6/3 Napoleon AMPS 454 +5 416 PMPS 403 +5.5 372

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nicole and Napoleon

Very Active Member
Napoleon - Going to be away all day, night Saturday- skip PM

I am in a wedding on Saturday and no one will be available to feed, monitor Napoleon that night. Everyone we know will be there. If I were going to give Napoleon his PM shot, my mom would have to give it 1 hour early as she is going to the wedding too. He gets a PM snack around 10pm which is 4 hours after his PM shot, but no one will be here to give it to him. Is it safe to skip the shot? Or should my mom give it one hour early? He is on wet food only so I do not have a timed feeder. My only concern is that is the Lantus starts to kick in and he goes low no one will be here. Any thoughts? Thanks!
 
Re: Napoleon - Going to be away all day, night Saturday- skip PM

Someone suggested a way to timed feed without the timed feeder- freeze a portion of food, then leave it out. It'll thaw in a few hours or so, and kitty will be able to eat it then! That way you'll know food will be available for Napoleon when you're dancin' your socks off at the wedding!

Also, wait for an expert's opinion... But I would NOT skip the shot. Lantus likes consistency, so to skip altogether would be a bad idea. Can you inch your shots back 15 minutes each day until Saturday? Each morning, shoot 15 minutes early (if your shot is at 7am, do 645, then 630, etc) so that the hour early on Sat will just be part of the regularly scheduled program? After saturday you can inch it back up by 15 min to get back to what you were at before.
 
Re: Napoleon - Going to be away all day, night Saturday- skip PM

If nobody is going to be around, leave extra foods out. Better to have too much and higher numbers than a cat going too low and nothing to eat.

I use a timed feeder for canned food, not sure why you would think it's just for dry foods.
I don't know about others, but I found some small glass bowls at a dollar store that fit perfectly into the 5 sections of the timed feeder. Foods could be put into the bowls and be easy for the cat to access.

I would not skip the shot. Just leave the extra foods out and Napoleon will eat more if he goes low. If you were home and he tested low, what would you do? Give him foods, right?
So let him have a special evening too and get some extra eats.
 
Re: Napoleon - Going to be away all day, night Saturday- skip PM

I agree with Gayle. I would not skip the shot Saturday night. If you start this evening you can work his shots ahead an hour.

Example: (if you gave his shots every cycle at 6am/6pm)
Tonight PM Shot @ 5:45pm

Friday AM Shot @ 5:30am
Friday PM Shot @ 5:15pm

Saturday AM Shot @ 5am
A=Saturday PM Shot @ 5pm

Unfortunately from the looks of Napoleon's SS I don't think he will go too low. :oops: I never used times feeders either. If you don't have to worry about any other pet eating the food that you leave out, I would just leave out extra food for him if he gets hungry. I leave my canned food out most of the day because all of mine graze. Our house stays cool enough that the food will not go bad by the time they eat it.

Will you be back home at all Saturday night or will you not be in until Sunday morning? Will he get his Sunday AM shot?
 
Re: Napoleon - Going to be away all day, night Saturday- skip PM

Again - you guys are awesome. My mom will give him his shot Saturday before she comes to the wedding, I will go up in 15 minute increments tonight and I am ordering the automatic feeder ( I have Amazon Prime so I will have it tomorrow!!) - thanks for the links Weather Girl!!!

Problem solved :-D
 
Re: Napoleon - Going to be away all day, night Saturday- skip PM

To answer your question Paige, I will luckily be home Sunday morning so we won't have any issues with the AM shot.
 
Re: Napoleon - Going to be away all day, night Saturday- skip PM

Shuffling your shot times will be good practice for the next time change.
Spring ahead; fall back.
Everyone does this shuffling when there is a time change.

I love the timed feeder because during the week I am at work for sometimes the entire time between amps and pmps. With the timed feeder, you can still give whatever meal or snack sizes you like then set the time for it to turn then. Totally reduces stress and worry when you are going to be away.
 
Re: Napoleon - Going to be away all day, night Saturday- skip PM

Hi Nicole!

I don't know that I have been in this condo yet! Welcome to lantus land!

Timed feeder - I call it the snack machine is well used in this house. Very food investment in my opinion.

