7/10 Jake spent yesterday in the 30s

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lydia & Sid & Jake(GA)

Member Since 2010
Yesterday Jake's AMPS was 108. At one point in the early afternoon, he was not in his usual spot and I found him in my closet. Something told me to check his glucose. He was 21. I immediately began sryinge feeding him Karo and maple syrups. I got him up to 45 and then I had to leave for a short time about 1/2 hour. I got back and checked him and he was at 34. Then he dropped to 31. I kept giving him syringes of Karo syrup. I called the vet and she said I could bring him in for a dextrose injection but if the syrups weren't bringing him up, that wouldn't either. She said he should be pretty high because of the pred. I checked him so many times yesterday and he never got above 34. It was so scary.

So we spent the day in the garden. All Jake wanted to do was lay in the ivy. He didn't move for hours or lift his head. I thought for sure he was crossing. I spent the day by him and expected at any minute he would take his last breath. Well, about dinner time I decided that he deserved his favorite meal of white cheddar mac & cheese. We made this for him and as soon as my daughter brought the bowl outside and he smelled it, he lifted his head and started meowing just like he used to for food. Mind you he has not wanted food in this way in two weeks. I fed him several small handfuls and he ate very hungrily. Then later in the evening, he got his fluids, and meds, and more food. I syringe fed him, but he also ate some Purina canned on his own and more mac & cheese.

This morning, he is still here. I gave him his med and fluids, and now I am headed to give him breakfast and take his BG. I'm scared to do this. If he is in the 500s, I can't give him a full dose. He is so dehdrated and his body just isn't absorbing nutrients right now. If he is super high, maybe I will give him .5 or less.
On to see what this day brings!
Here is my favorite video of Jake. We are getting ready to do his favorite thing. You will also get to see his gf Chocolate. This video was taken January 2010. It's a little long and I've tried to edit it but not very successfully: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zEp_RB0tbl0


last condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=19351&p=193233#p193233
 
You are so good to Jake! It does sound like cutting back on his insulin may help prevent such low numbers. I hope you both have a good day today.
 
Awe, such a nice video. Thanks for sharing. '
I hope today is less scary for you.
 
Nice video - thanks for sharing. I hope today is less scary for you - it must have been difficult yesterday. I hope too that Jake has a better day today - He is such a sweetie!
 
Very cute video... I used to take Kasha out on a leash... when I'd put the harness on my boys, they acted like it was a 10 lb weight and they'd walk like their backs couldn't support the weight... Silly kids...

Hoping you have a good day today with Jake...
 
We hope for a really good day for Jake with good numbers, and we know he will enjoy his garden. Lydia, you are doing so well. We are thinking of you. Thanks for posting the video of Jake.

Ella & Stu
 
That was so sweet...the way he ate by himself yesterday and love that Mac & cheese. But how scary for you when he was so low!! Loved the video Lydia! Hope you both have a calm day today...he is so sweet! Good boy Jake!
 
awww, how cute that video is. Jake likes his leash and his sweater! My kitties don't walk on a leash, but when they go outside they are on a leash. Doesn't bother them at all!

I bet you were really worried about those numbers yesterday. Wow is all I can say. I think lower the dose was a good idea considering. Glad he enjoyed the mac and cheese. I remember when my one drooler, Musky, was very sick, the only thing he wanted to eat was bologna sandwiches, with mayo of course. No other lunch meat would do. So, he wanted, he got. Gotta do what you gotta do.

I hope today goes better for Jake and it is uneventful. We will be thinking about you today and everyday and have been including Jake in the vines that are sent out daily.
Also hope you have a good day, Lydia. You also need it
 
Loved seeing Jake in his sweater and a little peek at his girlfriend Chocolate too. He is so patient as you get him ready and it was so cute as he let you lift his paws and put on the sleeves.

I hope both of you are doing better today. I'm so sorry for the scary times and wish you an easier day. It is so nice that Jake got his mac and cheese last night, anything he wants is the best way to be; you are a sweet momma to him. Many hugs to you Lydia.
 
oh no, how scary. :sad: Sounds like you handled everything well, and that Jake wasn't ready to leave yet. Glad he enjoyed his mac & cheese. :smile:

I'm glad you didn't edit the video, I liked watching the whole thing.
 
Sounds like you did everything you should have. I am so glad Jake perked up and ate some on his own last night. I hope you get more of this today and good, but not scary numbers. Sending prayers for Jake to feel better soon.

ps I loved the video. Jake is such a good boy!
 
Nice of you to give him a special treat. That must have really made him happy, and lift your spirits to see him so excited.
 
Just wanted to poke my nose in and say I'm thinking of you and sending lots of prayers and hugs...if he wants Mac and Cheese, then by gosh, he should get it. You're a fantastic Mamabean.

Best-
Michele
 
I loved the video and what a sweet boy! It takes me back when I used to walk my GA kitty on a leash, except mine wasn't that patient. How cool that he enjoys Mac and cheese. Hugs to Jake and you.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top