5/30/10 Nay PMPS 102.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Traveling Cats

Member Since 2010
We finally have Nay switched over to only eating Fancy Feast and his numbers just keep dropping. We're trying to figure out how to modify the dose. We've been all over the place lately because his PS numbers have been consistently < 200. Can someone take a look at the spreadsheet and see what you think?
Thanks,
Melissa
 
Re: 5/30/10 Nay PMPS 102... dose help?

oooh, yes, Nay has hit a breakthrough. :mrgreen:

This seems like a good time to re-read the sticky with the Lantus tight regulation protocols. Essentially what you need to do is pick a dose and stick with it until he gets a number below 50. Post daily and we can help you through it. This phase can be quite a ride and sometimes it goes fast, it's helpful to have others who have done it help you.

I would probably go with 1 unit tomorrow morning, unless you get another surprise. Any time you get a low PS like you did tonight, post for advice. Sometimes those low numbers are actually shootable, and we can help you work through the best way to handle the numbers. Spend the time now to work this, and maybe you won't be here for long. :smile:
 
Re: 5/30/10 Nay PMPS 102... dose help?

Nay's numbers are looking very good. You need to decide on a dose you feel comfortable giving consistently. He has not earned a dose reduction from the 1.5u you were shooting. For a newly diagnosed cat, numbers need to be below 50 to earn a dose reduction. In addition, when we reduce a dose, it is in increments of 0.25u.

I can understand your initial apprehension with a low pre-shot number. We've all been there. Are you able to post from pretty much anywhere? If you get a low pre-shot, it may be helpful if you can post somewhere around +11. There is usually someone here who can walk you through the options. You need to keep in mind that Lantus likes consistency. Every time you drop or increase the dose from one cycle to the next, it has an effect on the shed.

It will help if you familiarize yourself with the dosing protocol. This lays out when to take a reduction.
 
OK, seems scary but you guys have gotten us this far. The food advice was certainly right on! I hope he doesn't go hypo for the first time in the middle of the night. I am a sleepyhead after the PM dose!
 
Re: 5/30/10 Nay PMPS 102... dose help?

Leave him lots of LC food then. Can your DH test? (And if not, will he learn how?) Maybe if you are the sleepyhead, he can test.

While I'm hesitant to suggest it, some people here will set an alarm and wake up to test.
 
Re: 5/30/10 Nay PMPS 102... dose help?

Sienne and Gabby said:
Can your DH test? (And if not, will he learn how?) Maybe if you are the sleepyhead, he can test.

While I'm hesitant to suggest it, some people here will set an alarm and wake up to test.

Yes DH tests and shoots also. We'll draw straws or something if we have to stay up all night.

Are you able to post from pretty much anywhere?

Yep, DH is an IT consultant so his job requires we have internet everywhere. We have cellular internet and satellite.
 
Very cool!!

Since you can log in from anywhere, post if you get a low pre-shot. The first couple of times, it's easier to walk someone through than to try to put it all in writing (which would take forever and you never think of all of the contingencies).

Just a suggestion, with a low pre-shot, you want to get a +1 and a +2. Last night, Nay went from a 147 to a 96 by +2. I probably would have tested at +3 or +4. With the early drop, you don't know if Nay continued to have lower numbers. The tricky thing is that the nadir is not always the same every day or even every cycle. It's a moving target. You want to try to catch a number that will earn Nay a dose reduction. Unfortunately, at least with respect to sleep, many cats do have lower numbers at night. In addition, now that the dry is out of the equation, as cats come down the dose ladder, you will probably need to monitor more. (You really are doing a great job!) You'll start to get a feel for how Nay's numbers are going and if you need to test the next hour or 2 hours, etc. Just remember, there's usually someone around LL almost 24/7 who can lend a hand if you're not sure what to do.
 
Congrats! Things are looking really good indeed, and in such a short time too!

Maybe Nay will keep on traveling --- all the way to the Falls!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top