6/29 Yoda AMPS 316 +8 347 Dosecrease?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kelly & Oscar

Member Since 2010
We are coming to the end of our 5 day beginning dose on lantus for Yoda. His preshot numbers have come down considerably. The day cycles tend to be flat or inverse, and the evening cycles give us a good drop. We are continuing with 50ml of fluids every other day, his ketones are near about gone dancing_cat He is still getting iron supplements for the anemia and clindomyacin twice a day. We are almost through with the clindomyacin, though we may be calling the vet for another round of antibiotics because his lymph node under his jaw is still slightly enlarged (but has gone down a lot)

We are at 2u BID right now. Should we up the dose tomorrow to 2.25u or 2.5u?
 
Re: 6/29 Yoda AMPS 316 +8 347

I'm too new to be a dose advisor, but according to the protocol you can move up either .25 or .5. The more conservative approach would be to move up .25. This is what we did when we first started. Please put "Dosecrease?" in your subject line to get more experienced beans to check in.
 
yes, with 10 cycles on this dose with nadirs in the 200's (and one high 100) you can increase by 0.25 units BID. Good luck with the dosecrease!
 
I don't think I've said hello to you and Yoda before.... so Hello and welcome to lantus land!

Best of luck with the dosecrease. :-D
 
Does lantus sometimes give honeymoon numbers with a dose change like PZI does? The trend over the last 5 days is a flatter curve instead of the wide swings we saw in the first few cycles. Should that upper 100 number be taken into account since it was the 2nd cycle ever on Lantus? Just trying to learn the characteristic nuances here :mrgreen:
 
I was told that there is a chemistry difference between PZI and Prozinc, but I don't know enough to give you any comment in that matter.

I'm of the opinion, for what it's worth, that the blue number you say on your 2nd cycle may be been what we refer to as new dose wonkiness (NDW).

Lantus and Levemir, from what I have observed, give flatter curves than other insulins; so the swings should be lessened -> although of course some cat are swingers (wrong term maybe :? ) regardless of insulin. The best way to describe the action of lantus is .... tada! Sounds strange and you're probably thinking that I'm on crack... but it's just like that.... magical almost. Jojo used to say either there is enough insulin, or there isn't.

To me, Yoda's SS looks like a good beginning of insulin curve. The body has more insulin resistance during the day and lesser at night... funny how you are getting a flatter pink curve during the day and a little bit more of a dip at night. You are getting closer to the magic point... I think.

Hang in there. I hope I helped you a little.
 
I'm not familiar enough with PZI or ProZinc to answer your question.

I do want to correct what Helene said about NDW. NDW occurs only with a dose increase. Rather than there being an immediate response with a lower numbers, instead, numbers rise. Hence, the wonkiness!

I wouldn't take one number out of context and try to draw any conclusions from it. The overall trend looks like Yoda, like may cats, has lower numbers during the PM cycle.

Good luck with the increase.
 
With apologies to Kelly for interrupting her thread:

I'm too new to be a dose advisor
(and no judgment of Ele here either)

Just want to clarify that there are no "dosing advisors" on FDMB - for reasons of liability. Please, let's refrain from using that term.

Many, many of us are comfortable enough with using our insulins to suggest doses based on the kitty's numbers or to explain what worked for us. Ultimately, it is the owner's responsibility to make dosing decisions based on what they learn here and have discussed with their vet.

Thank you.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top