5/29 Oliver amps 257 +7.5~121 +10.5~209 pmps 295 +2~355

Status
Not open for further replies.

Blue

Member Since 2009
Yesterday’s Condo for Oliver

This morning, we increased his dose to 19u Lev and gave 7R as well.
Oliver is doing well, but just needs a bit more to get some lower numbers.

He's a happy guy outwardly and is becoming more assertive; he's standing his ground and not running every time Shadoe comes ahissin'. He is being brave but he has Booboo backing him.
 

Attachments

  • IMG_2203.JPG
    IMG_2203.JPG
    625.4 KB · Views: 930
  • IMG_2201.JPG
    IMG_2201.JPG
    628 KB · Views: 940
  • IMG_2200.JPG
    IMG_2200.JPG
    657.3 KB · Views: 931
Re: 5/29 Oliver amps 257

Good morning,Gayle!
Nice pics! I just love that big boy!
You have a nice Saturday and take some time for Yourself!
 
Re: 5/29 Oliver amps 257

What a handsome guy! Good luck with increase. So is his name just Oliver, or is there more to it? I like Oliver Twist!
 
Re: 5/29 Oliver amps 257

Oliver was adopted and his papers just said Oliver Brown, but that's the last name of the previous owners. Since he's almost 8yrs old and never known any other owner or name, I stuck with it. He answers to it because he recognizes it, so it's a bit of continuity for him.
Adoption has to be rough on an animal, even if it's a huge step up to decent treatment.
When all you have ever known is suddenly gone forever, even an animal must be thrown off.

I call him other things but more like pet names, such as mountain man or big guy, and Ollie for a good boy - OliVER for a bad boy, when he is pretending that it's OK to eat Shadoe's foods.
I never considered changing his name, but the last name of his can go.
 

Attachments

  • IMG_2233.JPG
    IMG_2233.JPG
    579.6 KB · Views: 951
  • IMG_2241.JPG
    IMG_2241.JPG
    604.1 KB · Views: 928
  • IMG_2242.JPG
    IMG_2242.JPG
    716 KB · Views: 934
Re: 5/29 Oliver amps 257

Oliver is a good name for a cat. I think there is a book about a cat named Oliver (children's book). My mother has a big tiger with huge feet, his name is Jack (actually Jack-in-the-Pulpit) she adopted him and he was already named Jack but many of her previous cats were named after flowers (Daffodil, Dandylion, and the dog Sweet pea) so She called him that. I always call him Jack the Ripper, or Jack a**!
 
Re: 5/29 Oliver amps 257

I did think of names - I had seen where some people renamed their adopteds - I looked at him and what came to mind were names such as, Jack, Ralph, George, but decided I would not like my name change if I were adopted, so we stayed with what he knew: Oliver.

Names are fascinating - what is chosen and why.
Shadoe got her name as she was 8weeks and always hidden in the shadows so being grey, you could barely see her. What stuck out were her eyes, big large yellow and they reminded me of a doe. So she became Shadoe.

Booboo is self-explanatory. The minute I got her home after adoption from humane society, I knew this one was going to be trouble and it was an oops, or booboo that I selected her. She has been mean and miserable and wild since the first day, at age approx 4wks. Mistake and Error just did not roll off the tongue, but Booboo felt like it was harsh enough to be recognized when she did something bad. Unfortunately, scolding does nothing; she does not care WHAT you think or have to say.
 
Re: 5/29 Oliver amps 257

He is a handsome boy....and really is soaking up that insulin eh? Well, you are doing a good job with him Gayle...
he looks very happy and content...and his fur looks wonderful! Happy Saturday!!
 
Re: 5/29 Oliver amps 257

Yes, Oliver, you ARE adorable. I think it would be asking for trouble to name a cat Ralph (although I have two boys and a girl who would live up to that name). Bear came from the shelter with his name, and it seemed to suit him, so I kept it. Teddy and Pinkerton, too, actually, but I had fostered them before adopting, so I actually did name them.
 
Re: 5/29 Oliver amps 257 +2~270

Oliver seems to be doing OK on this new dose, holding his rise down which is nice to see.
We'll see where he is at mid-cycle.
 
Re: 5/29 Oliver amps 257 +2~270

What a handsome boy! Nice pictures! Adoption is one of the kindest gifts we can give an animal - hard for them at first yes, but the rewards go beyond, for us, and for them. I hope you guys have a great weekend, and that things for well for Oliver.
 
Re: 5/29 Oliver amps 257 +2~270

Those early yellows are good to see!

I agree, what our furballs are named is always curious. Gabby got her name because she was rather chatty as a kitten. At the shelter, all she did was chew on my shoelaces and talk to me. Gizmo was a bundle of energy -- he was playing very hard and would playfully growl at his littermates if they wanted the toy he was fixated on. He reminded me of the character in the movie, Gremlins.
 
Re: 5/29 Oliver amps 257 +2~270

I came home from running errands and got a very nice +7.5of 121 for Oliver.
What a surprise!
The last time was on 5/14 when his cycle was looking like a 24hr one. I still think he is like that.

Sienne,
His yellows just after his ps are numbers that are going up cuz his nadir is really late, like +10 or thereabouts. Often, I am shooting his lowest number, and trying to guess what he is going to be to know what R to give.
The upside is that what I am shooting IS the lowest, so he's just going to go up! None of this if I shoot this dose, will he go too low.

So I am off again, more to get done, but I'll get a test in before his ps.
 
Re: 5/29 Oliver amps 257 +2~270 +7.5~121 +10.5~209 pmps 295

Thanks for the pics! His fur looks amazingly soft.
Booboo :lol: Mistake and Error :lol:

Like gabby Noisy was very vocal. He was a feral when we first met, I leaned down to say hello and said "you are a very Noisy cat."
 
Re: 5/29 Oliver amps 257 +2~270 +7.5~121 +10.5~209 pmps 295

this is a fun condo today. :smile: Lucy is named after Lucille Ball because she's so crazy, but one of my friends thinks of her as Lucy from Peanuts, who is always pulling the football out from under Charlie Brown. :lol: Her Previous owner had named her Precious, but that just didn't work for me. Sammy named himself, I really don't know how he did it but I just knew his name was Sammy (the rescue said his name was Gray, what do they know?). Mickey was harder, his name at the rescue was Lucky and I didn't really like the name, but he seemed to know it so I had to come up with something I liked better that sounded like Lucky. It works because he likes to skitter around like a mouse, so I call him Mickey Mouse.

Oh, and Oliver has nice numbers too. :smile: It's good to see blue.
 
The stories behind pet names are always fascinating; so different from humans!

So on my errands run, I stopped at a booth set up for a local rescue:
Their site is interesting - Annex Cat Rescue

I picked up a pamphlet and also purchased one of the catnip toys they were selling.
I am kicking myself now because both Shadoe and Oliver LOVED it!
Both of them were drooling all over it. Shadoe liked it but once Oliver got ahold of it, it became soaked with drool! I signed up for their newsletter and think I am going to need to get a few more of these for OIiver. They all love the nip sock toys that Ronnie brought for them, but Oliver loves loves loves this one. I took some pictures of him and his new toy.
 

Attachments

  • IMG_2267.JPG
    IMG_2267.JPG
    443.7 KB · Views: 920
  • IMG_2260.JPG
    IMG_2260.JPG
    747.1 KB · Views: 937
  • IMG_2243.JPG
    IMG_2243.JPG
    685.8 KB · Views: 945
Ooo,I laughed ! Jake would do the same thing with those 'catnip pilow'. he just loves it!
he is soooo sweet (Oliver)!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top