5/28 Ann & Maggie PMPS 135 - +1 94; +2 99

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ann & Maggie11 (GA)

Member Since 2010
Hi, we made it to the Vet for Maggie's dental surgery, whew! How nerve wracking!
I had this post at the end of yesterday's thread and thought I'd start it at the beginning of a new condo.

Thanks Roni and Gayle for your added help last evening. And thank you to everyone yesterday that helped me thru this. I tried to thank each one individually and hope I didn't miss anyone. I don't know what Owners do that don't have the internet, as this group has been a lifesaver.

I did test at 10:30 pm last night and she was only 114, so I fed her a little hc and gravy mixed in with FF, very little. I was worried she might go too low; not sure if this was correct to do so...

I tested again at 3:30 am, and her bg was 132.

I tested for the last time at 6 am, and her bg was 130, so hope she will be okay. I left notes for the Vet so that he could see what I did at 10:30 am with the food since they asked me to start a fast at 9 pm! It was so hard this morning not being able to feed her. She just followed me everywhere. I spent lots of time brushing and holding her; she knew something was up! I'm feeling anxious and hope all goes okay. They will call once it's over.
 
Re: 5/28 Ann & Maggie +4 114; +9 132; +11 130

ohhhhh....I hate dentals. Did already say that? ohmygod_smile Well, for what it's worth....the morning was a big thing to get past....she followed you around this morning...oh I hate it soooo much. The only good thing about this whole experience is that they NEED to have it done. Keep thinking about that. She will be so much better after this....

Are you all set with what to do when she gets home? The vet office will probably tell you. ECID depending on what happens during the dental. Try to get a test when you get home and if they say it's ok, feed her only a little bit at first. Do you have this covered already?> Sorry to repeat (but it's the one thing i do very well!!!)

Waiting is very hard too. Oh my....I am thinking of you right now. It will be okay very soon. My two were never really groggy or anything when they got home. Thank goodness. And they seemed to not hold a grudge about my bringing them to have it done. But it is SO wonderful when they come home.....give Maggie kisses from us, k? Hang in there....
 
Re: 5/28 Ann & Maggie +4 114; +9 132; +11 130

Thanks Ronnie and Luna for adding the yesterday thread; I have brainfog big time. This morning I kept looking all over the kitchen for this one glass and could not find it, only to come home after taking Maggie and seeing it on the other side of the counter! I wonder if I have a ghost playing tricks on me at times. Ah, maybe it's just the lack of sleep!

Hi Pat,
Yes, the hardest part is the morning of dental and withholding food. No, they haven't gone over yet what to do when I get home, so I'll test her and feed small amounts. I brought some FF and baby food Just in case they want to feed her. They will test her and administer d..... or something if she does get too low. I can't think of the word. The Vet Tech that went over the estimate said she couldn't have food til two hours after surgery, so she probably won't need it. It's quite expensive, isn't it to take them for dental work! I cannot imagine having two at one time, wow!
 
Re: 5/28 Ann & Maggie +4 114; +9 132; +11 130

The word you're looking for is dextrose -- basically, sugar solution. Let us know how Maggie's doing after you hear back.
 
Re: 5/28 Ann & Maggie +4 114; +9 132; +11 130

The word you're looking for is dextrose -- basically, sugar solution. Let us know how Maggie's doing after you hear back.

That's it! Thanks Sienne and also thanks for all your help; even from work you took the time to post, and I'm grateful for the help. I almost was thinking I didn't even need to shoot last night with her numbers looking so good. I did get worried and fed her just a little at 10:30 pm.
 
Re: 5/28 Ann & Maggie - Dental Surgery went well!

Hi,
Maggie is home, and the Vet said she did really well. She had one tooth extracted and her teeth cleaned. As soon as I brought her home, she wanted to eat. I only gave her a small portion of FF Salmon and a little baby food. She seems fine and behaved very well for them. Her bg before eating was 156 which is really good bearing all the stress she's undergone. The Vet said give insulin tonight if she eats, and I don't foresee any problem there with her appetite. I have an antibiotic and pain med to give her. Thanks again everyone for all your help. I feel so relieved now that it's all over.
 
