1/8 Baby AMPS (No Shot will be given) +20.5 289

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nicole & Baby

Member Since 2009
I tried twice this morning to test Baby's BG, but got an error message - so I went ahead & fed her. Do I give the Insulin now? I am going to start her on .5, I am off to watch a video to see how - hopefully I can get all this right :shock:
 
Re: 1/7 Baby begins Lantus

Ronnie, I read your reply & tried again - BG Reading is 212 right now.
 
Re: 1/7 Baby begins Lantus

great! as u said, u went ahead and fed her, so u will see bit of a food spike...how behind are u now since u wanted to start dosing this morning?

confirm what u want to start with please?
 
Re: 1/7 Baby begins Lantus

Nicole & furbaby family said:
I tried twice this morning to test Baby's BG, but got an error message - so I went ahead & fed her. Do I give the Insulin now? I am going to start her on .5, I am off to watch a video to see how - hopefully I can get all this right :shock:



ah ha! I found yesterdays thread...looks like the .5 was a good suggestion. Did u shoot?

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=1516
 
Re: 1/7 Baby begins Lantus

.5 is what i am thinking...I will go ahead & give the injection now...ultimately we will not be on this schedule..but can be for a few days....
When do I test her BG again after the injection?
 
Re: 1/7 Baby begins Lantus

Nicole & furbaby family said:
.5 is what i am thinking...I will go ahead & give the injection now...ultimately we will not be on this schedule..but can be for a few days....
When do I test her BG again after the injection?


Follow the "curve" guidelines in this link,,,from the stickie up top, NEW TO GROUP...please read thru as much as u can today while ur home, you'll want to arm yourself with lantus knowledge!! YEA!! :lol:

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=157

u can test again maybe +2 and +3, post your numbers in ur SS and update here in your condo and we'll go from there.
 
Re: 1/7 Baby begins Lantus

I did it! 1st injection - but I cannot imagine that it did anything.. I got my syringe, drew insulin out to the .5 marking & then I got Baby, made a tent on her scruff & pushed the syringe in quick & it was over - petted the fur & it was not wet - so it must have went in her? Concerned about the time though - because it is way off from where we will be, I was just anxious to get started - plus I do see that there are ways of getting back to a schedule that will work with work.
Deep Breath. We started Lantus. Now what? What do I do all day? Stare at her? What am I looking for? Her ears are getting bruised from my daily testing twice - I am not real fond of the curve situation - I think testing a couple times of day is what her & I both can tolerate.

Did she feel that injection? It did not seem like she even noticed it. Now I am just nervous about what I am looking for. I know Lantus takes a while & then also has a "shed" so maybe I don't need to test her BG again for a few days? Just keep giving my injections?

P.S THANK YOU Ronnie...for being here today for me : ) :dizcat :RAHCAT
 
Re: 1/7 Baby begins Lantus

Nicole & furbaby family said:
I did it! 1st injection - but I cannot imagine that it did anything.. I got my syringe, drew insulin out to the .5 marking & then I got Baby, made a tent on her scruff & pushed the syringe in quick & it was over - petted the fur & it was not wet - so it must have went in her? Concerned about the time though - because it is way off from where we will be, I was just anxious to get started - plus I do see that there are ways of getting back to a schedule that will work with work.
Deep Breath. We started Lantus. Now what? What do I do all day? Stare at her? What am I looking for? Her ears are getting bruised from my daily testing twice - I am not real fond of the curve situation - I think testing a couple times of day is what her & I both can tolerate.

Did she feel that injection? It did not seem like she even noticed it. Now I am just nervous about what I am looking for. I know Lantus takes a while & then also has a "shed" so maybe I don't need to test her BG again for a few days? Just keep giving my injections?

P.S THANK YOU Ronnie...for being here today for me : ) :dizcat :RAHCAT


no you dont; have to test every hour, lol, then u would turn into a testaholic like some of us :roll: lol
sounds like u did fine! You can stop staring at her and go have some chocolate lol!
Besides, you will get the hang of testing Baby and it will get easier!

You really don't want to take a "testing day off" so to speak...ALWAYS test before giving injections. ALWAYS. plus a couple of spotchecks through each cycle would be fine.

Would like to see u try for a +3 thou ok? That's 3 hours after your shot time...let's see what others can suggest for adjusting your shot times.
 
