but I wouldn't let my vet around Tizon with insulin... again... just me. After the dental, you will be in a better position to assess whether you (personally) want to give Maggie her shot or if you want to wait until the next morning. Remember that with Lantus, there is a shed, so it's not like you will have totally nothing.

Maybe you'll just have forgotten the insulin that morning... ;-) but let's see what others think.

ETA - and knowing what I know about vets typically, they wouldn't give insulin to a cat with BG levels <150 anyways.
 
Re: 5/25 Ann & Maggie +7 89 - Question/bringing insulin to Vet

Maybe you'll just have forgotten the insulin that morning... but let's see what others think.

Hey, that is exactly what I was thinking is forgetting it. Another thing I may do is call back and ask to speak to the Vet and have him clarify that statement from the Vet Tech. Nothing against Vet Techs, but I would like to talk to the Vet.
 
Re: 5/25 Ann & Maggie +7 89 - Problem solved on dental

Problem solved. I spoke with the Vet, and he said there is no need to bring the Lantus insulin since Maggie is on such a low dose and doing so well. I can just give her the evening dose and skip the am dose.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top