From the SS police -> pls don't forget to mark the dose you shot this AM... ;-)

The numbers you are seeing today 'may' be from rebound from the blues... and it also takes time for the dose to settle in... especially when you reduce the shed with a BCS dose -- not judging, just mentioning.

Hang in there, we'll help you...
 
Re: Napoleon - Going to be away all day, night Saturday- skip PM

Thanks Helene for the SS catch - didn't even realize that! It's updated now.

I am praying we get some decent numbers tonight after PMPS, or even tomorrow. I will definitely feel more comfortable with our next low AMPS (hopefully we'll see one!!). I'm just so used to PZI, I have to remind myself that Lantus is a completely different insulin. Please send us some good vibes for better numbers. I am sooo worried about ketones as he has had them before, although they have never been higher than trace. It has been months since he has had them, possibly as far back as January.

Thank you so very much for the support :smile:
 
Re: Napoleon - Going to be away all day, night Saturday- skip PM

Great that you've solved your problem.

Looking at your ss, don't see rebound, see that shed was empty.

If you get a blue again above 130 and your home to test, if you want to BCS (this is fine-bean has to be comfortable as you can see kitty no one else can) I'd consider cutting in half (so 1u at the mo)

Shed now refilling, so not so much working on the bg's, hence the high numbers.

See how Napoloeon goes tomorrow with his numbers, but seeing as your new to this and getting to a wedding on time is important, you might want to come up with a game plan with mum on numbers.
So if high,yuy shoot fulldose, but what do you want her to do if he's lower?

Just a thought and you have 72? hours before the wedding shot (I think,time zones can be confusing)

Definitely looks as if he likes the Lantus so far :mrgreen:
 
Re: Napoleon - Going to be away all day, night Saturday- skip PM

come on down, Napoleon!

It's ok, just a bounce from the blue yesterday. It will clear on its own (and hopefully he'll get back to blue once it does!).
 
Re: Napoleon - Going to be away all day, night Saturday- skip PM

Thanks everyone. So those highs are to be expected? This is so very frustrating, but I do know that it can take some time. I'm posting his condo for today.
I'm thinking that she should give the full dose if he is lower. The automatic feeder will be here and she will feed him at the time of the shot too. I just don't want to throw everything off again if he starts heading in the right direction.
 
Re: Napoleon - Going to be away all day, night Saturday- skip PM

Barring any huge changes between now and Saturday, I'd have to agree with just going with the full dose. Like you said, food will be there. Plus, mid-cycle numbers so far haven't been low enough to pose a concern.
 
Re: Napoleon - Going to be away all day, night Saturday- skip PM

hmmm, you're going to be gone this saturday night?
if the timed feeder comes tomorrow, that gives you less than a day for napoleon to get used to using it. you might want to think about freezing some cat food ahead of time and have your mom set it out for him to nibble on in addition to the foods in the timed feeder... just in case he hasn't acclimated to the new feeder by then.
 
Re: Napoleon - Going to be away all day, night Saturday- skip PM

Good idea Jill. I will leave some extra frozen food out in addition to the feeder just in case. I am also going to test the feeder with him tomorrow.
 
Re: Napoleon - Going to be away all day, night Saturday- skip PM

from your second thread:

I am a little confused as to whether I should hold Napoleon's dose for a while longer. He had an AMPS of 131 the other day and has just gone up from then because I only shot a BCS dose of .50 from his usual too cause I wimped from the low AMPS. When do you know if you should hold the dose or increase? My gut is telling me to hold the dose and let it settle but I want to make sure I am doing the right thing. Here is today's condo http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/view ... =9&t=16350

Thanks!




normally, you'd want to hold each dose for at least 6 cycles before increasing the dose. when you BCS a dose, the cycle count starts over. that makes tonight's dose cycle 3 on 2 units.

from the STICKY: LANTUS & LEVEMIR - TIGHT REGULATION PROTOCOLS:

Increasing the dose...
--- Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose.

--- After 3 consecutive days (6 cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.

--- After 3 consecutive days (6 cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.


does that help?
 
Re: Napoleon - Going to be away all day, night Saturday- skip PM

Yes, it does. Thank you! Knowing that the cycle restarts after BCS makes a lot of sense.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top