Re: 1/7 Baby begins Lantus

Thanks Ronnie! I will do a +3
But I wonder if that will matter, I read that Lantus takes awhile? Can I leave the house for a few hours later today (to run errands, go to the gym, etc) as long as food is left out?
 
Re: 1/7 Baby begins Lantus

"I think testing a couple times of day is what her & I both can tolerate"

Always test at AMPS and PMPS to be sure it is safe to shoot. A spot check at +5 to +6 is good because that is the usual nadir and will show you how the insulin is affecting her. Testing will get easier as you get more experience and as her ear learns to bleed.

You are off to a good start.
 
Re: 1/7 Baby begins Lantus

Couple ways to be sure the insulin went in.

1) do you feel wetness on the fur - No? Insulin went in.

2) does the fur smell funny? - No? Insulin went in.

Here's a suggestion for you: fill a new syringe to the .5 mark with the insulin. Squirt the insulin into the palm of your hand. Sniff it, Lantus has a very distinct odor, also note how much (or little) is in your hand.

While it seems like such a small amount, this is how much your cat is getting and needs. I know it's crazy to see isn't it.

As for getting out of the house - go, do what you need to do and don't worry. My recommendation is test before you leave, then test when you return.

Also, to help the ears, put some neosporin or antibiotic ointment on the ears after testing. I would massage it onto both of Maui's ears and just made it part of our routine. This will help the healing and help diminish the bruising.

PS - good job!
 
Re: 1/7 Baby begins Lantus

You should (maybe) see some change in BG by +6 in the cycle. The first 5 - 7 days of Lantus often will not show big differences. You and Baby are working on building up a blood level/depot (aka "shed") in her system. The shed is an important concept to understand and is one of the ways in which Lantus differs from other insulins. There is information about the Lantus depot in the note at the top of the Board (and I also linked it).

How much time do you need to readjust your shot time by in order to get back on schedule? Because Lantus is a 12-hour insulin, you generally can't make big adjustments in shot time without messing with the shed. Because an early shot acts like a dose increase and a late shot acts like a decrease we really try to stick as close as possible to a 12-hour schedule.

As far as testing, there are times when you will need to test a lot. There are also those of us Ilike Roni and I) who generally test a lot. I like data. You need to have enough test data to help guide your decisions about shooting and how Baby uniquely responds to Lantus. For example, I normally don't test at +1. Gabby had a very good number to start her day but she is a cat who will often have big and rapid changes in her BG level.. Given where she started today, I tested at +1. You will also need to factor in your work schedule. What works for a work day won't work for a non-work day. We try to get spot checks in during the AM and PM cycles. I would suggest getting a test before you walk out the door to work (providing there's some time between AMPS and your out the door test) and a before bed test. AMPS and PMPS are essential. Spot checks that are at mid-cycle are also important so you have an idea of where and what Baby's nadir is. So, the minimum would be 4 tests per day. I'd suggest visiting other Lantus user's threads (we call them condos) and looking at spreadsheets. This is a great way to get a sense of what people here do. And, ask questions!!
 
Re: 1/7 Baby begins Lantus

Hillary & Maui said:
Couple ways to be sure the insulin went in.

1) do you feel wetness on the fur - No? Insulin went in.

2) does the fur smell funny? - No? Insulin went in.

The fur was not wet & no funny smell..so she got her dosage YAY!

Sienne and Gabby said:
You should (maybe) see some change in BG by +6 in the cycle. The first 5 - 7 days of Lantus often will not show big differences. You and Baby are working on building up a blood level/depot (aka "shed") in her system. The shed is an important concept to understand and is one of the ways in which Lantus differs from other insulins. There is information about the Lantus depot in the note at the top of the Board (and I also linked it).

How much time do you need to readjust your shot time by in order to get back on schedule? Because Lantus is a 12-hour insulin, you generally can't make big adjustments in shot time without messing with the shed. Because an early shot acts like a dose increase and a late shot acts like a decrease we really try to stick as close as possible to a 12-hour schedule.

Baby will ultimately need injections at 5am & 5pm, but will admit that things are going to be off a little bit. I figure based off the AMPS or PMPS # I may or may not need to shoot, so we will work our best to get on that schedule. For the next 3 days, I can do the 9:30am/pm but want to get closer to my schedule, because I have work next week.
 
Re: 1/7 Baby begins Lantus

Hi Nicole! I am so proud of you starting at home!!! After I broke our first vial of Lantus, believe me it stinks.