Re: 5/28 Ann & Maggie - Dental Surgery went well!

I'm glad your girl is home. The procedure was early in the day? If so, dinner may not be a problem but I'd suggest feeding her in installments, to be sure.

Keep an eye on numbers -- they may still drop from the anesthesia.
 
Re: 5/28 Ann & Maggie - Dental Surgery went well!

I'm with Sienne, go easy on the food meaning little portions (but several) and consequently go easy on the insulin.... 1 thing to deal with is plenty. Glad your babygirl is home and well!
 
Re: 5/28 Ann & Maggie - Dental Surgery went well!

Thanks Sienne, Ronnie, Lisa and Helene. Yes, I'll go easy on the food. She normally doesn't eat all the FF I place in her bowl, but today she ate almost all of it. I dished a small portion. I just gave her an antibiotic. Her normal pm shot is due in about an hour. Depending on the bg, I wonder if a half unit would be okay for this dose?
 
Re: 5/28 Ann & Maggie - Dental Surgery went well!

Glad she's home and that it all went well. Having had an extraction, she's probably going to feel better than even she thought she could once she heals up.
 
Re: 5/28 Ann & Maggie PMPS 135 Dental Surgery went well!

So happy for you both! She will be feeling better and better as the days go by....what about Fortiflora while she is having the ABs. Wondering if you are going to give them again to see how she does with that...
 
Re: 5/28 Ann & Maggie PMPS 135 Dental Surgery went well!

I'm glad everything went well and that Maggie is home and doing fine. For tonight, see what the PMPS number is. Unless it's higher than your +9 you probably don't want to shoot the full dose. She could keep dropping all night.

Oh, I just noticed the PMPS of 135. How do you feel about stalling for 1/2 hour to see how fast she's dropping?
 
Re: 5/28 Ann & Maggie PMPS 135 Dental Surgery went well!

Which pain med did she get?? Buprenex?? hope so--
You did great & only one tooth out--Moonie ran right to the food & ate up a storm the first time!!
Maggie will be better than ever as soon as it heals..Always give Food Before AB's or it will upset her tummy--Hugs & Hip Hip Hooray!! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 5/28 Ann & Maggie PMPS 135 Dental Surgery went well!

Roni and Moonie said:
Which pain med did she get?? Buprenex?? hope so--
You did great & only one tooth out--Moonie ran right to the food & ate up a storm the first time!!
Maggie will be better than ever as soon as it heals..Always give Food Before AB's or it will upset her tummy--Hugs & Hip Hip Hooray!! :mrgreen:

Yes, that's it except it's spelled Buprenorphine. Isn't that funny as Maggie did the same thing, almost running in circles waiting for some food. she was starving. Yes, thanks for reminder about food before abs.
 
Re: 5/28 Ann & Maggie PMPS 135 - 2nd bg 94

Oh my, she dropped to 94 just 45 minutes later. Sienne, good thing you asked me to stall! In this case should I do a "No shot"? The Vet did say depending on if she's eating and her bg, I could skip the shot!
 
Re: 5/28 Ann & Maggie PMPS 135 - 2nd bg 94

honestly, I would skip it tonight. I've seen too many people here having to HC and Karo their cat even after giving a reduced dose on dental day. Since she is still dropping, I would skip (and test again a couple more times to be sure the drop slows or stops). It's a great number, it's just harder to control the number when there are other things behind it.
 
Re: 5/28 Ann & Maggie PMPS 135 - 2nd bg 94

Libby and Lucy said:
honestly, I would skip it tonight. I've seen too many people here having to HC and Karo their cat even after giving a reduced dose on dental day. Since she is still dropping, I would skip (and test again a couple more times to be sure the drop slows or stops). It's a great number, it's just harder to control the number when there are other things behind it.


That's what I was thinking, too, Libby. I've never seen Maggie do a dive like this before, so I will skip the shot. I will keep testing. I just gave her the pain meds, and she' asleep but with eyes parted open to see what's going on. Thanks again. I'll post her numbers. Looks like she's done eating for now.
 
+2 99
She is rising a little, but I'm still comfortable with "No shot" tonight. I'm going to offer a small portion Sophisticat which I'm sure she will eat.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top