6/11 Meadow AMPS 223 PMPS 420 ??

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 6/11 Meadow AMPS 223 PMPS 420 :( ??

do u leave food out for her while ur gone?
little snacks (via auto feeder) may help thru the day.

unless u left food and she didnt eat at all.

I know Luna would spike up if he didnt get his snacks on time, its possible,,,everything else ok? Litter box, alert?
is she eating now?
 
Re: 6/11 Meadow AMPS 223 PMPS 420 :( ??

Hello!

1st off, allow me to let you know that if you use a sad face on your subject line we think your cat is on the verge of dying... and I don't think it's the case for Meadow today... right! :-D

It's normal to feel disappointed by the number and lantus requires us to have a lot of patience... and most of us run out of it a little sooner than we expected.

Technically, the dose this morning was c8 of 1.25U, right. (pretending there is not skipped shot) You don't have too many spot checks in the evening (not judging, just saying). 1/2 the cycles are at night and it's really good to get data in all the cycles. If you can, try to grab a spot check before you go to sleep at night. The adjustment of the dose on lantus is not based on pre-shot numbers it is based on nadir... so... my friend, based on 1/2 of the cycles, I think there is room for an increase... however, pls wait until you hear from others. If you add the word "dose" to your subject line, you might get more eyes.

I hope this helps.
 
Re: 6/11 Meadow AMPS 223 PMPS 420 :( ??

I can't leave food out because of the other 6 cats. 2 of them would eat everything at once. Hubby usualy gives her a snack or two if I am out all day, but he was at doctors all day long himself. Other than the spike, she seems fine today. Litterbox deposits are normal and she is eating ok. Guess it was the lack of food then.

Ronnie & Luna said:
do u leave food out for her while ur gone?
little snacks (via auto feeder) may help thru the day.

unless u left food and she didnt eat at all.

I know Luna would spike up if he didnt get his snacks on time, its possible,,,everything else ok? Litter box, alert?
is she eating now?
 
Re: 6/11 Meadow AMPS 223 PMPS 420 :( ??

I agree with Helene on all counts. You need to get, at minimum, a before bed test every night. Many cats have lower numbers at night and you can easily miss a dose reduction if you don't test.

I think you have room to increase the dose to 1.5u.
 
Re: 6/11 Meadow AMPS 223 PMPS 420 :( ??

Helene & Tizon said:
Hello!

1st off, allow me to let you know that if you use a sad face on your subject line we think your cat is on the verge of dying... and I don't think it's the case for Meadow today... right! :-D
Oh good heavens, no! Meadow is definitely not on the verge of death. Sorry I used the sad face. Not used to all the little nuances of this group yet. :oops:

Helene & Tizon said:
Technically, the dose this morning was c8 of 1.25U, right.
Helene, I don't know what c8 of 1.25 means. I gave Meadow 1 and a quarter units of Lantus at 6am this morning and the same this evening. I did not skip any doses since the other day when I missed one to get her back on the 6/6 split. I know I do need to get more spot checks in the evening. I'll try to do better with that. I don't want to change her dose just yet since she was originally on 2 units and was having too many bounces. So the vet wanted to start over and go up in minute amounts. She seems to feel and act and eat the best when her BG's remain in the low 200's and that's where the vet would be happy if we could keep her. Have to bear in mind that her ned for pred might influence the bg numbers at times too.
Thanks for your input, Helene.
 
Re: 6/11 Meadow AMPS 223 PMPS 420 :( ??

Sienne and Gabby said:
I agree with Helene on all counts. You need to get, at minimum, a before bed test every night. Many cats have lower numbers at night and you can easily miss a dose reduction if you don't test.

I think you have room to increase the dose to 1.5u.

I'd like to wait a little longer before increasing her again. She's only been on the 1.25 for a week or so. I'll be out all day tomorrow at a fundraiser for my rescue, but Sunday I plan on staying home to set up my new computer, so I will get a really good curve and see where we are. I can't seem to figure out when her nadir is.
 
Re: 6/11 Meadow AMPS 223 PMPS 420 :( ??

sorry about the lingo.... c8 of 1.25u means the 8th cycle at 1.25U.

we never force you to increase a dose (we twist your arm if you NEED to decrease tho), it's whenever you are ready. Per the protocol, however, you can consider increasing. That's all.
 
Re: 6/11 Meadow AMPS 223 PMPS 420 :( ??

Helene & Tizon said:
sorry about the lingo.... c8 of 1.25u means the 8th cycle at 1.25U.

we never force you to increase a dose (we twist your arm if you NEED to decrease tho), it's whenever you are ready. Per the protocol, however, you can consider increasing. That's all.

Ahh....I get it, Helene. Didn't realize the c meant cycles...I should have though! ;-) Vet suggested a week on each dose to see what happens, so I'll go a few more days. :smile:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top