You sound like me...."what do I do stare at her?" lol

I am glad we are starting this together, albeit you and Baby should be better off than me and Webber. Yesterday, Webber's BG did not seem to go down much til +6 (6 hours after the shot). And remember, that was with a whopping 4 units.

Breathe and relax. I think the hardest part is over.....just getting started. And you did it by yourself!!! :RAHCAT
 
Re: 1/7 Baby begins Lantus

Paige, thank you! You were going by the advice of your vet or you would have started at home too..so don't give yourself a hard time. I definitely watched Webber's updates yesterday. So glad things are looking up for you both!! I know after Webber's 4 units, my .5 seems like nothing! Anyway...you will be great giving the injection tonight after work - if needed. Everyone told me how easy it was & it really is that easy - so easy I wondered if it happened LOL

Anyway..keep us posted & I will do the same : ) Loved seeing your blue & green #s!!
 
Re: 1/7 Baby begins Lantus

Nicole, congratulations! You see that Baby really didn't notice the syringe - amazing, but true. My Kitty sometiems purrs through his shot.

You've gotten great input from more experienced people on why you MUST test before every shot, and therefore should not take a day off. As for moving to your regular times, you can safely move each shot by up to 15 minutes. Will that get you on schedule?

Also, as for bruised ears: When you test, are you compressing the tested area right afterwards? I use a folded napkin. Just press the ear firmly for maybe 10 seconds, as the doctor does to you when you get a shot. It stops the bleeding and helps prevent bruising.

Just wanted to say, well done! Baby is so fortunate that you've taken charge.
 
Re: 1/7 Baby begins Lantus +3 32 HELP!!

+3 she is 32! Eating everything is site..please help!
 
Re: 1/7 Baby begins Lantus +3 32 HELP!!

I gave her ProPlan Chicken & Rice with Gravy...she is eating like she has never seen food.
 
Re: 1/7 Baby begins Lantus +3 32 HELP!!

I'm scared.. I am just opening cans of food & letting her eat high carb.
She is playing then eating, back & forth...
 
Re: 1/7 Baby begins Lantus +3 32 HELP!!

You want to feed small amounts of high carb food at this point -- between a teaspoon and a tablespoon. Do you have any Fancy Feast varieties with gravy? If not, you can add a couple of drops of Karo on top of low carb food.

Test in 15 min. and post.
 
Re: 1/7 Baby begins Lantus +3 32 HELP!!

Ok Nicole, stay calm, this is good that she is eating. Ok? Calm.....breath...please retest
 
Re: 1/7 Baby begins Lantus +3 32 HELP!!

*Breathing* will give about 15mins to retest..since we just tested about 15 mins ago...
 
Re: 1/7 Baby begins Lantus +3 32 HELP!!

Do you have Karo syrup handy? A 1/2 tsp or so either licked off your fingers directly or mixed in with some wet food should produce some results in 15-20 minutes. I use this instead of HC because my cat has a sensitive tummy. May help you, esp if your cat gets full.

Definitely post your subsequent tests. The goal is to have 2 tests rising. Since this is early in the cycle (usual low point doesn't hit until +6 more or less), you may need a little more HC or Karo to get Baby back into the 50s and staying there.

You can do this! Don't worry! It's scary, but it's something you can handle....
 
Re: 1/7 Baby begins Lantus +3 32 HELP!!

yup - u have to stay calm, she will feel your stress and make it difficult to test her.

when u have a moment - this BG of 32 was 3 hours after you shot correct? Glad ur updating SS along the way.

ur doing good - just focus, breath, and calm....
 
Re: 1/7 Baby begins Lantus +3 32 HELP!!

Nicole:

Please post the results of your testing. Baby was 32 at +3. What's the # at +3.25?

I don't think we're at Karo point but we need to know if Baby's numbers are rising. Keep in mind, your kitty is not symptomatic. Baby is playing and very happy that you're providing lots of yummy high carb food!
 
Re: 1/7 Baby begins Lantus +3 32 HELP!!

BTW, about how much does Baby weigh? Just thinking if she's on the smaller side, you'll see more of an effect of the HC food than if you have a big kitty. Quincy is ~13 lbs, and in case it's helpful, I've needed 1/2 to 1 tsp to get him out of hypo situations in the past.

I *think* her weight has implications for Lantus dosing too...
 
Re: 1/7 Baby begins Lantus +3 32 HELP!!

