5/26 Sammy AMPS=450 I Need dosing advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

Maureen & Sammy

Member Since 2010
Sammy got his stitches out on Monday, two weeks after he got them. Tonight will be the last dose of the AB Clavamox. He's on Cisapride so he'll poop (2ml 3x a day). It's this cherry-flavored goop. I can't get a straight answer from the vet if it's got sugar in it. We had a scary incident on Sunday night (+4~41), nothing unusual with PZI Vet but since I don't know that much about Lantus I intervened with food, hc gravy and 1/2ml of karo, tested until I was sure he was clear. I need you guys to look at his ss and help him out here. He's all over the board.
 
It's hard to find an ingredient list of the suspension. I found only one site that noted that the suspension, at least the "cherry-cream" flavored variety, contained sucrose.

However, you should know that cisapride (Propulsid) was discontinued and no longer recommended for human use. It can cause cardiac arrhythmias and there are similar warnings about its use in cats.

Some of the reason Sammy's numbers are up and down may be due to your shifting around his dose. You went from 2.25 to 2.5 to 2.25 to 2.0 in 3 days and back to 2.25 in another 2 days. Sticking with a dose until it settles may give you a better response.
 
Yeah, I realize that. Seemed sensible at the time. Ok, so now he's at 2U and his numbers are high. Should I stay there? I also cross-examined the vet about Cisapride in view of Sammy's heart murmur. With great trepidation I went ahead and used it. I haven't killed him yet.
 
IMHO, I would see how tonight's cycle goes before deciding to increase the dose. This still could be bounce from the 41 that just hasn't cleared yet.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top