Yes, 3 hours after her first shot...was the 32 reading.. I will test again here in a few minutes...she is running around crazy with a toy I just bought her...she is always very active..but this is REALLY active! Only had honey..just rubbed some on her gums... I am scared to see the +6 but am not stressing out..
 
Re: 1/7 Baby begins Lantus +3 32 HELP!!

Just saw this post. How is Baby? How is she acting? What is her BG now?
 
Re: 1/7 Baby begins Lantus +3 32 HELP!!

She is a petite kitty, weighs about 11lbs or just under..very small frame too.
 
Re: 1/7 Baby begins Lantus +3 32 HELP!!

Active is good... With all the HC and even honey in her, by the +6 she could be higher than when you started this AM! :smile:

It is really helpful to get tests every 15-20 minutes, though, with a BG that low.
 
Re: 1/7 Baby begins Lantus +3 32

Okay, just tested again - she is at 64, not sure how to update the spreadsheet for the 15min time frame. She is still hungry - so I just gave her some Wellness Chicken - she is eating that up - I did not want to keep her on the high carb. Thoughts? Scared about the +6
 
Re: 1/7 Baby begins Lantus +3 32 HELP!!

I think I would hold off on the food now because it is still early in the cycle and you may need to feed more later. We don't want Baby to be too full. 64 is a good rise.
 
Re: 1/7 Baby begins Lantus +3 32 HELP!!

Nicole, try to feed her the gravy, which is where the carbs are. Feed a tablespoon of gravy, then test again in 15 minutes.

Do you have any Karo or maple syrup on hand?

You will get through this, quarter hour by quarter hour.
 
Re: 1/7 Baby begins Lantus +3 32 +4 64

I feel like a horrible Mom! I cannot imagine if I would have been at work what would have happened!
 
Re: 1/7 Baby begins Lantus +3 32 +4 64

I think I recall you saying that your vet didnt teach you how to give injections, etc. Did the vet show you where the .5 unit marking is on the syringe? Is there any possibility you shot 5 units instead? It can be very confusing. Which syringes are you using? What does the label say?
 
Re: 1/7 Baby begins Lantus +3 32 +4 64

That's a really good rise. Wouldn't be surprised to see it climb a little higher given all the food and honey...

Just to confirm, was the 64 1 hour after the +3 32 measure? I thought you mentioned a 15 min measure since you were wondering about how to update your spreadsheet.

Re: the spreadsheet, check out mine/Quincy's in my signature... See 12/26 and 12/02 for examples of how I included 15-minute tests in my file (as well as for examples of how Quincy responded to his hypo situations - though ECID, of course)
 
Re: 1/7 Baby begins Lantus +3 32 +4 64

I see recommendations of 1 teaspoon to 1 tablespoon of gravy from someone more experienced.
 
Re: 1/7 Baby begins Lantus +3 32 +4 64

Linda...... YOU ARE RIGHT.. I just looked at they syringe..I gave her 5 Units.. what now??
 
Re: 1/7 Baby begins Lantus +3 32 +4 64

Good Job Nicole. I would get a test in 1/2 hour and make sure she is surfing. Honey works as well as Karo. Kathy is right, the gravy from the HC food is where the carbs are so you will not fill her up and still be able to get her to eat something. You are doing well. Relax, breathe. Lots of beans here if you need further help. Welcome to LL. Baby will be our drama queen today. :lol:
 
Re: 1/7 Baby begins Lantus +3 32 +4 64

You are NOT a horrible mom. You have done everything right so far. This is not your fault. And you did the right thing by starting her while you were home. You are both new at this and will do fine. Baby doesnt even know anything happened. And really....nothing happened, just got a little low.
 
Re: 1/7 Baby begins Lantus +3 32 +4 64

I don't know what I have given her now..I am using the Reli On 3/10ml 31 gauge short needle.
The syringe goes 5, 10, 15, 20, 25, 30 & I gave the Insulin up to the 5 point mark??
 
Re: 1/7 Baby begins Lantus +3 32 +4 64

Others will weigh in, no doubt, but I think it means you need to monitor her probably through +6 or even +7, and hourly checks aren't going to be frequent enough. If you're already at +4 you're closer than you think and have already managed to bring Baby back up.

This definitely explains why Baby reacted so quickly to her first shot!

Take a look at this set of photos: http://romlin.com/jock/SyringeFineGradations/
You'll see what 0.5 looks like. It's really a very small amount. Regardless of the type of syringe you're using, I think you'll be able to figure out if you gave 0.5 or 5.0
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top